cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

a little help from all you seasoned overclockers please

insiZion1
Level 8
Hi guys..looking for a little advice as to getting a little more out of the cpu and gpu ON MY G751. My old rig had the asus ai suite and amd utillity which tweaked things with a simple push of the button.
However..im new to nvidia and laptops and im a little confused. How do i get the 5% gpu increase and wheres the asus turbomaster? Are there any utilities you are using? Also ....is it even worth doing? Will it aid in reducing temperatures? My bf4 has been peaking at 91degrees. Is that normal?
Thx J
7 REPLIES 7

Richdog
Level 7
Download MSI Afterburner, its the best utility for easy overclocking.

HulkSmash
Level 8
Hi InsiZion1, the 5% overclock comes from factory, it "kicks in" whenever necessary. You'll notice that the clock on your GPU when gaming will be higher than the standard clocks from nvidia's website. Any overclocking software will do, but I like EVGA Precision.

Yes, it is worth doing it, I've seen increase of 10 fps on a few games, or just better stability overall.

As for your temps, if you are talking about the GPU I really think there is something wrong, those are waaaay too high. Even CPU (which is usally higher, reaches about 82C with heavy testing). Mine is overclocked about 18%, and I've never seen anything higher than 70C once. Usually stays at 65-68C under heavy gaming. Maybe you had a bad thermal paste job, or maybe a faulty card...

Are you using your computer on a soft surface (like on top of your bed) or blocking the vents in any way? Never a good idea if you are, try to aways keep it elevated. I usually use my college books when I'm lazy (at least they retained some use after I finished my classes lol).

HulkSmash wrote: