Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I7-4930k on Rampage Extreme IV

    Dear colleagues, I would like to ask you if this behavior it's normally or it's a problem with my I74930k procc.

    My processor remain in 8% usage for 5-7 minutes after he loads all processes. I don't know how I7-4930k Sync all processors, but i have in Bios option with Sync all Processors and is enabled and set to auto. After windows 7 ultimatum 64bit loading all my processes ( AV, and rest of the processes ) I can observe how on all my 12 cores ( physical and virtual ) a line that it goes on each core, after a line remain up on 1 core, it goes to another core and doing this for all 12 cores. After this my processor remain in 0% usage that means it's ok.



    So my question is how Intel I7-4930k Sync All Processors, it's that line that is going on each processor? Or it's from the MOBO ? How can i correct this ?

    I have a MOBO: Rampage Extreme IV.



    Configuration:



    Source: Corsair 850W
    Processor: Intel I7-4930k 3.4 GHZ ( No Overclock )
    MOBO: Asus Rampage Extreme IV 2011 socket
    RAM: 16GB 2400 MHZ
    SSD: Samsung 840 EVO 250 GB ( Only for Windows )
    SSD: Samsung 840 EVO 250 GB ( Application )
    HDD: Segate 1 TB 64mb 7200/rpm ( Windows TEMP Files and others )
    Video: Gainward GTX 760 2GB SLI
    Video: Gainward GTX 760 2GB SLI

  2. #2
    Knows too much Array Quad5Ny PC Specs
    Quad5Ny PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MB467LL/A (8GB RAM, 256GB 840 Pro)
    MotherboardAsus Z87-Pro (C2 Stepping)
    ProcessorIntel 4790K @ 4.6GHz/4.4GHz Cache [VID: 1.227V/1.270V Cache]
    Memory (part number)BLE2KIT8G3D1869DE1TX0 (x2)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 4GB (Ref Card) [+177 Core/448 Memory]
    Sound CardO2+ODAC & ALC1150 (Onboard)
    MonitorSamsung UN32F5500A (Calibrated)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S (w/2nd Fan Installed)
    CaseFractal Design Define R4
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Keyboard Logitech MX3200
    Mouse Logitech Anywhere MX
    Headset beyerdynamic DT880 Premium 600Ω
    Mouse Pad Allsop #28229
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro x64 (Update 1)
    Network RouterNetgear R7000 (w/Shibbys Tomato)
    Accessory #1 Samsung SSD 830 Series 128GB
    Accessory #2 LG 14x BD-RE (WH14NS40)
    Accessory #3 SNT 2.5" Hotswap Backplane (SNT-SATA2221B)
    Quad5Ny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    132

    Your Motherboard and CPU are both working correctly. There is something in the operating system using your CPU.

    If you are using Windows, Open Task Manager and go to the Processes tab. Inside the Processes tab you can see CPU usage for all Applications and Services.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Hi, and thank you for your time.
    The thing is that I have no processes loaded and still remaining at 8%. It will go at 0% after that line is checking or performing on all cores, and I don't know how to called. I was thinking to change my thermal past and see after is doing same behavior, or there are some option from MOBO that i can skip those kind of checks ( cores sync check ? if applied ).

    I am using windows 7 and believe me I have 32 processes only after optimization and disable most of services that i don't use

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I am not home right now, but i will come with screenshots when I will arrive home.
    The point is that I don't know how I7-4930k sync all cores, in which way ? Is the way with that line from Task Manager that is going to all cores and check them by giving them something to work for 3-5 min and then goes to 0%, or it's because I also move some TEMP files from windows ( in order to not be cached on SSD anymore ) can affect this ?

    I will try also to change the thermal past maybe can be the cause ?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    OK,
    So nobody had this issue till now ?
    Someone know if I7_4930k has a routine check for each core at windows logon ?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    855

    "Sync all cores" is a BIOS setting that applies the same multiplier to all 6 cores. The alternative is to apply a different core clock multiplier depending on the number of cores active. BIOS does this before entering the OS.

    I think the activity you see in Task Manager occurs as Windows activates all its drivers and default services. Even when there are no applications running, Windows opens and starts many of its internal services. Some application processes start automatically, such as antivirus software. See the Processes and Services tabs in Task Manager. All those shown as "Running" were started by the sort of activity you see just at OS boot. Activity drops to 0% as it should when all that initialization finishes.

    Jeff

  7. #7
    Knows too much Array Quad5Ny PC Specs
    Quad5Ny PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MB467LL/A (8GB RAM, 256GB 840 Pro)
    MotherboardAsus Z87-Pro (C2 Stepping)
    ProcessorIntel 4790K @ 4.6GHz/4.4GHz Cache [VID: 1.227V/1.270V Cache]
    Memory (part number)BLE2KIT8G3D1869DE1TX0 (x2)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 4GB (Ref Card) [+177 Core/448 Memory]
    Sound CardO2+ODAC & ALC1150 (Onboard)
    MonitorSamsung UN32F5500A (Calibrated)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S (w/2nd Fan Installed)
    CaseFractal Design Define R4
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Keyboard Logitech MX3200
    Mouse Logitech Anywhere MX
    Headset beyerdynamic DT880 Premium 600Ω
    Mouse Pad Allsop #28229
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro x64 (Update 1)
    Network RouterNetgear R7000 (w/Shibbys Tomato)
    Accessory #1 Samsung SSD 830 Series 128GB
    Accessory #2 LG 14x BD-RE (WH14NS40)
    Accessory #3 SNT 2.5" Hotswap Backplane (SNT-SATA2221B)
    Quad5Ny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    132

    That's exactly what I said but in more words.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •