Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 79
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    201

    Exclamation G751 How to change the Steam, Shadowplay buttons and Backlight timeout settings

    DISCLAIMER: I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DAMAGES THAT MIGHT OCCUR (THEY NEVER DID UNTIL NOW BUT JUST TO BE SAFE).

    To change the Backlight timeout settings:

    The lazy way:
    1. Download the archive from HERE > https://www.dropbox.com/s/payvik1ibt...light.rar?dl=0
    2. Click Yes
    3. Double click the file with whatever value you want (5,60-default,900 or 999999999 seconds)
    4. Restart your laptop for changes to apply


    The manual way:
    1. You press Windows Key + R and type in regedit
    2. You go to
      HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\ASUS\
    3. Click the ATK Package folder
    4. Look for TurnOffKeybdLight on the right panel
    5. You double click it, switch to Decimal (Hexadecimal by default), and type in after how many seconds you want the keyboard backlight to turn off (60 seconds by default)
    6. Restart your laptop for changes to apply

    Thanks to Ary-Aman for posting this fix.


    EDIT: SEEMS LIKE THIS IS UNNECESSARY AS THE NEWEST VERSION OPENS STEAM IN DESKTOP MODE BY DEFAULT
    To change it so the Steam key opens up Steam in Desktop mode:

    The lazy way (NOT UPDATED ANYMORE, USE THE OTHER METHODS):
    1. Go to
      C:\Program Files (x86)\ASUS\ATK Package\ATK Hotkey
    2. Go to Control Panel and stop HControl.exe (otherwise you can't replace the file for the next step)
    3. Replace the HControl.exe with the one you need that you can find in the archive HERE > https://www.dropbox.com/s/iqbv34w0hc...20Fix.rar?dl=0
    4. Restart your laptop or double click the HControl.exe


    The manual way:
    1. Download a HEX editor, i use HxD
    2. Make a copy of
      C:\Program Files (x86)\ASUS\ATK Package\ATK Hotkey\HControl.exe
    3. Open the copy of HControl.exe with HxD
    4. Search for bigpicture
      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Step 1.jpg 
Views:	2735 
Size:	53.3 KB 
ID:	45684
    5. Replace it with games if you want to open your game library or you can customize it by replacing the path with something else from HERE > https://developer.valvesoftware.com/...owser_protocol
      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Step 2.jpg 
Views:	2676 
Size:	58.5 KB 
ID:	45685
    6. Go to Control Panel and stop HControl.exe (otherwise you can't replace the file for the next step)
    7. Save your changes and replace the executable in the folder from step #2
    8. Restart your laptop or double click the HControl.exe

    Thanks to Xemax for posting this fix.

    How to change Fn Combo,Shadowplay,Steam,ROG buttons guide by Gps3dx: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...l=1#post538722
    Last edited by Rares95; 08-01-2016 at 01:16 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    201

    Updated Thread

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Interesting thing is, that Windows wont let me overwrite said file (to make steam open in desktop mode), stating i have to have administrator privileges. Being the only user, and an administrator, this surprised me.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    201

    That's how Windows 8/8.1 rolls...If you try to modify it directly it will give you an error. You have to make a copy, then modify the copy, then overwrite the original (if you do it manually)

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    That worked indeed. Thanks.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    100

    I deleted the ATKRecHelp.exe file and now the button does nothing. Is there some way to make it open the nvidia control panel?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    201

    I don't really know about that, when i deleted mine, nvidia control panel opened.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    100

    Well, mine just does nothing now...

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    201

    Do you need the exe back?

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    100

    Quote Originally Posted by Rares95 View Post
    Do you need the exe back?
    Nah, I'm good. Thanks though.

    Would never use it anyways. Would be sweet to open the nvpanel with it though.

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •