Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array RickSinGA PC Specs
    RickSinGA PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900k
    Memory (part number)G-Skill TridentZ 2x16GB ddr4 3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX-2080 Super 8GB
    Monitor1: LG 34 Ultra wide 2: LG OLED65B7A
    Storage #12x 512GB Crucial M4 SSD
    Storage #22x 256GB Crucial M4 SSD
    CPU Cooler2x Custom Water Radiatior P/P
    CaseCorsair d900
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 1300
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Logitech Cordless Trackman Wheel
    Headset Logitech Wireless
    OS MS Win 10x64 Home & 8.1x64 Pro
    Accessory #1 22 Saitek Flight Sim Devices

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    211

    Multiple BSOD's all of a sudden?

    My system had been running flawlessly under my OC until several days ago. Then it froze in the middle of loading an FSX flight. Locked slap up, had to power down. It tried to boot repeatedly 6 or 7 times at about 1 second intervals before I could pull the power cord. The keyboard wouldn't do anything. After sitting for a few minutes I got it to come up and it had changed to the default BIOS settings. I went into Win 8.1 and all appeared to be okay, so I tried loading FSX; long story short was FSX was FUBARED! Multiple configuration files blank and or corrupted.

    Being the genius, I always thought I was, I didn't have a FSX backup to reinstall! So several days latter I am about 1/10th of the way back from a complete FSX reload (likely a 5 to 6 week process) and I started getting BSOD's? I did have the FSX package and a few addon utilities reloaded when this started to occur?

    At first I got a Kernel error a day or two ago, then a lockup yesterday followed today by several System_Service_Exceptions (Ndis.sys) and now (NTFS.sys) errors with a few just plain lockups along the way. This started slow but now it happens within minutes of loading! I don't even have to be in FSX now to get them. One of the first ones mentioned something about memory so I reseated the memory at the time, haven't seen that one again. Just checked the system again, not the one I am typing on, and it is locked up on the desktop. Okay so now I pushed the power button and it keeps trying to reboot; the Front Panel Dual Bay device shows it stopping at USB every time. It tried to reboot every few seconds 10 times before i pulled the plug again?

    It is running the default Optimized BIOS settings and has been through the most of this.

    I hope someone can help me?

    Thanks
    Rick S.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array RickSinGA PC Specs
    RickSinGA PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900k
    Memory (part number)G-Skill TridentZ 2x16GB ddr4 3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX-2080 Super 8GB
    Monitor1: LG 34 Ultra wide 2: LG OLED65B7A
    Storage #12x 512GB Crucial M4 SSD
    Storage #22x 256GB Crucial M4 SSD
    CPU Cooler2x Custom Water Radiatior P/P
    CaseCorsair d900
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 1300
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Logitech Cordless Trackman Wheel
    Headset Logitech Wireless
    OS MS Win 10x64 Home & 8.1x64 Pro
    Accessory #1 22 Saitek Flight Sim Devices

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    211

    Now i am really confused.

    I am now locking up/Freezing while in the BIOS setup screen?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array RickSinGA PC Specs
    RickSinGA PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900k
    Memory (part number)G-Skill TridentZ 2x16GB ddr4 3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX-2080 Super 8GB
    Monitor1: LG 34 Ultra wide 2: LG OLED65B7A
    Storage #12x 512GB Crucial M4 SSD
    Storage #22x 256GB Crucial M4 SSD
    CPU Cooler2x Custom Water Radiatior P/P
    CaseCorsair d900
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 1300
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Logitech Cordless Trackman Wheel
    Headset Logitech Wireless
    OS MS Win 10x64 Home & 8.1x64 Pro
    Accessory #1 22 Saitek Flight Sim Devices

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    211

    Must be a slow night on the forum? Butttttttttttttt...............

    I think I have it figured out. I did some research on what memory problems would look like on Google. I had never had any before.

    Found that the problems I was experiencing were classic examples of bad memory. Soooooooooooooooooo.......

    I grabbed a pair of 4GHz Corsair XMS3 DDR3 I had laying around and swapped out my pair of 8GHz GSkill Trident X and viola, problem gone!

    Now my problem is how to RMA the GSkills, I have had them since 7/2/14 but only installed the back in September with my new build.

    Rick S

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array TheNerdBench's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    34
    Posts
    434

    Greetings Rick,

    Glad you got your system up and going. For what it is worth I teach a computer hardware course at a tech college and this is the classic example of memory error symptoms that I cover with my students

    Glad to see you got your system up-Brian


    For trouble-shooting tips see my blog at:



    http://thenerdbench.blogspot.com/p/bench-testing.html



    MB: Crosshair V Formula-Z • CPU: FX-8350 • GPU: Asus Matrix R9 280x • RAM: 8GB of Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (1866)• PSU: Thermaltake DPS Thoughpower 750 Watt • CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Frio Advanced • Keyboard: TT Sports Challanger Ultimate • Mouse: TT Sports Black Element • Case: Thermaltake GT Level 10


  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,678

    Hi RickSinGA
    Have you run Memtest86 on you GSkills before going through the RMA procedure? as this may have been a config problem.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array RickSinGA PC Specs
    RickSinGA PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900k
    Memory (part number)G-Skill TridentZ 2x16GB ddr4 3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX-2080 Super 8GB
    Monitor1: LG 34 Ultra wide 2: LG OLED65B7A
    Storage #12x 512GB Crucial M4 SSD
    Storage #22x 256GB Crucial M4 SSD
    CPU Cooler2x Custom Water Radiatior P/P
    CaseCorsair d900
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 1300
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Logitech Cordless Trackman Wheel
    Headset Logitech Wireless
    OS MS Win 10x64 Home & 8.1x64 Pro
    Accessory #1 22 Saitek Flight Sim Devices

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    211

    My problem, MM, with running MemTest86 now is I had to swap the memory to even get the machine to post. It just kept restarting over and over?

    I wonder if there are other files that got corrupted besides those in FSX? I sure don't want to start from scratch again!

    Rick S.

    PS, I had the problem even without any OC, bone stock.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,678

    Hi RickSinGA

    If you are concerned that some Windows files have been corrupted, run "sfc /scannow" without the quotation marks in an elevated prompt.
    If there are corrupted files, Windows will attempt to correct them and notify you of the results.
    Memtest86 is run outside of windows. You have to load Memtest86 onto a USB stick, then switch IN Bios to boot from the USB.
    Test one DIMM at a time and if one fails then RMA the set.

    MM
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array RickSinGA PC Specs
    RickSinGA PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900k
    Memory (part number)G-Skill TridentZ 2x16GB ddr4 3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX-2080 Super 8GB
    Monitor1: LG 34 Ultra wide 2: LG OLED65B7A
    Storage #12x 512GB Crucial M4 SSD
    Storage #22x 256GB Crucial M4 SSD
    CPU Cooler2x Custom Water Radiatior P/P
    CaseCorsair d900
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 1300
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Logitech Cordless Trackman Wheel
    Headset Logitech Wireless
    OS MS Win 10x64 Home & 8.1x64 Pro
    Accessory #1 22 Saitek Flight Sim Devices

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    211

    Thanks MM, ran "sfc /scannow" with the following result: "Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations."

    I will need to pick up another USB stick to run Memtest86 the next time I go to town; really don't want to loose anything on my current sticks.

    Question, is there a way to run a Motherboard verification test of some sort; just to rule out any possible problems there.

    FYI, I have not had a single problem since changing memory; it's been 24 hours or so now. All stress tests and benchmarks work as expected.

    Thanks
    Rick S.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array TheNerdBench's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    34
    Posts
    434

    FYI you can download a ISO Image and burn MEMTEST86 to a CD. You can get MemTest86 from the www.passmark.com now. I just had my students use the utility in my Computer Hardware course I teach; let me know if you have questions (just let the test run over and over for at least four hours).


    For trouble-shooting tips see my blog at:



    http://thenerdbench.blogspot.com/p/bench-testing.html



    MB: Crosshair V Formula-Z • CPU: FX-8350 • GPU: Asus Matrix R9 280x • RAM: 8GB of Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (1866)• PSU: Thermaltake DPS Thoughpower 750 Watt • CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Frio Advanced • Keyboard: TT Sports Challanger Ultimate • Mouse: TT Sports Black Element • Case: Thermaltake GT Level 10


  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Tokens210 PC Specs
    Tokens210 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorI7-4770K
    Memory (part number)F3-2400C10D-16GTX Gskill TridentX (8gbx2)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 550TI 1gb
    Sound CardSupreme FX on board
    Storage #12x Samsung Evo 120gb
    Storage #2WD 1TB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech H320
    CaseCoolermaster HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850 80+ Platinum
    OS Windows 7 64-bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    517

    Seems like most of your questions or issues have been answered, except for returning ur ram

    If I recall correctly gskill actually has a lifetime warranty, i recently got some gskill that had a lifetime warranty on them but you said your were older so im not 100% if they offered it when u purchased, on their ram so as long as you weren't running it at something crazy I don't see any reason for them not to replace it


    But as other suggested you may wanna at least try to run memtest to be sure, most common response normally seen with memtest is if it has 4 passes and 0 errors then the ram is perfectly fine
    CoolerMaster HAF 932 Advanced/ Maximus VI Formula/ I7-4770K/Swiftech H320/ Corsair HX850/ G.Skill Trident X (2x8) 16gb 2400MHz/ 2x 840 EVO 120gb(Raid 0)/ WD 1TB HDD (Backup/Storage)/ EVGA GTX 1gb 560 TI/ Asus 12x bluray combo

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •