Page 11 of 15 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 147
  1. #101
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by aeolisio View Post
    the 2 slots easy accessed are a paired slot just install a pair there. i recommend you use samsung 12800 1.35 but you could use another pair like gskill who uses samsung memory modules anyways but different timings will just put more stress on your memory controller. To access the missing memory slot under the keyboard really is very easy its just removing some screws lifting off the speakers and holding up the keyboard while sliding the ram in
    http://www.laptopultra.com/guide/asu...1-disassembly/
    Yea, I'm just trying to not void the warranty. My last ROG needed it after about 8 months or so.

    If I put 2 in there, I would have 3 8Gb sticks. But would I take a hit on my speed? From my understanding, it would go from dual channel back to single channel.

  2. #102
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    installing memory does not void the warranty i checked with customer service before i changed all my sticks. Theres guides online and a youtube video somewhere that i used. You cant be in dual channel without 2 sticks im not sure you understand what dual channel is. dual=2 if you had 3 sticks 2 would run i dual channel and 1 would not. with 1 stick its not dual channel.

  3. #103
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    610

    Quote Originally Posted by Ikeda View Post
    Yea, I'm just trying to not void the warranty. My last ROG needed it after about 8 months or so.

    If I put 2 in there, I would have 3 8Gb sticks. But would I take a hit on my speed? From my understanding, it would go from dual channel back to single channel.
    TheWitcher is right your not running in dual channel mode now and i know for a fact upgrading the memory or opening the case does not void the warranty. I have personally dealt with asus rmas for years but call asus support if you need someone official to tell you.
    3d printed parts and accessories for the G751. You know you want something better than OEM ->https://www.shapeways.com/shops/aeolisio

  4. #104
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Thanks both of you, that clarifies it. I just wanted to make sure as I am trying to stay precise.

    I understand that dual channel needed 2. But I was under the impression if you had 3 it would "break" the dual channel and put you back to square 1.

    I also read that installing that internal memory (on this forum, on one of the stickied threads) would break warranty.

    Thanks!

  5. #105
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    610

    Quote Originally Posted by Ikeda View Post
    Thanks both of you, that clarifies it. I just wanted to make sure as I am trying to stay precise.

    I understand that dual channel needed 2. But I was under the impression if you had 3 it would "break" the dual channel and put you back to square 1.

    I also read that installing that internal memory (on this forum, on one of the stickied threads) would break warranty.

    Thanks!
    Generally people try to be helpful here but there is a lot of misinformation because people sometimes repeat what they read as fact without ever checking for themselves. When in doubt check with Asus. I have worked on probably 35 g751s and sometimes i even have a question for them and its usually only a 5 minute call.
    3d printed parts and accessories for the G751. You know you want something better than OEM ->https://www.shapeways.com/shops/aeolisio

  6. #106
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I recently bought a G751JT-T7121H with 1 stick of 8GB RAM (part nr. HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB from 01/15) and extended it with 2x 8GB Kingston DDR3 SODIMM HyperX Impact PC3-17000 sticks (vendor code HX316LS9IBK2/16). I didn't want to add more because that would require opening the case and didn't want to match the original RAM because it was difficult to get.

    The HyperX turned out to work fine with the original for a total of 24GB. They run dual channel, pc3-12800h (not the full PC3-17000, but that was expected), 1.35V, see images here: http://imgur.com/a/RkUU0

  7. #107
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    8

    anyone tried overclocking the g skill 2133 to 2400 or somethin

  8. #108
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    610

    Quote Originally Posted by Pandora\'s Box View Post
    anyone tried overclocking the g skill 2133 to 2400 or somethin
    Yes actually on 2 machines at work. 2244 was the most stable clock we could get but this is in extreme stress testing as these machines must run very heavy video and 3d work. If you were gaming on it you could probably push it close to 2400 but we didnt as we use ramdisks and cant risk any data loss.
    3d printed parts and accessories for the G751. You know you want something better than OEM ->https://www.shapeways.com/shops/aeolisio

  9. #109
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    OK Ill Play. After reading this I pulled the crucial I bought and ordered up theG.SKILL Ripjaws 32GB kit from the egg. Ill pick it up from will call tomorrow. Lucky for me I live all of 13.2 miles from the Edison NJ facility. For now here it is at stock Samsung sticks



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	slot 2.jpg 
Views:	167 
Size:	72.2 KB 
ID:	51145 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	slot 4.jpg 
Views:	168 
Size:	72.1 KB 
ID:	51146

    Edit

    OK picked up the Gskill 2133 4x8GB kit from the egg this morning and put it in.
    Nothing to set up, bios is very sparse but detected SPD and Dram freq at 1065 for DDR 2130


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Gskill 1.jpg 
Views:	156 
Size:	58.7 KB 
ID:	51151 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Gskill 2.jpg 
Views:	155 
Size:	70.1 KB 
ID:	51152


    Should have done a before benchmark but didnt think of it. Here is the after with MaxxPI2


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MaxxMEM2_b5421.jpg 
Views:	160 
Size:	57.0 KB 
ID:	51153
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 08-18-2015 at 03:57 PM.

  10. #110
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    8

    have you tried to overclock that to 2400 yet? i wouldnt even mind it at 13cas if it would clock to 2400.

Page 11 of 15 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •