Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    26

    Asus G751JY Gaming Center not starting under Windows 7

    Hello Folks,

    i have a brand new Asus G751JY and i love it. I managed to install windows 7 on it, and it works perfectly well. I used all windows 8 drivers, they work OK. However the only thing that does not work is the Asus Gaming Center. Every time i try to start it i get a system error for vivokey.exe saying "The program can't start because api-ms-win-core-winrt-l1-1-0.dll is missing form your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem." I have reinstalled - no success. I have googled the problem and found out that this i a part of Visual Studio 2008 SP1 missing on my system - installed it - no success. I have even searched for the file on my system and it is there, in system32 folder. Any ideas ?
    ASUS G751JY (i7 4710HQ)

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Hi

    I am trying to solve the same problem. However I have another problem with special keys. Do your special keys work like ROG-key, shadowplay, steam and macrokeys work with windows 8 drivers downloaded from support page?

  3. #3
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    Disclaimer: ASUS doesn't provide support or do testing for Windows prior to 8.1 sorry. If you can hack it to work, good for you, but no guarantee.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    26

    Well yeah, i guess. The software seems to be running... but basically i don't use macro keys... the shadow play button appears to be working normally. only the ROG button on top of the numpad is not responding but i guess this is the Asus Game Center button.

    @MarshallR@ASUS: I can understand that, don't worry
    ASUS G751JY (i7 4710HQ)

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    153

    Is there any way to remap the Shadow play button above escape?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    This is not related issue but does anyone know how to get the time to read in 12hr and change the state is is pulling from in the Asus Gaming Center? I am not in Colorado, so I would like to find out how to change that.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	307 
Size:	27.4 KB 
ID:	44244
    Last edited by hunteds911; 12-13-2014 at 08:49 PM. Reason: added screenshot.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I installed the Windows 7 drivers from the G750JM page for hotkeys and didn't have any issue. Try that.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    hi guys,

    i just bought a g751jy but i can not install win 7 instead win 8.1
    i know i need to make some change in the Bios but it didn't work ...
    could you help me with this case ?
    thanks to all
    Last edited by quentin; 12-20-2014 at 12:00 PM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    how did u install windows 7? most regards

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hello All,

    I can confirm that Windows 7 64 Bit works fine I have amassed all the correct drivers including that of the Ethernet Driver (REALTEK).

    I am including a ul.to link here -in in addition to the bios settings below that must be set first in order to ensure that Windows 7 installs correctly on this machine.

    Just to confirm that I have purchased this model:
    http://www.saveonlaptops.co.uk/G751J...H_1665700.html

    In my setup I got rid of the 256 M.2 HD and replaced it with a 500 GB SSD (SAMSUNG 840) - More space yes.. yes.. I know the original is faster but I needed more space. For the second hard drive I took out the 1TB stock drive and I put in a Samsung M9T 2TB 9.5mm SATA 2.5 inch Internal Hard Drive.


    And before installing the OS you must act on these settings in the BIOS (F2) to boot into it.

    When Machine boots up press F2 to go into BIOS.
    Make sure to put the Windows 7 CD in so as to prep your machine.

    1. Go to SECURITY->Security boot control-> DISABLE
    2. Save changes and reboot
    3. Go to BOOT->launch csm to enable -> launch PXE to enable
    4. Save changes and reboot
    5. Go to BOOT and choose BOOT from CD

    Once you have installed Windows 7 please download my tested working drivers linked below via ul.to.
    http://ul.to/j1hwugcj

    DISCLAIMER: I take no responsibility if your machine does not work or if you erase your OS or are unable to boot your machine due to my instructions or any malice on your part. - GOOD LUCK !

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •