Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array jblanc03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    195

    4.7ghz 1600mhz ram not stable when GPU's Overclocked!!

    Motherboard: Rampage IV Extreme 4802x64 bios
    CPU: i73960x @ 4.7ghz Vcore 1.430(measured in bios readings) VCSSA 1.200
    RAM: Corsair Dominator GT 2133mhz @ 1600mhz 1.5V XMP Profile#1
    GPUs' 3way SLI GTX 680 Classifed 4GB each Overclocked GPU@1400mhz and RAM@3750mhz STABLE(Tested numerous times with Unigen Heaven benchmark@ Max settings)
    PSU: 1x 1500w St silverstone 1 x 850w thermaltake


    I cannot get stability of 4.7ghz CPU and 1600mhz RAM when my GPU's are overclocked!!
    Below are my screenshots for my bios settings:

    I ran these settings for 6 hours straight of Prime95 Stress test with lots of RAM selected as my test. This is Stable.

    But when i overvolt and overclock my GPU's, my system HARD LOCKS all the time. No BSOD, just HARD LOCK always. I test it by playing GAMES. The most i've gone playing games is 1 hour straight.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	141201230722.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	88.9 KB 
ID:	43795

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	141201230752.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	85.3 KB 
ID:	43796

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	141201230805.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	98.6 KB 
ID:	43797

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	141201230815.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	91.3 KB 
ID:	43798

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	141201230926.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	98.9 KB 
ID:	43799

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	141201230939.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	110.1 KB 
ID:	43800

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	141201230948.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	98.2 KB 
ID:	43801

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	141201230959.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	90.7 KB 
ID:	43802

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	141201231007.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	92.4 KB 
ID:	43803

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	141201231110.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	75.6 KB 
ID:	43804

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	141201231247.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	81.6 KB 
ID:	43805

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	141201231327.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	92.5 KB 
ID:	43806

    Please Help! I know i can there is a setting on the bios that will get more system stability when GPU's Are overclocked, i just dont know what to tweak.
    Case: TH10 Caselabs Black Aluminum with Extended Pedestal,Motherboard: Rampage IV Extreme, CPU: i73960x, RAM: 24GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133mhz, GPU: GTX 680 Classified Hydro Copper's x3 Tri-SLI, Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium HD, PSU: One EVGA 1500w and One Thermaltake 800w, 2x Samsung Pro SSD RAID 0 4x Intel 520 SSD Striped 1x Hitachi 1TB HD 3 separate Custom Water Cooling Loops, 40 Gentle Typhoon 120mm Fans and 4 radiators and 3 reservoirs, 5 MCP655 pumps total

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array abvolt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,131

    I get that if my oc is not stable, have you tried lowering your cpu ratio to say 45 and see how that works
    Current: MSI Xpower Gaming Titanium | 7700K | G Skill Ripjaws V 3000 16Gb | 960 EVO 500Gb | Intel 730 480Gb | Seasonic 1000 Platinum |
    NZXT X62 | Acer XB270HU | EVGA 1080 ti FTW3

    Secondary: R4BE | 4930K | G.SKILL 2400 16GB | Corsair AX 1500i
    Intel 730 240GB + 480GB | EVGA GTX780 ti sli kpe | Custom H20

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array jblanc03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    195

    Quote Originally Posted by abvolt View Post
    I get that if my oc is not stable, have you tried lowering your cpu ratio to say 45 and see how that works
    Wow dude, seriously?

    I mean, i appreaciate you trying to help but the whole point of this thread is to be stable at my current clocks. If i wanted to lower my ratio, than that would defeat the purpose. I would not have created a thread if i decided to just lower my ratio.

    Anyway have you ever messed with the CPU and PCIE Spread Spectrum>? i have never messed with those settings before. Was wondering what it does exactly
    Case: TH10 Caselabs Black Aluminum with Extended Pedestal,Motherboard: Rampage IV Extreme, CPU: i73960x, RAM: 24GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133mhz, GPU: GTX 680 Classified Hydro Copper's x3 Tri-SLI, Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium HD, PSU: One EVGA 1500w and One Thermaltake 800w, 2x Samsung Pro SSD RAID 0 4x Intel 520 SSD Striped 1x Hitachi 1TB HD 3 separate Custom Water Cooling Loops, 40 Gentle Typhoon 120mm Fans and 4 radiators and 3 reservoirs, 5 MCP655 pumps total

  4. #4
    Knows too much Array Quad5Ny PC Specs
    Quad5Ny PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MB467LL/A (8GB RAM, 256GB 840 Pro)
    MotherboardAsus Z87-Pro (C2 Stepping)
    ProcessorIntel 4790K @ 4.6GHz/4.4GHz Cache [VID: 1.227V/1.270V Cache]
    Memory (part number)BLE2KIT8G3D1869DE1TX0 (x2)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 4GB (Ref Card) [+177 Core/448 Memory]
    Sound CardO2+ODAC & ALC1150 (Onboard)
    MonitorSamsung UN32F5500A (Calibrated)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S (w/2nd Fan Installed)
    CaseFractal Design Define R4
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Keyboard Logitech MX3200
    Mouse Logitech Anywhere MX
    Headset beyerdynamic DT880 Premium 600Ω
    Mouse Pad Allsop #28229
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro x64 (Update 1)
    Network RouterNetgear R7000 (w/Shibbys Tomato)
    Accessory #1 Samsung SSD 830 Series 128GB
    Accessory #2 LG 14x BD-RE (WH14NS40)
    Accessory #3 SNT 2.5" Hotswap Backplane (SNT-SATA2221B)
    Quad5Ny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    132

    Quote Originally Posted by jblanc03 View Post
    Anyway have you ever messed with the CPU and PCIE Spread Spectrum>? i have never messed with those settings before. Was wondering what it does exactly
    Spread Spectrum is a way of cheaping out on having to have more EMI shielding (to meet regulatory requirements) by spreading out the interference over a larger frequency range. Always disable spread spectrum if your overclocking.

    Much more detailed answer (than I care to write ) here: http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...03&postcount=7

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array jblanc03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    195

    Quote Originally Posted by Quad5Ny View Post
    Spread Spectrum is a way of cheaping out on having to have more EMI shielding (to meet regulatory requirements) by spreading out the interference over a larger frequency range. Always disable spread spectrum if your overclocking.

    Much more detailed answer (than I care to write ) here: http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...03&postcount=7
    THANKS!

    WILL DO!

    any other suggestions?

    how can i prevent my system from HARD LOCKING from my GPU overclocks? Without reducing my CPU or RAM Ratio
    Case: TH10 Caselabs Black Aluminum with Extended Pedestal,Motherboard: Rampage IV Extreme, CPU: i73960x, RAM: 24GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133mhz, GPU: GTX 680 Classified Hydro Copper's x3 Tri-SLI, Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium HD, PSU: One EVGA 1500w and One Thermaltake 800w, 2x Samsung Pro SSD RAID 0 4x Intel 520 SSD Striped 1x Hitachi 1TB HD 3 separate Custom Water Cooling Loops, 40 Gentle Typhoon 120mm Fans and 4 radiators and 3 reservoirs, 5 MCP655 pumps total

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    129

    Quote Originally Posted by jblanc03 View Post
    Wow dude, seriously?

    I mean, i appreaciate you trying to help but the whole point of this thread is to be stable at my current clocks. If i wanted to lower my ratio, than that would defeat the purpose. I would not have created a thread if i decided to just lower my ratio.

    Anyway have you ever messed with the CPU and PCIE Spread Spectrum>? i have never messed with those settings before. Was wondering what it does exactly

    Maybe just do it as a test. If it is stable then it proves it's a CPU problem. It can be another part of the CPU not stable. Not just Vcore. Running the GPU's over clocked is putting more strain on the CPU's data paths. Which is not tested with Prime 95.


    BTW, Running that CPU at that Vcore will reduce it's life. Running my 3930k at 1.40 Volts it has minor degradation. It's best to stay under 1.40 Volts for long term use.


    Charles
    Last edited by Mosc_007; 12-02-2014 at 08:07 AM.
    | 5930k at 4.4 Ghz | Rampage 5 Extreme | Corsair 4 x 4 GB 2666 Mhz | GTX 980 x 2 in SLI |
    | 512 GB SSD x 2 in Raid 0 | Corsair 1000 Watt PSU | Corsair 900D Case | 90 Inch DLP Projector |
    | Custom Water. 1 x 360 Rad, 1 x 420 Rad. CPU + 2 GPU's Water cooled |

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array jblanc03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    195

    well i used to be stable at 1.410 volts.

    now its like i need to keep raising it just to stay stable.

    Im not 100% sure now that my GPU's are causing the problem.

    I just ran a Prime95 test using maximum Memory this time and it always hardlocks within 5 minutes of running the test.

    tried with cpu and pcie spread spectrum off and on.

    i tried to even raise VCSSA to 1.22 and i even raised CPU load line to 160% still not stable.

    wtf!

    i dont know whats wrong!
    Case: TH10 Caselabs Black Aluminum with Extended Pedestal,Motherboard: Rampage IV Extreme, CPU: i73960x, RAM: 24GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133mhz, GPU: GTX 680 Classified Hydro Copper's x3 Tri-SLI, Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium HD, PSU: One EVGA 1500w and One Thermaltake 800w, 2x Samsung Pro SSD RAID 0 4x Intel 520 SSD Striped 1x Hitachi 1TB HD 3 separate Custom Water Cooling Loops, 40 Gentle Typhoon 120mm Fans and 4 radiators and 3 reservoirs, 5 MCP655 pumps total

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array jblanc03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    195

    so i thought this whole time i was stable without my GPU's overclocked. but now i realize when idid my Prime95 testing i did not specify custom and input 20480 for memory.

    Once i did this and ran the test, i get HARDLOCKUPS every 5minutes approxiamtely!

    I ram memtest on my ram and left it running al night and i got no errors. I just dont know wtf is wrong!

    It cant be this hard to get stability at these clocks with this CPU.

    Is my BIOS version the Culprit? is my memory the culprit??

    Is there anybody out there with relativley the same setup of Motherboard/CPU/Memory as me? please help
    Case: TH10 Caselabs Black Aluminum with Extended Pedestal,Motherboard: Rampage IV Extreme, CPU: i73960x, RAM: 24GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133mhz, GPU: GTX 680 Classified Hydro Copper's x3 Tri-SLI, Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium HD, PSU: One EVGA 1500w and One Thermaltake 800w, 2x Samsung Pro SSD RAID 0 4x Intel 520 SSD Striped 1x Hitachi 1TB HD 3 separate Custom Water Cooling Loops, 40 Gentle Typhoon 120mm Fans and 4 radiators and 3 reservoirs, 5 MCP655 pumps total

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array jblanc03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    195

    my next attempt at solving my problems is I am going to revert back to Bios 4206. Ive read here on these forums that that bios seems to be rock solid with this cpu.

    anyonese second this?

    please help
    Case: TH10 Caselabs Black Aluminum with Extended Pedestal,Motherboard: Rampage IV Extreme, CPU: i73960x, RAM: 24GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133mhz, GPU: GTX 680 Classified Hydro Copper's x3 Tri-SLI, Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium HD, PSU: One EVGA 1500w and One Thermaltake 800w, 2x Samsung Pro SSD RAID 0 4x Intel 520 SSD Striped 1x Hitachi 1TB HD 3 separate Custom Water Cooling Loops, 40 Gentle Typhoon 120mm Fans and 4 radiators and 3 reservoirs, 5 MCP655 pumps total

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array jblanc03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    195

    I am also gonna turn Intel Speedstep off and see if things improve
    Case: TH10 Caselabs Black Aluminum with Extended Pedestal,Motherboard: Rampage IV Extreme, CPU: i73960x, RAM: 24GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133mhz, GPU: GTX 680 Classified Hydro Copper's x3 Tri-SLI, Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium HD, PSU: One EVGA 1500w and One Thermaltake 800w, 2x Samsung Pro SSD RAID 0 4x Intel 520 SSD Striped 1x Hitachi 1TB HD 3 separate Custom Water Cooling Loops, 40 Gentle Typhoon 120mm Fans and 4 radiators and 3 reservoirs, 5 MCP655 pumps total

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •