Page 1 of 25 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 256

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    ROG G20 Overhaul

    So I just got a G20 and I decided to replace the stock 760 with a 980, add an SSD and upgrade the HDD. The GPU was tricky but I managed however, Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	1073 
Size:	158.0 KB 
ID:	43904it looks like adding the SSD and replacing the HDD is near impossible. And tips?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    74
    Posts
    2,416

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...raphics-woes-(
    u 2 should talk to each other as u booth need advice from each other
    Last edited by toronto699; 12-19-2014 at 04:38 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    The parts are upgradable. Not impossible, just a real pain in the a**.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Ok! So I danced with death a little bit and managed to get the SSD in!!!! Hallelujah sweet baby Jesus! I feel great because I didn't have to remove the CPU heat sink.
    I did it by removing a metal plate held on by two screws Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	148 
Size:	131.6 KB 
ID:	43920 and I oh so slightly bent the red plastic as I inserted the SSD from the inside, ( NOT thru the front ). It only worked after I removed two screws holding the DVD case and slid that back about 1/4 of an inch and squeezed it in, it was tight, the sides of the SSD got a little scraped up and I'm probably not gonna get it out but it's in lol. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	155 
Size:	155.0 KB 
ID:	43921
    Last edited by Urzu_7; 12-07-2014 at 05:16 AM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array safeskate PC Specs
    safeskate PC Specs
    Motherboardmany , maximum extreme-z
    Processor3570k
    Memory (part number)g-skill snipper low volt 16 gig
    Graphics Card #1evga gtx 590
    Storage #1revo - 3x2 240 gi
    Storage #2revo 120gig
    CPU Coolercooler master LQ
    Casesilverstone "custom paint"
    Power Supplycooler master silent 850
    Keyboard razor
    Mouse razor
    Headset asus
    Mouse Pad razor
    Headset/Speakers sinclair /bluetooth
    OS 8,1
    Network Routerasus

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    i manged to get to same spot . i was wanting to remove original hdd and put ssd. I seen your location of secound ssd , byt i was wondering where is sata conection on motherborad to connect secound ssd?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    This just made my day! Which 980 did you put in it? There are many different variants to choose from.
    My g20 only came with a single power brick so I need to try to find where to get the second one/double brick unit.
    Did you need any other cables other than whats in the unit itself or that came with the card?
    Finally did everything function when you put it back together?
    Asus dont want us to upgrade with their hardware hence the repeated same answers of warranty being void etc. which is fair enough but I'm determined to upgrade my g20

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    The only 980 that this will support it a reference design since it's max power draw is 170ish watts, my 980 is from nvidia, I'll post a pic tomorrow.
    As far as the power supply goes, mine came with a second since I got the model with a GTX 760. I'm guessing you could just buy one and connect it as long as the polarity is the same as well as the power rating. Here is a pic of the power supply for the GPU Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	550 
Size:	225.2 KB 
ID:	43909
    Last edited by Urzu_7; 12-07-2014 at 02:24 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array GoHack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    88

    Hi,

    Do you, or anyone else, have a photo of the 180W power supply, showing the specs like the 230W photo which was posted here, including showing the connector end, which specifically came w/the system?

    I just bought a G20, but it came w/the 230W one instead, due to it's being an Intel i5, w/a Geforce GTX 750 video card.

    I plan to eventually upgrade everything, including the CPU. Thanks.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array GoHack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    88

    Quote Originally Posted by GoHack View Post
    Hi,

    Do you, or anyone else, have a photo of the 180W power supply, showing the specs like the 230W photo which was posted here, including showing the connector end, which specifically came w/the system?

    I just bought a G20, but it came w/the 230W one instead, due to it's being an Intel i5, w/a Geforce GTX 750 video card.

    I plan to eventually upgrade everything, including the CPU. Thanks.

    For those who may be interested.

    Here's the Asus 180W power supply Model: ADP-180MB F, 19.5V, 9.23A, 100-240V~50-60Hz 2.34A

    I stopped by a local Fry's store today, which happened to have an Asus G20 w/the i7 CPU on display, and went and took the information off of the 180W power supply.


    Update:

    I found one on ebay yesterday, brand new, w/the exact same model number and specs, and so I bought it. The only difference, the connector is a 90 degree vs. the normal straight. There are some on Amazon.com as well, again w/the same model number and specs.


    .
    Last edited by GoHack; 02-06-2015 at 12:15 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Also I just realized when I took the pic that the GPUs power supply supports up to 230 watts so as long as the GPUs max power draw does not exceed PSUs rating and it fits in its slot, your golden. Here is a pic of the GPU slot. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	451 
Size:	170.9 KB 
ID:	43919
    Last edited by Urzu_7; 12-07-2014 at 05:13 AM.

Page 1 of 25 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •