Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 148
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by hmscott View Post
    Mublur, what make/model of memory did your G751 come with? That way people know what the compatibility pairing is.

    Thanks Mublur!
    Howdy hmscott, the preinstalled memory is: Hyundai HMT41Gs6aFR8A-PB, 8gb, pc3-12800

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Mublur View Post
    Howdy hmscott, the preinstalled memory is: Hyundai HMT41Gs6aFR8A-PB, 8gb, pc3-12800
    Mublur, that's easy then, you can add 1 or 2 (3?) more of the same, find them new or as pulls from Macbooks on eBay - that's where I got mine.

    Make sure the listing you order from is the exact part number, sometimes the vendors put in tags with lots of part numbers, so you have to double check.
    http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from...8A-PB&_sacat=0

    Have fun

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I tried installing a single 8GB stick of PNY PC3-12800 which the specs say run at 1.35v into my G751JM. When I tried restarting I got a black screen and after 20 seconds the red power light went out. What did I do wrong?

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by haydenwse View Post
    I tried installing a single 8GB stick of PNY PC3-12800 which the specs say run at 1.35v into my G751JM. When I tried restarting I got a black screen and after 20 seconds the red power light went out. What did I do wrong?
    haydenwse, it could be several things.

    1) You didn't read the previous posts suggesting getting the same memory as already installed for best compatibility. Use CPU-Z SPD tab to find the make/model of memory already installed. Find that same make/model memory and purchase to install.

    2) The PNY memory specs published/unpublished aren't 100% compatible with the existing memory. Use CPU-Z SPD tab to find the make/model of memory already installed. Find that same make/model memory spec online and compare specs against the PNY. There are 20 some particular listed specs to make compatible, normally we only see the top ones Freq, CAS, RAS, tRAS, tRC, voltage, but those aren't all that need to be compatible.

    3) The PNY memory is compatible, but you got a bad stick, check #2 to be sure, and return for a good one, or do #1 instead.

    Sorry, it's a pain to go through this, but good thing it didn't damage the laptop motherboard, so you can pull it out and run without it while resolving.

    CPU-Z (I use the ROG version)
    http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CPU-Z SPD Tab.JPG 
Views:	405 
Size:	51.3 KB 
ID:	44379

    Please come back and let us know which solution you used and how it worked
    Last edited by hmscott; 12-16-2014 at 02:06 PM.

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I ran CPU-Z and it shows that I have 2x4GB Hyundai Electronics in slots 2 & 4. Unfortunately I have not been able to find this brand in the stores my area. Is there any way to find out if the PNY is any good or compatible if the computer will not boot?
    I was told that I could load a single 8GB stick into slot 1. Is this correct or do I need to add them in pairs?

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by haydenwse View Post
    I ran CPU-Z and it shows that I have 2x4GB Hyundai Electronics in slots 2 & 4. Unfortunately I have not been able to find this brand in the stores my area. Is there any way to find out if the PNY is any good or compatible if the computer will not boot?
    I was told that I could load a single 8GB stick into slot 1. Is this correct or do I need to add them in pairs?
    haydenwse, mixing and matching foreign memory can work, and cannot work, it's hard to predict. That's why I suggest getting the same memory as already installed, or filling all 4 Slots with new memory all the same.

    If you can't find the memory locally, then order it online. It costs less and often shipping is free, you only need wait a day or two depending on shipping.

    Type in the model number, and do a search, look on Amazon, Ebay, etc. I save some $ by getting memory pulled from a Macbook. It works fine, and is the exact same part number.

    If you want to type in the model number in a post, we can search for it for you. Where are you located, what country?

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Hello, my G751JT arrived, I added one ram plate of 8GB, and they are in dual channel.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	238 
Size:	194.7 KB 
ID:	44411

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by LoCk3d View Post
    Hello, my G751JT arrived, I added one ram plate of 8GB, and they are in dual channel.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	238 
Size:	194.7 KB 
ID:	44411
    LoCk3d, that's great news that the Crucial memory is compatible, can you please post the link to the item you purchased so others can get it too?

    Did you check/compare the price of getting the original Samsung memory as a closer match?

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I am from Romania and I buy Crucial memory from convenience store. Cost 67 euro.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by LoCk3d View Post
    I am from Romania and I buy Crucial memory from convenience store. Cost 67 euro.
    LoCk3d, it's a wonderful time, we can also purchase Crucial memory from some convenience stores

    Glad it worked out for you. The G751 seems less sensitive to mixing memory, this might have failed on the G750 from previous reports.

    Have fun

Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •