Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    No image period on ROG Swift

    I've only been able to tinker with this thing for about 20 minutes before I had things to take care of, but after a quick unboxing and hooking this bad boy up....I haven't been able to see a single pixel illuminate no matter what I do. I have a refurb HP Smartbuy ZR2740wv2 that uses DP that works just fine....Is there any error codes with the LED lights that can be visible on top of the monitor? I noticed that a solid red light appears through the top right exhaust port with a green LED that flickers on when I try to power cycle my monitor.

    Any help at all would be appreciated and I'll edit this thread if anything changes.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Try uninstalling all nvidia drivers and geforce experience then fresh install. Fixed the issue for me earlier today.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by jon3sey View Post
    Try uninstalling all nvidia drivers and geforce experience then fresh install. Fixed the issue for me earlier today.
    Tried that, nothing. Does a white light for the power indicator mean the display is on? Because the backlight won't even turn on

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Starrbuck PC Specs
    Starrbuck PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Microsoft Surface Book 2
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero Wi-Fi X470
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC
    Sound CardASUS ROG SupremeFX (onboard)
    MonitorASUS PG279Q 165Hz 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Corsair Force Series MP510 960GB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 750GB SSD
    CPU CoolerEK-FB ASUS C6H Monoblock
    CaseFractal Design Define R6
    Power SupplyCorsiar HX 1200i
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse ASUS ROG Gladius II
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Razor Vespula V2
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterNetgear X10 R9000
    Accessory #1 EK-Vector RTX 2080 Ti RGB Water Block + Backplate
    Accessory #2 EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM Pump
    Accessory #3 Bitspower fittings, EK & Koolance rads
    Starrbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Your Windows may be producing a signal that's out of range. Try booting into safe mode which will force a low resolution.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/...78q-range.html < like this out of range issue? Because if so then I don't think that is my issue as I've never seen one single pixel illuminate so far on this panel.

    I already boxed up the monitor for RMA but I'll try your suggestion when I'm done with work tonight.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Starrbuck View Post
    Your Windows may be producing a signal that's out of range. Try booting into safe mode which will force a low resolution.
    Safe mode didn't recognize the monitor at all, do you want me to try doing that while only having one DP into my PC?

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I posted this in another topic but it may help. This same issue made me Scrooge over the holiday break, but I finally got it working...

    I initially had the same issues with this monitor. My setup below:

    Gigabyte X68
    I7-2600K
    8 gig Corsair Vengence
    EVGA 690 Signature

    I first tried getting an adapter for the mini DP on the back of the 690 to connect it to the DP on the ROG Swift. This resulted in black screen / zero recognition of any input from the GPU (or both GPUs in the 690's case). I figured that I needed a Mini DP to DP cord and ordered one on Amazon. But I wasn't happy with my current situation so I kept digging. Since I recently upgraded my wife to a EVGA 980 SC from an MSI 660, I took her old GPU and gave it a go since it had native DP as an output. This resulted in the same black screen no input as before.

    At this point I was very frustrated as I'm sure many of you are. What I did next was actually the one of my first mistake: called ASUS customer support. What a joke! Granted it's the day after Christmas and all but waiting on the phone for an hour was unacceptable. However, while I was listening to the CS queued background noise on speaker phone I decided to keep trying my own trial and error fixes for the no input issue. And that's when the solution hit me.

    I saw my old monitor laying on the ground and figured I better plug it in if I wanted to game today at all. After plugging it in to the DVI port on the back of the 660, my old monitor came to life as I expect any monitor to do. Having my old monitor hooked up, I plugged in the ROG Swift as a secondary monitor and BOOM it finally came to life. I quickly disconnected my DVI "main" monitor and the ROG Swift took over as the main monitor. I haven't had a problem since. It turns on at the touch of a button and always has recognized the signal. I hope this helps someone else.

    BTW, my wife also got an ASUS ROG Swift and her monitor worked right out of the box... granted it was hooked up to her brand new EVGA 980 SC.

    \TLDR\
    Try another monitor as your main monitor, then plug in the ROG Swift as a secondary monitor. If both turn on, unplug the "other" monitor and see if this solved whatever underlying issue you were having.

    Werd,
    420Man

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •