Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Question G751JY compatible with 2133MHz RAM?

    I bought 16GB (2x8GB) 2133MHz 1.35V G.Skill memory but it is only being recognized as 1600MHz. Can you tell me if it can run 2133MHz and if you have done it? Maybe you have done it with a G750 and could give me the process of doing it on that laptop. Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Camel51 View Post
    I bought 16GB (2x8GB) 2133MHz 1.35V G.Skill memory but it is only being recognized as 1600MHz. Can you tell me if it can run 2133MHz and if you have done it? Maybe you have done it with a G750 and could give me the process of doing it on that laptop. Thanks
    Camel51, did you remove all the original memory from the G751JY before adding the new 2133mhz memory? Or did you add the new memory to the existing memory?

    If you didn't remove the original memory the fastest speed memory will run is at the speed of the slowest memory installed.

    You will need to uninstall the original memory and install the new 2133mhz memory in the top slots under the keyboard.

    The 2133mhz memory works in the G750, confirmed by several people, but you are the first that has reported trying in the G751...
    Last edited by hmscott; 12-31-2014 at 08:49 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by hmscott View Post
    Camel51, did you remove all the original memory from the G751JY before adding the new 2133mhz memory? Or did you add the new memory to the existing memory?

    If you didn't remove the original memory the fastest speed memory will run is at the speed of the slowest memory installed.

    You will need to uninstall the original memory and install the new 2133mhz memory in the top slots under the keyboard.

    The 2133mhz memory works in the G750, confirmed by several people, but you are the first that has reported trying in the G751...
    Sorry for getting back so late, I was away from the internet. I did remove all my old ram (which was not under the keyboard) and put my new ram where the old used to be. For the G750 to run 2133 did the ram have to be in the slots under the keyboard? Maybe that's my issue. I'll take apart the laptop and move the dimms to the under the keyboard and see if that does the trick.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Camel51 View Post
    Sorry for getting back so late, I was away from the internet. I did remove all my old ram (which was not under the keyboard) and put my new ram where the old used to be. For the G750 to run 2133 did the ram have to be in the slots under the keyboard? Maybe that's my issue. I'll take apart the laptop and move the dimms to the under the keyboard and see if that does the trick.
    Camel51, if you removed all the memory, and the 2133mhz memory is working, but only at 1600mhz, I doubt moving it is going to help. Although it is possible that it might work if you put it in the Dual Channel slots order, not sure what it is for the G751, but on the G750 it is 1,3 and 2,4 slots as pairs.

    Sorry to hear it isn't working. Please also post the results to the memory sticky thread, so that others will know not to order the 2133mhz memory.

    It's strange as the G751 has been more compatible with differing memory than the G750, and the G750 worked with the G.skill 2133mhz memory.

    Both times I have seen reports of installing G.skill 2133mhz, it has been with full 32GB 4x8 configuration.

    Please let us know how it works out.
    Last edited by hmscott; 01-18-2015 at 03:33 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    72

    Just checked the BIOS - no XMS options there...in fact, not really any RAM/memory options at all. Pretty barebones for a laptop advertised for OC/gaming.
    4710HQ, 980M // 5930K, 980 SC SLI // 4930K, 980 SC // 4770K, 290X Lightning // 1pcent.com

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by sk3tch View Post
    Just checked the BIOS - no XMS options there...in fact, not really any RAM/memory options at all. Pretty barebones for a laptop advertised for OC/gaming.
    sk3tch, with the G750 you could count on the BIOS to read the SPD values and use them to set up the memory. It seems like the G751 might have fixed values, and is ignoring the SPD values.

    When Camel51 confirms the Dual Channel slots don't work either, you all can ask Asus to update the BIOS to read the SPD values like the G750 - you can all ask now if you like

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    2133MHz Working Somehow Now

    I just got my computer back and rechecked CPU-Z. I don't remember what it said before but I don't believe it was what it now says, which is good. As of now it's saying that my 2133MHz ram is correctly running at ~2133MHz!

    CPU-Z shows my DRAM Frequency is 1064.2MHz then multiply that by 2 and it equals 2128.4MHz (~2133MHz).

    When benchmarking with Unigine Valley it says my memory frequency is running at 2505MHz I guess the computer is OCing the ram too which is awesome.

    I hope I'm reading everything correctly. Let me know what you get out of all this data.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos CPUZ SPD.JPG  

    CPUZ dram freq.JPG  

    Unigine Valley mem freq.JPG  


  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I have some conflicting data from the ASUS Intel Extreme Tuning software though. It says default speeds are 1600MHz. I'm not sure if it's saying that's what it's currently running (or maybe it's reading incorrectly) or if it's just stating what the default speeds would be.

    The only thing the BIOS lists about memory is:

    "Memory Information
    Total Memory 16384 MB"
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Intel Tuning Default Freq.JPG  

    Last edited by Camel51; 01-30-2015 at 05:21 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Camel51 View Post
    I just got my computer back and rechecked CPU-Z. I don't remember what it said before but I don't believe it was what it now says, which is good. As of now it's saying that my 2133MHz ram is correctly running at ~2133MHz!
    CPU-Z shows my DRAM Frequency is 1064.2MHz then multiply that by 2 and it equals 2128.4MHz (~2133MHz).
    When benchmarking with Unigine Valley it says my memory frequency is running at 2505MHz I guess the computer is OCing the ram too which is awesome.
    I hope I'm reading everything correctly. Let me know what you get out of all this data.
    Camel51, that's great news

    Glad to hear it is working in the G751, which is what I would have expected, since it works in the G750!

    It should help a bit with everything, a little more for some things than others.

    Let us know if you find something that really improves due to the faster RAM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Camel51 View Post
    I have some conflicting data from the ASUS Intel Extreme Tuning software though. It says default speeds are 1600MHz. I'm not sure if it's saying that's what it's currently running (or maybe it's reading incorrectly) or if it's just stating what the default speeds would be.
    The only thing the BIOS lists about memory is:
    "Memory Information
    Total Memory 16384 MB"
    Camel51, that looks like exactly what it says, default: - it's not displaying current speed.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •