Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Shadowplay button only activates "LAUNCH APP"??

    Hi,
    I just tried to activate shadowplay via the button, but it only launches a windows how to activate.

    I already tried all settings in the geforce manager, but pressing the button still doesn't work.

    Any help pls?

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    28

    I had the same issue but I'm not sure what i did. I think I probably re-installed the GeForce Experience from the nVidia website.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    It suddenly worked!
    But I can't get the webcam to work on recording, I heard it only works in TWITCH streaming mode?

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Same here, it only launches the instructions window when Shadowplay is off and doesn't do anything when it's on.
    How did u guys get it to function the way it's supposed to? I've already reinstalled GFE for other reasons...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    492

    You must first activate Shadowplay from GF Experience, along with activating all the screen indicators (FPS/Camera/Record State). After you activate shadowplay, pressing the shadowplay button won't pop-up the app window anymore, but it will start/stop your shadowplay recording/streaming when you press it.
    Note: Make sure you have the Record/Stop button set for your "Manual start/stop recording" in shadowplay shortcuts. See the pic below:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Shadowplay example.jpg 
Views:	103 
Size:	269.4 KB 
ID:	44746

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Thanks NitroX, though I did reassign the key earlier.
    My initial understanding was that the ShadowPlay key was to activate and deactivate the service (you know, that flip switch?), not start and stop recording. or at least I hoped that would be the case so we don't have to keep it always on...

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    492

    Oh... Srry. Yeah, Initially I thought that also, but then I saw what it actually does. It doesn't really bother me to keep shadowplay always on. I really like it tbh. It's really good to have it on when gaming or benchmarking because you have that nice option to save the last 5/10/15/20 mins of gameplay/recording. And it really isn't a resource hungry application so it doesn't even influence the games/apps.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by mavrik View Post
    My initial understanding was that the ShadowPlay key was to activate and deactivate the service
    I'm not sure why that is something you would even want. It doesn't hurt to have GeForce Experience always running, and of course the button would be for starting/stopping ShadowPlay recording. Why would Asus incorporate an actual button to start/stop a service?

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by geneticweapon View Post
    I'm not sure why that is something you would even want. It doesn't hurt to have GeForce Experience always running, and of course the button would be for starting/stopping ShadowPlay recording. Why would Asus incorporate an actual button to start/stop a service?
    I obviously didn't have a lot of info on this service and I thought it would be resource intensive and such...

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    i was hoping shadowplay could record from screencast mode whatever is showing on display... has anyone configured that or know how ,, i have a g751 jt... thanks

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •