Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    3930K overclocking help

    Hi all,

    I am trying to overclock my 3930K with rampage 4 extreme. Now I am at 4.2G with vcore set to 1.4V(in CPU-Z it shows 1.416-1.424V). I am using XMP for memory(1866MHZ). I sometimes get blue screen with 0x03b error. What is the problem here? What do I need to change? I am new to overclocking.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array UltraNEO* PC Specs
    UltraNEO* PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 13
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Titan X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2Titan X (Pascal)
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q (x3)
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1Tb (x4)
    CPU CoolerCustom Watercooled
    CaseCaseLabs SMA8
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Keyboard Paradise Custom
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers ART SLA2 Linear Amp with JBL Control 5
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterPF Sense
    Accessory #1 Logitech Brio 4k
    Accessory #2 Logitech PowerPlay Game Pad
    UltraNEO*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    605

    Can we have a system specs please, what sort of cooling your using too?
    ASUS ROG RVIE Encore| i9-10940x | Dominator Platinum 128GB 3333 MHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti SLI | Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe (x3)
    WD Black 4TB | WD Black 6TB x2 | EVGA 1600 P2 | CaseLabs SMA8 | Custom Water Cooling | HWLabs Black Ice Nemesis GTX 560
    XSPC RX 480 v3 | XSPC D5 Vario x2 | EK Blocks | EK-RES X3 400 | BitsPower Fittings | GentleTypoon 1850 x12 | Corsair SP140 x8 | Lamptron CM615

    Twitch.tv/MsNikita | Twitter.com/MsNikitaTV | Instagram.com/MsNikitaTV | Reddit.com/r/MsNikitaTV

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hi Ultra,

    My setting is:
    3930k
    Rampage 4 extreme
    Corsair vengeance 1866MHZ 64GB
    Seasonic 1250W
    Samsung 840 SSD 500GB
    EVGA GTX Titan SLI
    Cooling: Corsair H110

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Deathpledged PC Specs
    Deathpledged PC Specs
    Motherboardrampage iv extreme
    Memory (part number)CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9
    Graphics Card #1GeForce GTX 780
    CPU CoolerH110
    CaseAzza Genesis 9000
    Power SupplyUltra 1250 Watt
    OS Windows 7 Home

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    anyone I also Have a 3930k 3.2ghz that I would like some help overclocking the CPU as I have no idea how to raise the Vcore and Voltage together within safe parameters.

    GTX 780
    Rampage 4 extreme Mobo
    Ram Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz (16gbs)
    I7-3930k Sandy Bridge 3.2ghz (3.8 turbo)
    H110 water cooling

    any help would be appreciated, my computer has decided to run a little slower every since I updated the Bios to 4901...

    Thanks

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    855

    Hi, and welcome

    All-in-one water cooling should work great with SB-E and their soldered lids. I could even get to 4.6GHz with a 3960X on air cooling. I normally boot the 3960X under water to 5.0GHz

    Here is one technique:

    Start with everything set to AUTO - clear CMOS is a great way to get there. In BIOS, set core multiplier to 40 and try to boot. The BIOS should make good selections for the various voltages. Vccsa and Vtt are important. Use a monitor program like Aida64 to read them and take notes. Step the core multiplier up - manually in BIOS - let the board boot again and note the voltages. See what automatic voltages work. Mine went all the way up to 5.0GHz, booting with more volts at each step. The voltages you note make great starting points for small adjustments - higher if the CPU needs more stability or lower to get a more power efficient OC.

    Look in the Guides section of the ROG site. There are a few guides on overclocking SandyBridges with the R4E. Those guides can fill in points about other voltages and BIOS settings.

    BIOS 4901 is oriented to Ivy Bridge - the latest and greatest in Extreme Edition CPU that can be used with the R4E. Some have suggested using BIOS numbered in the 3xxx range, before BIOS was updated for IB-E. I use 4901.

    I have found the SB-E to be as limited in DRAM speed as the lore has said. 1600 and 1866 are good speeds and you should be able to overclock the cores with either of those DRAM speeds.

    What is a safe voltage? Here are some of the settings that my AUTO sequence produced: 4.4GHz at 1.38Vcore, 4.6 at 1.42Vcore, 4.8 at 1.47Vcore and 5.0GHz at 1.53Vcore. All of those needed some manual adjustment. I had to raise Vcore to 1.58V to get good stability in benchmarks at 5GHz.

    That said, I have noticed some degradation with Vcore that high. The extra Vcore needed for stability has increased over time. If you're after a relatively long CPU life, I would suggest keeping Vcore below 1.5 and keeping temperatures below 70C. Really watch those temperatures.

    Jeff

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •