Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Which Cable ?

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Which Cable ?

    Just bought a Phoebus so I can connect it directly to my Audiolab MDAC via the Coax/SPDIF out, the cable fits in my DAC fine but it barely stays in the SPDIF connector on the soundcard. The DAC says it's unlocked and I cannot get any sound through it from my PC.

    I have checked the SPDIF box in the software menu. I did a lot of reading up and as far as I could see Coax and SPDIF are one in the same, the only difference I noted was some cables had metal sheaths which enable a solid grip when plugged in and some looked like standard RCA audio jacks.

    This was the one reason I bought this card, so I would no longer have to use a Toslink to Coax adaptor from my Creative X-Fi. Could someone help me please, just spent a lot of money and the one thing I wanted doesn't work.

    This is the cable I bought, Coax SPDIF, I'm confused.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...ilpage_o00_s00

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    No not that cable! Buy optical SPDIF cable and then connect one end to DAC and put the optical adapter on the other end and then to the side/optical plug

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by DamnedLife View Post
    No not that cable! Buy optical SPDIF cable and then connect one end to DAC and put the optical adapter on the other end and then to the side/optical plug
    Thanks for the reply, just realised what a 'combo' means. All the optical connections on my DAC are taken up, that's why I wanted a card with coax output. Does any Asus card have coax - one says it does but I don't want to end up with another optical combo connector in disguise again. Sending the Phoebus back.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array izzyreb02 PC Specs
    izzyreb02 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor9900X
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB DRR4 3200Mhz/F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 2080 OC
    Sound CardSound Blaster AE-5
    MonitorMG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 512 M.2
    Storage #22x 2TB WD HDD (DATA), 6TB WD (Games)
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360mm
    CaseThermaltake View 71 Tempered Glass
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Gold 1200Watt
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U
    izzyreb02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    241

    On my D2x it has a Coax on it. But it also supports an optical connection as well, so you can use the black coax to s/pidf out connection converter thing if you want to use optical on something. I to was planning to get a AV-Receiver one day that I can use the Coaxial on this sound card to get better sound out of it than the analog connections I have with my Logitech 5.1 speakers.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by izzyreb02 View Post
    On my D2x it has a Coax on it. But it also supports an optical connection as well, so you can use the black coax to s/pidf out connection converter thing if you want to use optical on something. I to was planning to get a AV-Receiver one day that I can use the Coaxial on this sound card to get better sound out of it than the analog connections I have with my Logitech 5.1 speakers.
    They really like to confuse people, looking at the pictures of that card it definitely looks like a Coax socket. I was tempted to buy that card instead of the Phoebus but it's quite an old one. I got a reply from Asus regarding this question and they recommended their outboard sound card - one with an army camouflage paintjob. Not even sure how an external sound card works, not a pretty solution.

    I'll have to look at some reviews of the card, I have an Audigy X-Fi at the moment. Might give it a go, another 12 quid return postage if it doesn't work but, that's life.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array izzyreb02 PC Specs
    izzyreb02 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor9900X
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB DRR4 3200Mhz/F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 2080 OC
    Sound CardSound Blaster AE-5
    MonitorMG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 512 M.2
    Storage #22x 2TB WD HDD (DATA), 6TB WD (Games)
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360mm
    CaseThermaltake View 71 Tempered Glass
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Gold 1200Watt
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U
    izzyreb02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    241

    Quote Originally Posted by stvn758 View Post
    They really like to confuse people, looking at the pictures of that card it definitely looks like a Coax socket. I was tempted to buy that card instead of the Phoebus but it's quite an old one. I got a reply from Asus regarding this question and they recommended their outboard sound card - one with an army camouflage paintjob. Not even sure how an external sound card works, not a pretty solution.

    I'll have to look at some reviews of the card, I have an Audigy X-Fi at the moment. Might give it a go, another 12 quid return postage if it doesn't work but, that's life.
    You mean external sound card, and yes I know what one your on about. I to have it here to. (U7 Echelon Edition)

    Funny thing to note, they don't sell the U7 Echelon in Australia. But I purchased it on ebay brand new, so incase something goes wrong on the D2x, I have that one to rely on.

    Don't buy the original U7 (the black unit) cause you wont be able to install Soundstage Pro on it, where it has extra features that can do Virtual surround sound or Mic filtering, EQ etc. Even though the Echelon has the Sound Radar, I wont be using it though.

    Even though the U7 and the U7 Echelon are the same, the only thing that is different is the drivers, since they are are locked on the type of product you have.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •