Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Asus keystone not working anymore?

    whenever I remove it and plug it back in it doesn't recognize they keystone anymore.

    Anyone have any fixes for this?

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    either my keystone slot broke or the keystone itself broke? Not sure what to do ;(

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I have the same problem, any help from Asus?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    55
    Posts
    572

    This is a ASUS users' forum. ASUS representatives are not frequently involved. Call ASUS Customer Service, file a claim, complain.

    Good Luck
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Galvanized View Post
    whenever I remove it and plug it back in it doesn't recognize they keystone anymore.

    Anyone have any fixes for this?
    I've got the same problem.
    When I insert the key the laptop seems to recognize it by playing a specific sound.
    I've reinstalled armory crate app and service, but no changed.
    Seems that the keystone is conntrolled by some othe software. Hope it's not a hardware problem.

    Do you have any solution?
    Last edited by leonid.matisov; 01-10-2020 at 07:43 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    55
    Posts
    572

    Your earlier post "https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?115981-asus-rog-strix-scar-iii-shadows-drive" has a good answer to this problem posted by Gps3dx.

    Originally Posted by leonid.matisov on 3 January 2020

    Hi, everybody!
    There is a new feature in the scar iii laptop series - shadow drive. It is visible in the system only if the keystone is in place.
    I have configured the shadow drive but still can't find out the following:
    1/ How much space is allocated for the shadow drive? Where is it reserved?
    2/ Is the space variable? Can ot be fixed?
    3/ Is the drive really encripted? What is the encryption type? Once I plug the ssd of the laptop to another system, will the shadow drive still be visible?
    Thanks!

    read a review here: "Unfortunately, Shadow Drive encryption requires Windows 10 Pro, but local units only ship with Windows 10 Home."
    That said - the encryption is probably based on windows's "BitLocker" tech, with some custom script to mount/dismount the drive from windows explorer's view.
    in a YT review- you can see that they allocate the drive ~900GB ( and in my opnion it is a whole dedicated drive ).
    The NFC key that comes with the laptop, beside running that script I stated, can also be used to apply specific configuration within the 'Armory Crate' app.

    IMHO - Asus invents new gimmicks to lure ppl into buying stuff they don't really need.
    unless you share that laptop with others, making it practically a 'kiosk' PC - IMHO - this feature is pure BS, with a hint of a lie - since they don't sell the laptop with PRO edition of windows ( thus NO BITLOCKER option is available ).

    Looks you need Windows 10 Pro installed to make this option work.

    Good Luck
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    779

    Quote Originally Posted by jdfrench3 View Post
    Your earlier post "https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?115981-asus-rog-strix-scar-iii-shadows-drive" has a good answer to this problem posted by Gps3dx.
    To simple quote others from another thread just click 'reply with quote' then copy all the text to the current thread you want it posted.
    that way it is clear who wrote what.

    Now to the topic on hand...
    my quote is not specific relevant to the thread poster issue... it might be the same app, but not the same issue.
    my recommendation - wipe all asus apps, download & install the latest apps from the official support page relevant to your model.
    lastly, your 'keystone' might be physically broken... it is after all an NFC circuit...width of few tenth of a mm.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Hello did anyone find a fix to this problem?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •