cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New system, wont post, no Q codes, lights flicker, fans start on their own.

frostedsquid
Level 7
Hi!
I just got a Rampage V Extreme to build a new system with. I installed it in the case with a 5930K cpu and 16gb (4x4gb) Kingston Predator DDR4 3000 ram. Im using for the time being an old SSD and basic GTX 740 thats only a few months old. 850w Antec psu that I have been using for several years without issue.

The system started up first boot, and I went into bios. I noticed the ram was running at 2133. I figured Id try setting it to 3000 for the hell of it. System wouldn't post, so I fumbled with the onboard buttons until it booted, and then I set it back to defaults. Rebooted, set the boot drive. After it finished post when it would go to boot, rather than windows loading it just reset. No problem i thought, I'm going to reinstall windows anyway. I went to look for a usb stick, and when I got back the lit start and reset buttons were flickering. The fans were rapidly starting and stopping. So I quickly switched it off at the psu.

Now when I connect power, the motherboard lights up, the fans spin up, the q code displays 00, and the ssd gets power, as if it is starting up on its own. but nothing happens. If I press the power button (which is lit solid to begin with), the buttons starts flickering again. The fans run but occasionally stop and start again. It seems kind of like a short? The q code stays on "00" always. The manual says this is not used, which worries me. If I hold the start button for a few seconds it goes back to solid lit and fans are stable and constant high power.