Page 1 of 25 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 244
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    234

    G751-Series Laptops only playing sound through subwoofer. FIX??

    **************************************************
    PLEASE SEE CONDENSED THREAD REBOOT HERE:>
    G751 Subwoofer-only Sound Problem OFFICIAL SUPPORT THREAD
    **************************************************



    As the title says, all of my laptop's audio is only playing through the Subwoofer.

    After a few things went wrong with cloning my old drive onto my new SSD and I ended up needing a fresh install of windows 8.1 x64 Pro - I've now gotten my computer to it's previous state, and I've transferred my files over + downloaded and installed all drivers from the ASUS G751JT support page. (Including the audio driver: "Audio_Realtek_Win81_64_VER6017335")

    Thing is, after doing a speaker test now - finally in a place where I can hear them 100%, unlike the mall where I originally tested them - the sound is distinctly coming from only the subwoofer. If I make any level (Left/Right Volume) changes to the center/front/rear/subwoofer in the audio settings, only "front" makes any difference.

    It makes the ONLY difference. (See: 0 = NO SOUND -> 100 = SOUND) Levels change completely normally when using headphones.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.png 
Views:	51 
Size:	157.8 KB 
ID:	43185

    When I plug in the headphones, this screen pops up - if I go back to its settings, and select a 5.1 surround sound setting for my options, it says I have no side speakers. When I run the test and it lights up the speakers in the image while playing a sound on them, the results are the following:
    • Left & Right Channels play through Subwoofer
    • All other channels (Center, Rear Left & Right, Subwoofer) fail and do not play a sound. (Though the ambient noise of it failing to play a sound can still be heard from the subwoofer)


    Before you recommend it, deselecting "Swap Center / Subwoofer Output" does nothing.

    .... What do I do?
    Last edited by xeromist; 12-03-2014 at 06:52 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    94
    Posts
    2,427

    un check "Swap center/subwoofer" in device manager go to "sound video game controllers" check if audio driver is installed correctly , on my unit other devices is my printer
    Last edited by toronto699; 11-12-2014 at 04:35 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    234

    Like I said, "Swap Center / Subwoofer" does not work or do anything.

    From what I can tell, all the devices listed under "Sound, video and game controllers," aka:
    • Bluetooth Audio Device
    • High Definition Audio Device
    • NVIDIA Virtual Audio Device (Wave Extensible) WDM
    • Realtek High Definition Audio

    ...are working correctly. (There are no error symbols or anything)

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    94
    Posts
    2,427

    "Realtek High Definition Audio" is your audio driver ,
    code 28 could be a driver not installed correctly or a registry error.
    find "Run" type "temp" in the run box delete all temp files , then type " %temp%" in the run box delete all those files reboot

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    234

    How do I fix Code 28? Are we sure that that device/driver is the cause of the issue?

    I did what you said about the temp folder, and other than Nvidia folders which were "in use in another program," I could delete all of them.

    There was no change in the audio.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    94
    Posts
    2,427

    some files in temp will not delete as they are in use that's normal , usually code 28 is a driver that was not overwritten when it was reinstalled and causes an error in registry or by a files in temp that windows thinks are still in use usually code28 is an audio driver issue or usb issue , u can try reinstalling the audio driver. it could be one missing install code or ini file that did not install correctly
    I checked Microsoft error page thats what Microsoft error code pages said code 28 is
    Last edited by toronto699; 11-12-2014 at 05:34 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    234

    I have tried reinstalling the audio driver multiple times now...

    I'll try getting it right from Realtek but I don't think it will work.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    234

    UPDATE: MY SPEAKERS ARE NOT DEAD.

    I decided that as a last ditch resort, I would delete all audio drivers in device manager and reboot, essentially forcing "general use" microsoft drivers to take the place of the old ones. It worked, but there are now 3 "Speaker"-labeled "High Definition Audio" devices listed under sound. Two of them are listed as connected, and after playing the test tone, one of them is for the two rear speakers, and one of them is for the subwoofer. The last "device" is labeled speakers, but is "disconnected." (I think it's the thunderbolt port)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled2.png 
Views:	958 
Size:	37.9 KB 
ID:	43186

    (The top "speaker" is the back speakers, the bottom "speaker" is the subwoofer.)

    What driver do I install to combine the two working "devices"?

    Can I even do so?
    Last edited by BRSxIgnition; 11-12-2014 at 06:01 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    94
    Posts
    2,427

    why not install the audio driver from your G751JT software page , the same way by uninstalling audio driver from device manager then installing the realtek V 60117335

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    234

    Quote Originally Posted by toronto699 View Post
    why not install the audio driver from your G751JT software page , the same way by uninstalling audio driver from device manager then installing the realtek V 60117335
    I will try that. Hopefully it works this time and it doesn't end up like the first time I "fresh installed" it.

    Wish me luck.

Page 1 of 25 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •