Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array 1ceTr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    322

    Brand new Hero Vii owner. What settings should I tweak in BIOS for stable stock?

    Hey all, I'm a proud and excited owner to finally retire my good and reliable mATX Gene-Z Gen2 and upgrading to a 4790k setup with a sexy new Hero VII mobo.

    I do plan on overclocking but I wanna make sure everything is stable before I attempt going that route again with this new set up. Are their any pariticular settings I should change in the huge BIOS that would be optimal or better then what comes outta the factory?

    Also, is there a particular BIOS version I should say away from?



    Last edited by 1ceTr0n; 01-18-2015 at 01:16 AM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Steelseries Prime+
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,437

    Hello 1ceTr0n

    If you're running at stock settings there is no need to mess with any settings. Asus designers/programmers have done a great job with the settings and at stock you can pretty much let everything on auto. The only thing you will have to do is set your ram either by X.M.P. or with manual settings.

    I will say this, at stock settings your 4790k is probably getting a little over volted but nothing to worry about.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Puffnstuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    451

    Yes the stock settings are fine and congrats on buying a quality board.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array 1ceTr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    322

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hello 1ceTr0n

    If you're running at stock settings there is no need to mess with any settings. Asus designers/programmers have done a great job with the settings and at stock you can pretty much let everything on auto. The only thing you will have to do is set your ram either by X.M.P. or with manual settings.

    I will say this, at stock settings your 4790k is probably getting a little over volted but nothing to worry about.

    I obviously wont' be using onboard audio or video so I will be disabling them. Should I just go ahead and set mem to run 2400mhz out of box or should I start running at the CPU's mem controller default 1600mhz? Think I should go into voltage settings and change anything or you just saying the CPU will run warmer then normal on stock?

    Is there a guide to help me get caught up in changes with the UEFI BIOS'es? I'm somewhat familiar with my Maximum Gene-Z but its been awhile and I dont' think I can even find the XMP profile section on how I oveclocked it now lol. I"m game for any links that will help me get caught up.

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Steelseries Prime+
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,437

    To use X.M.P. go to the extreme tweaker tab and set the ai overclock tuner to X.M.P., F10 and Enter and you're done. The speed timings and voltage will be set automatically or you can do it manually.

    There are no guides for the maximus VII boards but you can take a look at the maximus VI guides, they're very similar in features.


    overclocking guide

    http://rog.asus.com/242142013/labels...-overclocking/

    Bios guide

    http://rog.asus.com/254052013/maximu...-motherboards/

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Squall_Rinoa89 PC Specs
    Squall_Rinoa89 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Hero Wifi
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX4M4D3600C18 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080 Ti SC Black Edition 11G-P4-6393-KR
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080 Ti SC Black Edition 11G-P4-6393-KR
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster Recon 3D
    MonitorAcer 21.5" LED S220HQL / ASUS PB278Q 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 860 Evo PRO 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
    CPU CoolerEvga 280 CLC AIO
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF 932 ADVANCED
    Power SupplyEvga 1300G2 SuperNOVA 1300W Full modular
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Cherry MX
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Turtle be X07 PRO
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z 506 5.1 75W
    OS Windows 10 PRO

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    114

    Quote Originally Posted by 1ceTr0n View Post
    Hey all, I'm a proud and excited owner to finally retire my good and reliable mATX Gene-Z Gen2 and upgrading to a 4790k setup with a sexy new Hero VII mobo.

    I do plan on overclocking but I wanna make sure everything is stable before I attempt going that route again with this new set up. Are their any pariticular settings I should change in the huge BIOS that would be optimal or better then what comes outta the factory?

    Also, is there a particular BIOS version I should say away from?




    What sound card is that?
    Lian Li 011 Dynamic White Case
    Intel Core i9 Coffee lake 9900K @ 5.1GHz
    ASUS Maximus XI Hero WIFI LGA 1151 Z390
    Corsair DDR4 Corsair Dominator 32GB (4x8GB) 3600MHz CAS 18
    2x EVGA nVidia EVGA 1080 TI SC BLACK Edition
    EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 PSU
    1x 256GB SAMSUNG 860PRO SSD
    2x 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
    1x WD BLACK 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA Hard Drive (6.0Gb/s)

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array koroziv PC Specs
    koroziv PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus VII hero
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Memory (part number)2X4 gb ddr3 at 1866
    Graphics Card #1gigabyte g1 gtx970
    CPU CoolerCM 212 hyper evo
    OS win 8.1 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    89

    Actually the default settings in bios are bad; they maxed out all values for stable oc, resulting in higher temps.
    Bug in bios :
    Turbo boost power max and turbo bost short power max values are multiplied by 8; in order to get 88W and 112W (intel specs, default are maxed to 4096W) I have to input 8 and 14. I read the values from windows with intel xtu.
    Also current limit is maxed to 1023A, I only need 256A to avoid throttling.
    The multipliers are all set to x44, default intel are :
    x44-one core used
    x44-2 cores used
    x43-3 cores used
    x42-4 cores used
    You can also use an lower vcore voltage, you will have to find the one that is best for you.
    I have lowered my temps by at least 10 Celsius using the above settings; stable while gaming and intel burn test maximum stress test.
    Edit : I wish i had the money for a 980, but the 970 is good enough for now; I use the cm 212 hyper evo cooler, 26-30 idle 81 max in stress tests, 50-55 while gaming bf4 ultra detail 1080p.
    Also my system is missing that black cat, I guess that is the most precious component
    Last edited by koroziv; 01-18-2015 at 05:13 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array 1ceTr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    322

    Quote Originally Posted by koroziv View Post
    Actually the default settings in bios are bad; they maxed out all values for stable oc, resulting in higher temps.
    Bug in bios :
    Turbo boost power max and turbo bost short power max values are multiplied by 8; in order to get 88W and 112W (intel specs, default are maxed to 4096W) I have to input 8 and 14. I read the values from windows with intel xtu.
    Also current limit is maxed to 1023A, I only need 256A to avoid throttling.
    The multipliers are all set to x44, default intel are :
    x44-one core used
    x44-2 cores used
    x43-3 cores used
    x42-4 cores used
    You can also use an lower vcore voltage, you will have to find the one that is best for you.
    I have lowered my temps by at least 10 Celsius using the above settings; stable while gaming and intel burn test maximum stress test.
    Edit : I wish i had the money for a 980, but the 970 is good enough for now; I use the cm 212 hyper evo cooler, 26-30 idle 81 max in stress tests, 50-55 while gaming bf4 ultra detail 1080p.
    Also my system is missing that black cat, I guess that is the most precious component

    I'm confused and the simple days of overclocking with my Sandy Bridge with a few clicks on the Asus UEFI are gone now. I guess these new Devils Canyons are specced to only turbo boost one core to 4.6ghz? What has been the typical approach for people to overclock these things then? Do we enable Turboboost on all cores first and try to raise them multiplier? People are saying that the higher FSB of the DDR3 like mine that goes to 2400mhz has to be down clocked to 1866mhz to attempt overclocking the CPU nowadays?

    Man, i'm just overloaded with questions and too much information to sort through on this new setup

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array koroziv PC Specs
    koroziv PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus VII hero
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Memory (part number)2X4 gb ddr3 at 1866
    Graphics Card #1gigabyte g1 gtx970
    CPU CoolerCM 212 hyper evo
    OS win 8.1 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    89

    Keeping all cores at turbo x44 (default setting on MB) is already some minor OC that requires more juice but nothing like the default settings.
    For OC you have some guides around here, I only recommend to keep the voltages on a short lease, do not let them at default values, that resulting in very high temperatures . Not sure if you can go on air cooling safely past 4.6 Ghz.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array 1ceTr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    322

    Quote Originally Posted by koroziv View Post
    Keeping all cores at turbo x44 (default setting on MB) is already some minor OC that requires more juice but nothing like the default settings.
    For OC you have some guides around here, I only recommend to keep the voltages on a short lease, do not let them at default values, that resulting in very high temperatures . Not sure if you can go on air cooling safely past 4.6 Ghz.
    All I know is that with XMP, I'm seeing 1.25v on the cpu via CPUZ when the cpu is being decently used. Beyond that, I am in unknown waters

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •