Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Windows boot up hangs with fault codes fd, 61, system is running stock settings

    Hello ROG forums

    This is my first post here, I just completed my new system but I am having serious issues with it that I am unable to resolve. The problem is there no matter what bios settings I set. Default, XMP or OC it, Sometimes it succesfully boots into Windows and then it is stable for hours even days of stress testing, gaming etc.
    But sometimes I would say 30% chance on each reboot Windows fails to load, it hangs on the Windows logo and it freezes, this even happend the first time I was going to install the computer from a USB drive, it hang on the Windows logo. This tells me the problem is not related to the SSD since it happends on all boot iamges on USB sticks I have tried.
    It always hangs with fault codes fd or 61. I tried increasing the SA voltage but this makes no difference at all. I have tried numrous bios settings but nothing helps. I am really considering switching this board for another manufacturer because they are not boot problems atleast.
    Currently I am running the latest bios and I going to try update to the new 9XX version tonight. Does anyone have any idea why this happends? I seem to not be to only one but I have tried all solutions in other threads and they do not work so I am lost here.

    Hardware:

    5960X@stock speed
    Ramapge V Extreme bios 8XX
    G.Skill 3000mhz DDR4 Ripjawz
    3x GTX Asus Titan(Extra molex power is connected)
    Asus Essence STX soundcard
    Corsair AX1500i
    2x Samsung 840 pro 256GB Raid0
    1x Samsung 840 evo 500GB
    Corsair K95 RGB keyboard
    Logitech G700 mouse

    I am really frustrated with this and I need help. Any help is much appriciated

    //Aqua
    Last edited by AquaRelliux; 12-10-2014 at 02:26 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Avenger411 PC Specs
    Avenger411 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 5930K@4.3Ghz
    Memory (part number)G-Skills DDR4-3200 (16-16-16-36-1T) 1.375v
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Titan X w/ 980 Hybrid AiO Liquid Cooler
    MonitorAsus RoG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1OCZ RD400A (Windows)
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro (Gaming)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1000w Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry-Mx Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Roccat 5.1 True Surround Digital
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk AC1900
    Accessory #1 Iphone 6S 64gb
    Accessory #2 Brainwave Headset Stand
    Accessory #3 Microsoft Xbox360 Pc Controller

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    617

    Hey

    Check the code definition in your manual. This might help seizing the problem! I am not at home right now so i'm not 100% sure but you could try re-seating your ram or try using only one dimm see if that helps. But like i said not 100% as i do not have the manual with me.

    Thanks

    Max
    Last edited by Avenger411; 12-10-2014 at 01:09 PM.
    Cpu : Intel 5930K@4.25ghz@1.2v / Cache @4.25ghz@1.20v
    Cpu Cooler : Corsair H100i
    Case : Corsair 780T
    Memory : G.Skills 32GB DDR4-3200mhz CAS 15-15-15-35-1T@1.370v
    Motherboard : Asus Rampage V Extreme (BIOS 3504)
    M2 : Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512gb (Gaming)
    M2 : SSD1 : OCZ RD400A 128gb (windows)
    SSD1 : Crucial MX100 512gb (data)
    Gfx : EVGA Titan X w/ 980 Hybrid Cooling AiO Liquid Cooler
    PSU : Antec HCP-1000W
    Monitor : Asus RoG Swift

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Are you using a fresh Windows installation? Also what is this about boot images on your USB? Please explain.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Yes I reinstalled it 2 times it did not resolve the problem. What I mean with boot images is that when I create a installation image on a bootable USB, it experiences exactly the same boot up issues as the installed OS. Sometimes it hangs on the windows boot logo(This is even before the OS is installed first boot to install it from the USB), it happens exactly the same on USB stick or SSD drives hangs with fault codes fd or 61. This makes me believe it is not software or driver related, it is some hardware failure or might be some hardware causing it to not boot up.

    This guy has the exact same problem as me:

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...-Code-Ad/page3

    I have tried his suggestions but nothing of that works...
    Last edited by AquaRelliux; 12-10-2014 at 02:25 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0505
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.35V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Magnitude RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    2,184

    Quote Originally Posted by AquaRelliux View Post
    Yes I reinstalled it 2 times it did not resolve the problem. What I mean with boot images is that when I create a installation image on a bootable USB, it experiences exactly the same boot up issues as the installed OS. Sometimes it hangs on the windows boot logo(This is even before the OS is installed first boot to install it from the USB), it happens exactly the same on USB stick or SSD drives hangs with fault codes fd or 61. This makes me believe it is not software or driver related, it is some hardware failure or might be some hardware causing it to not boot up.

    This guy has the exact same problem as me:

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...-Code-Ad/page3

    I have tried his suggestions but nothing of that works...
    I think my problem was different. I was going to give this a couple days more, but since changing my SAV from auto to 0.100, I have had no more Ad or 61 Q codes. The other reason I waited to report this is that I flashed bios 0901 as well and used my overclock settings from 0802 which is not recommended. Seems to be working in my situation though.

    I think the 2 problems are similar but not exactly the same. My CPU is overclocked to 4.3 which is why I think I had my problem. Praz, Chino, Jacks, and LiveOrDie were correct with the small bump in the SAV to address my issue. I wonder if your 3000 memory is not the problem. There's a 3000 memory setup guide in Chino sig, or here:

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...page-V-Extreme

    It is not my OS since I have had no issue since increasing the SAV on 11/30. No issues in day to day use either. Hope this helps. Not sure if it will be helpful in your situation.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0505
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.35V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Magnitude RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    2,184

    Perhaps test your memory as well with memtest?

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I have run memtest on my memory and I did a 800% coverage and it resulted in 0 errors, as I said when it boots it is stable for sevral hours/days without problems.
    Last edited by AquaRelliux; 12-10-2014 at 03:02 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0505
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.35V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Magnitude RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    2,184

    Excellent. I think there may be a bios tweak for the memory that you need, but I am not sure. My memory runs at 2400.

    When tweaking the SAV, what increments are you using? I went from auto to 0.100, and some have said that may be too much. You may have to tweak the SAV more, but I will have to defer to someone else who has experience with your memory frequency.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    The problem is that it occurs so randomly so it is hard to know when I have settings that work. I tried +0.100 before, that did not work. I then tried +0.110 that worked for several days then it started failing again. I then tried +0.120 same results. So I am not sure if what I am doing is fixing this. The frustrating part is that the board runs completely stock! AUTO settings should work with the XMP profile!!! Also the XMP profile suggests running the CPU on the 125mhz strap I guess that is ok? It is still 3500mhz stock speed with x28 mutiplier.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by AquaRelliux View Post

    G.Skill 3000mhz DDR4 Ripjawz
    How much RAM are you running? And does the problem show up when running at stock 2133MHz speed?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •