Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Asus G20 tried upgrade

    Hi,

    I just got my G20 and i bought an ssd along with it to upgrade it. I used the PC before trying to upgrade anything and it was working just fine. it took me a lot of time to open the G20 because i was trying not to damage any component. After getting put the SSD which was so difficult, i put everything back together. When i started the pc, it doesn't recognize the SSD nor the DVD drive and it rebooted after 2 min of started the pc, then i opened it again and no secured the connectors to see if something was wrong, i check again and still not sign of life of dvd drive or SSD. I got dissapointed since i tested the ssd in another machine and it works, i means it is the motherboard of the G20 and for some reason the DVD drive also got broken. I decided to use it just like normal and i downloaded some games, and it rebooted just randomly, then i finished downloading and started playing League of Legends and everything was fine, played 2 games for almost 2 hours straight. Then i tried Crysis the game, at ultra graphics and it was running just great at 37-80fps. After 5 or 10min it rebooted, i tried again, and the same thing.

    Now i am so but so depressed, not only i got no SSD or DVD drive but can't play more than 5min or 10min an intensive game.

    I checked online and i learned that GTX 760 have some issues, like some of them are broken out of the box, and other issues about drivers. I guess mine is faulty. Now i am thinking.... Do i get a GTX 970 and replace the 760 or do i just wait for buying a next year next G20... i lost warranty anyways... i can't do much.

    Is there someone else with the same problem of rebooting?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    2,509

    Last edited by toronto699; 12-13-2014 at 03:36 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Sorry to hear of your troubles mate, I have the parts I need on order and will update all of you once I sort it out.
    I will only be upgrading the GPU by the way so hopefully I won't have to take it apart too much to get this in.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Maybe try a factory reset on the machine?
    I will be getting the GTX970 by the way

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I just did this the other day. It was a pain. It took me a while to get the SSD cable in the right spot. I moved my operating system to the SSD, booted from the SSD, and everything worked well. Formatted the HD that came on the G20. Rebooted and Windows wouldn't load. Nothing could get it to load. Finally, I used my education discount and bought a fresh copy of Windows 8.1 pro and BOOM, I now have the fastest computer that I've ever owned.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Can I ask which SSD you got for you G20? (brand and model number)

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array GoHack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    88

    You have to set your SSD in the BIOS.

    Make sure everything is set properly, including your DVD, in the BIOS.
    Last edited by GoHack; 02-21-2015 at 03:14 AM.
    - Asus ROG G20AJ, Intel i5-4460 CPU, Crucial Ballistix 16GB DDR3L, 2x Corsair 128GB SSD's (RAID 0), Nvidia Geforce GTX 670, 180W and 230W Power Supply Bricks, Acer GN246HL 24" Monitor, Windows 10 (x64)

    - Alienware Aurora R4, Intel i7-4820K, 20GB DDR3, 2 TB HD, Nvidia GeForce GTX 760, Windows 10 (x64)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •