Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Wi-Fi Slow down - Broadcom 4352 ( 802.11 ac )

    I have the ASUS G750JS-DS71 with the following 802.11 ac wifi card

    Broadcom 4352 ( 802.11 ac ) 2x2 ( 5G WiFi 2-Stream 802.11ac Transceiver



    I had been seeing wireless data transfers between my

    Dell Studio 9100 XPS ( Windows 7 ) and the ASUS G750JS-DS71 ( Windows 8.1 )

    of about 500 Mbps

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo_1.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	77.3 KB 
ID:	44406

    Then suddenly my test file [ about 350 MB mix of approximatly 73% video / 18% exe & pdf ]

    with about 740 files in 76 directories transfer speeds dropped to about 170 Mbps


    I installed the inSSIDer Network Tool and am currently seeing variations

    of this screen save

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo_2.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	298.3 KB 
ID:	44407


    I am running a ASUS RT-AC68U Wireless Router and have a

    OPPO-103 Blu-ray DVD and CHANNEL MASTER CM-7500GB16 as part

    of my wireless network.


    I have modified "un-used" SSIDs using regedit / read everything on the internet related to this type of problem /

    and am still stuck with a MAX RATE of 54 as seen above from inSSIDer

    Noting that Windows 8.1 shows 867 Mbps in its Wi-Fi Connection status box.


    I believe that those "out of range" SSIDs seen in the inSSIDer screen save

    are of type [ g ] which is limited to 54 Mbps and that is why I am stuck at 54 Mbps.

    However, I can't seem to find anyone that has a handle on this problem - - -


    Oh, the only good news is that when this occurred I went "wired" to the router

    via two 1.0 Gbps LAN cards and my test file transferred at

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Photo_3.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	60.7 KB 
ID:	44408


    Sorry, for the LONG READ - What the **** is going on ???

    Where are the hidden and "out of range" SSIDs hiding ?

    How do I get my 500 Mbps speeds back ?

    Thanks - - -
    Last edited by AndyinUSA; 12-18-2014 at 11:24 PM. Reason: spelling

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    AndyinUSA, frustrating, but usually limited bandwidth like this is from WMM not being enabled on both bands on the router and/or the Wifi card on the laptop.

    It can also be corruption in the router firmware/configuration. If you have all the settings correctly, and it was working, then this is likely what happened, hard reset the router, check to make sure you have the latest available firmware, and configure from scratch - you could first try loading saved configs, but that might bring back the error.

    Asus RT-AC68U - Version 3.0.0.4.376.3602
    http://support.asus.com/download.asp...ItyTHFccLwnprr

    If you updated the Wifi card driver on the laptop it might have reset the settings you changed to defaults - set WMM again.

    Asus Notebook Wlan - Version V6.30.223.249 looks like the newest available
    http://support.asus.com/Download.asp...en&m=WLAN&os=3

    I assume you have WPA2/AES set as the authentication.

    The Asus RT-AC68U has lots of fun settings in the Professional tab, twiddling those might cause this... I don't have mine in front of me to check for which ones...

    I had that card in my G750JX and it connected at 866mbps to my RT-AC68U and had the same throughput via Wifi as Ethernet, so it will work - but it took a firmware update to make those numbers stable.

    I hope that helps
    Last edited by hmscott; 12-18-2014 at 02:47 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Thanks for the detailed ideas - - -

    I went with a new Wi-Fi driver and checked my WMM settings;

    Yes, I am using WPA2/AES - - -

    Unfortunately, still NO JOY - - -

    I still believe all of this mess is some how connected to those "out of range" & unidentified SSIDs

    Anyway, at least I have a way to do speedy data transfers with the wired setup.

    Thanks again - When I find the answer, I will post it EVERYWHERE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •