Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array coyi1895 PC Specs
    coyi1895 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme BIOS 1502
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C16 (single kit)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence One/Asus Essence STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB Cherry MX Red Switch
    Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX300
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U
    Accessory #1 Storage #3: ST2000DM001
    coyi1895's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    300

    BIOS is updating

    I switched on my computer this morning and I have this message greeting me and it's still ongoing;

    BIOS is updating.
    Do not shut down or reset the system to prevent system bootup failure.

    The Q-Code is 90

    So far it's over an hour and still waiting. My BIOS was 0603 and I haven't flashed or download the latest version. The manual doesn't mention this.
    My specs are:

    Rampage V Extreme
    i7 5930K
    Corsair Hydro H110
    Corsair Obsidian 750D
    Samsung ssd 840 EVO 1TB
    Seagate Barracuda 2TB
    4X4GB Corsair Platinum Dominator 2666
    Corsair AX1200i
    Lite-On 124-14
    ROG Pheobus soundcard
    Gigabyte GTX GeForce 670
    Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

  2. #2
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    The update procedue should only occur after a UEFI update is made. If it ocurs any other time, it means the system is unstable. Cuases of that would be an overly aggressive overclock or incorrect settings.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array coyi1895 PC Specs
    coyi1895 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme BIOS 1502
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C16 (single kit)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence One/Asus Essence STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB Cherry MX Red Switch
    Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX300
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U
    Accessory #1 Storage #3: ST2000DM001
    coyi1895's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    300

    Thanks for replying. I did overclock yesterday by 4.2Ghz with 1.275 voltage. I ran Prime95 for 2 hours with cpu peaking at 68 C.

    The 'BIOS is updating...' is still showing and no percentage counter is showing.

    What can I do to rectify? I haven't done any fixes yet - I'm not sure where to start.

  4. #4

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array coyi1895 PC Specs
    coyi1895 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme BIOS 1502
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C16 (single kit)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence One/Asus Essence STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB Cherry MX Red Switch
    Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX300
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U
    Accessory #1 Storage #3: ST2000DM001
    coyi1895's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    300

    No good. After that, went into F1 and made sure it's the default and the 'BIOS is updating...' message is showing again and no percentage counter is showing.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array coyi1895 PC Specs
    coyi1895 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme BIOS 1502
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C16 (single kit)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence One/Asus Essence STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB Cherry MX Red Switch
    Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX300
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U
    Accessory #1 Storage #3: ST2000DM001
    coyi1895's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    300

    Success! I hope, I opened my case and noticed the pled is out of the system connector broken. I put them properly. However the same message again.

    I then cleared CMOS and then switch to BIOS chip 2 and boot up. The same message is there and then shut down. Press the CMOS again and switch back to BIOS chip 1 and booted up fine.

    Thanks for your help.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array coyi1895 PC Specs
    coyi1895 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme BIOS 1502
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C16 (single kit)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence One/Asus Essence STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB Cherry MX Red Switch
    Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX300
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U
    Accessory #1 Storage #3: ST2000DM001
    coyi1895's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    300

    The problem is back again. If I reboot, it's fine but if I shut down, the 'BIOS is updating...' message is back again.

  8. #8

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array coyi1895 PC Specs
    coyi1895 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme BIOS 1502
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C16 (single kit)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence One/Asus Essence STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB Cherry MX Red Switch
    Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX300
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U
    Accessory #1 Storage #3: ST2000DM001
    coyi1895's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    300

    It was 0603 and then I just flashed it to 0802. The same message appeared again after flashing and instead of being stuck on that message, it rebooted after a few seconds and then booted up fine which I am now typing on my PC instead of on my phone.

    I'm going to shut down and see if the same message is back again.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array coyi1895 PC Specs
    coyi1895 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme BIOS 1502
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C16 (single kit)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence One/Asus Essence STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB Cherry MX Red Switch
    Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX300
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U
    Accessory #1 Storage #3: ST2000DM001
    coyi1895's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    300

    For the first time, it booted up fine after shutting down. I'm keeping an eye on it.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •