cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Battlefield 3 and Overclocking questions.

Mistergone
Level 7
Ok so I have a couple questions but they all revolve around getting the best performance out of BF3 (brilliant game btw). So I have the G73 with the GeForce 460M card and I've been running BF3 on a mix of a few medium settings and a bunch of high, I get about 25-30fps on average which is playable enough but I'm always hoping for more :D.

I started playing around with GPU-Tweak and notice that on stock settings during normal gameplay my card runs around 85-88 deg C, now that seems kind of warm to me but the fans are running fine and I've made sure there isn't any dust/gunk blocking the venting and from what I can tell these cards are pretty good at handling heat (not sure if that's true or not but I haven't been able to find much info on the 460M's). Now after playing around a bit I've set the core at 796 Mhz and the memory at 2600 (from the stock 675 Mhz and 2500), I'm getting mid 30's up to 40fps now I haven't run into any artifacting and the GPU temp jumps to about 90-93 deg C, Now that seems really hot (only 5-7 deg more then standard) but the laptop doesn't feel overly warm and the fan isn't even running at full power so I'm thinking its within acceptable operating temp.

So I guess I'm just wondering if anyone has suggestions on either BF3 tricks or tricks for the 460M cards, should I focus more on CPU tweaking? I've read about RCtweakit but I haven't been able to find it for download and I freely admit I'm not overly knowledgeable on laptop overclocking. Until I know a bit more I'll probably leave the settings alone, I'd hate to fuck up my system for just a few more fps.
2 REPLIES 2

JRd1st
Level 12
Try the nvidia 285.64, look in my nVidia sticky. Also go to TWeaKFoRCe.CoM and see what they say. Tell them I sent you.
Read the User's Manual for more info. 😄

G74SX-A1 BIOS 203
Intel 6230 WiFi/BT
LG E2350 LED LCD Monitor