Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Angry RMA'd board dead again? (code 76)

    I have yet another problem with my RVE...

    My system was working fine for about 2 months until now.
    When I started the machine yesterday I got an error code 76 which I could resolve after half an hour by switching between bios 1 and 2 with a weird combination of RESET, CLRCMOS and RETRY. Can't remember exactly, but it worked after that. (system was running for about 7 hours and was then shut down completely)

    Today I get the same code 76 but even after several hours tinkering around I can't resolve it...

    codes & leds
    • Q code 76
    • CPU led is red
    • 4th PCI-E led is blinking (1st is not on, 2&3 are)


    build details
    • 1st PCI-E = GPU1
    • 4th PCI-E = GPU2
    • all dimms filled with Corsair Platinum 2800MHz (32GB as a whole)
    • mostly running XMP 2800 (125 strap)
    • custom watercooling loop (1 loop; CPU and both GPUs)
    • CPU only slightly overclocked (multi 32 = 4000 MHz)
    • temps max at 50-55°C (fans running very quiet)


    tried so far
    • CLRCMOS
    • power down for half an hour
    • reflashed both BIOS to 0702, 0706, 0802
    • took out the CPU and checked for bent pins
    • took out all dimms and tried them one by one
    • turned off PCI-E lanes one by one
    • disconnected all devices (USB, DVI, Ethernet, even all internal cables like fans, audio, USV)
    • disconnected both GPUs and tried them one by one
    • checked power connectors (4pin, 8pin, 24pin)


    Here's what happens at the different buttons (both BIOS):
    • Startup -> code 76
    • RESET -> code 76
    • CLRCMOS + Startup -> code 76
    • RETRY -> code 00 -> automatic reboot -> code 76


    rant
    I begin to regret selling my RIVE which ran fine for 2,5 years. The RVE caused so much trouble I would switch back...
    My first RVE was DOA and therefor had to be RMA'd. The second one worked fine until now - if I have to RMA it again I'll have to consider buying something else in the future... Can't be that you buy such a top component and run into so much trouble... I want a working system not one that I have to disassemble every other month!
    Last edited by Gishan; 11-15-2014 at 02:33 PM.
    CPU: 5930K @ 4.5 GHz, GPUs: 2x GTX Titan, Mobo: Rampage V Extreme, Ram: 32GB Dominator 2800
    Sound: Essence STX & SP 2500, HDDs: 1x Samsung 830, 2x 840 Evo, PSU: Corsair AX860i, Case: 900D
    Cooling: Full custom w/c loop (CPU, both GPUs), Build Log: http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/...00d-titan-sli/

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Apart from connecting the 24 pin and 8 pin, are you connecting the 4pin power cable as well?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    No, the AX860i does not come with an 8 and 4 pin connector.
    But it worked without it for 2 months and I didn't change anything.

    Edit: Found an old 4pin cable and tried it together with the 8pin - still the same error 76.
    Last edited by Gishan; 11-15-2014 at 02:17 PM.
    CPU: 5930K @ 4.5 GHz, GPUs: 2x GTX Titan, Mobo: Rampage V Extreme, Ram: 32GB Dominator 2800
    Sound: Essence STX & SP 2500, HDDs: 1x Samsung 830, 2x 840 Evo, PSU: Corsair AX860i, Case: 900D
    Cooling: Full custom w/c loop (CPU, both GPUs), Build Log: http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/...00d-titan-sli/

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    96

    Is there any way that you can try another PSU? My guess is that the board may not be getting enough power at times and this is causing your problem. It can also corrupt Windows which would necessitate a reinstall. Even though it worked for 2 months, power supplies degrade with age and you are really straining yours with everything you have running off of it.

    Running 2 GPUs and 32 Gbs of RAM plus whatever else you have in your rig is taxing your PSU. I recommend something of at least 1000 watts, preferably 1200. I have the EVGA Supernova P 1200 and I love it so far. I have had bad luck with Corsair's HX1000 and AX 1200, needing three Rma's in 4 years. Even if it doesn't solve your problem, having a better PSU will help your stability with your other components. With everything you have spent with the top of the line components in your rig, I wouldn't skimp on the PSU.

    The other thing I would try is if you have a UPS, try plugging directly into the wall socket. Or if you don't have a UPS, see if you can borrow one and test it with the UPS connected.

    My guess is that a new, more powerful PSU and a Windows reinstall will solve your issue.

    Good luck and keep us up to date.
    5930K @4.5
    ASUS Rampage 5 Extreme X99
    16 Gbs Corsair Dominator 2666Mhz RAM
    Two, EVGA Nvidia Titan X's in SLI
    Samsung XP941 M2 512 Gb M2 boot drive
    EVGA SuperNOVA P1200 PSU
    Case Labs Merlin Full Tower
    NZXT Kraken X61 AiO CPU cooler with four 140mm Noctura Industrial fans
    Overlord Tempest O27X Monitor @ 118 Hz

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    I don't have another PSU around. I'll try to get one from work or a friend on monday.
    A Windows reinstall is not an option as the board doesn't even post.

    In my last build I was running an 3930K, 64GB and the same 2 GPUs.
    Maximum power drawn while running benchmarks was around 600W, so 860W are more than enough for that.
    (CPU not massively overclocked of course)
    CPU: 5930K @ 4.5 GHz, GPUs: 2x GTX Titan, Mobo: Rampage V Extreme, Ram: 32GB Dominator 2800
    Sound: Essence STX & SP 2500, HDDs: 1x Samsung 830, 2x 840 Evo, PSU: Corsair AX860i, Case: 900D
    Cooling: Full custom w/c loop (CPU, both GPUs), Build Log: http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/...00d-titan-sli/

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    96

    Whatever PSU you try, make sure that it is more powerful than the one you are currently using. I still think that a PSU of at least 1000 watts will serve you better than what you arte currently using.

    Just my opinion.
    5930K @4.5
    ASUS Rampage 5 Extreme X99
    16 Gbs Corsair Dominator 2666Mhz RAM
    Two, EVGA Nvidia Titan X's in SLI
    Samsung XP941 M2 512 Gb M2 boot drive
    EVGA SuperNOVA P1200 PSU
    Case Labs Merlin Full Tower
    NZXT Kraken X61 AiO CPU cooler with four 140mm Noctura Industrial fans
    Overlord Tempest O27X Monitor @ 118 Hz

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    I've got the chance to try a 1000W PSU but this didn't change anything.
    Still got code 76.

    Think I'll have to get a third board... I'm not sure if it will be another RVE though.
    Any suggestions on what I should get? (X99 Deluxe or an other brand?)
    CPU: 5930K @ 4.5 GHz, GPUs: 2x GTX Titan, Mobo: Rampage V Extreme, Ram: 32GB Dominator 2800
    Sound: Essence STX & SP 2500, HDDs: 1x Samsung 830, 2x 840 Evo, PSU: Corsair AX860i, Case: 900D
    Cooling: Full custom w/c loop (CPU, both GPUs), Build Log: http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/...00d-titan-sli/

  8. #8

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,680

    The X99 Deluxe does seem to have less problems , I don't hear any one talking about USB or bios problems with it.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    Wish you luck working out your probs...

    Two things jump out at me from your build:
    1. you've mixed two 16gb ram kits
    2. 860w seems way too little for stable power with all that you've got hooked up, especially in that it appears it's an older 860i PSU from your previous build

    http://www.extreme.outervision.com/p...ulatorlite.jsp

    Punch your components into that PSU calc linked above

    Also, as to the X99 Deluxe and Corsair AXi series PSUs...there've been some reports of problems.

    http://www.legitreviews.com/intel-x9...unknown_150008

    Good luck!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •