Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    1st PCI-E x16 slot does not detect GPU. GPU Debug LED glows RED

    Hello All,

    I am facing a strange issue with my new RVE (fresh back from RMA).
    The config first:
    5930k on swiftech H320 with 6 fans in push pull
    4*4GB 2400MHz GSkill
    2* R9 290
    5HDDs and 1 SSD (all running off Intel sata ports)
    Seasonic 1050W PSU (80+ Gold)

    The issue: When I populate either the 1st PCI-Ex16 slot or both the X16 slot, the GPU on the 1st slot is not detected.
    The GPU Debug led glows red and there is no display. Sometimes it does get detected but crashes after sometime (loose display in WIndows).
    All the PCI-E control switches are set to on.
    While booting up the 1st PCI-E LED does glow at all.
    I have tried all BIOS versions, same issue.
    Tried resetting the CPU twice, same issue.
    No bent pins.

    The same cards when tested 1 by 1 on the 2nd PCI-E x16 slot works absolutely fine.

    Also CFX is working fine on the 2 PCI-E x8 slots.

    The CPU and board are both new.
    The only reason I shifted from 4770k to 5930k is for x16 CFX.

    Any help would be highly appreciated.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Remove the CPU and inspect the socket for any bent or missing pins. Also when reinstalling your H320 try not to overtighten the screws.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I have already done that twice. Pins are all ok.
    Have tried varying the btightness of screws doesn't make any difference.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Have you tried blowing some compressed air into the slot just to make sure no dust or foreign object is present?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,680

    Have you tired turning off the unused slots ?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I have tried blowing air and disabling the unused PCI-E slots.
    Doesn't make any difference.
    Tried disabling Fast Boot as well, same issue..

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Correct. Try the following for me.

    1. Clear your CMOS.
    2. Update to the latest 0802 BIOS using the EZ Flash Utility.
    3. Once update is finished, clear your CMOS again.
    4. Go into the BIOS and press F5 to load the optimized defaults.
    5. Save and shutdown your system.
    6. Insert one of your R9 290 into the first PCIe slot only.
    7. Now turn on your system.

    Are you seeing anything on the monitor? Do you see any QCODEs on the DEBUG LED? Also, do any of the QLEDs beside the 24 pin power connector remain lit?

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Correct. Try the following for me.

    1. Clear your CMOS.
    2. Update to the latest 0802 BIOS using the EZ Flash Utility.
    3. Once update is finished, clear your CMOS again.
    4. Go into the BIOS and press F5 to load the optimized defaults.
    5. Save and shutdown your system.
    6. Insert one of your R9 290 into the first PCIe slot only.
    7. Now turn on your system.

    Are you seeing anything on the monitor? Do you see any QCODEs on the DEBUG LED? Also, do any of the QLEDs beside the 24 pin power connector remain lit?
    This has already been tried about 6-7 times.
    Out these about 2-3 times it worked.
    For the rest, the VGA Debug LED glows red and the PCI-E ch indicator LED does not glow at all.

  9. #9

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    RMA your motherboard then.
    That's what I was fearing. This is a mobo which I got as replacement from RMA after approx. 1.5 months.
    Jeez... may be I should sell this and move back to MSI.
    Never had such issues with them.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •