Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Use Nvidia for Laptop Display instead of Intel

    Current condition

    Title says it all.
    I have already gone into "manage 3d settings" and set the nvidia card as the default for games; however, I can't use it for the laptop display.
    Help plz.

    Also already tried going into BIOS but there is no chipset option to disable intel.

    My laptop model is G750JZ-DS71

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Serzet View Post
    Current condition

    Title says it all.
    I have already gone into "manage 3d settings" and set the nvidia card as the default for games; however, I can't use it for the laptop display.
    Help plz.
    Also already tried going into BIOS but there is no chipset option to disable intel.
    My laptop model is G750JZ-DS71
    Serzet, the little graphic is telling you that the output of the Intel GPU is feeding the Display - and it is correct. You can't change that. The same for the external displays.

    The only thing you can change is where the rendering occurs, sometimes it does it automatically, sometimes you need to use the 3D settings to fix the usage to the Nvidia GPU, sometimes you can't change the rendering to the Nvidia GPU and the rendering and video output handling is all done via the Intel GPU.

    Even though rendering can be done on the Nvidia GPU, all of the display handling - resolution / refresh / color balance / brightness / contrast / etc are all done through the Intel GPU and Intel GPU Control panel.

    It is a physical wiring thing, not a software thing. The output of the Intel GPU is directly connected to the internal / external display. In some other Optimus implementations you can switch using Nvidia or Intel/Optimus.

    If you can still return your G750JZ, you can get the G751JT/JY/JL - all new ROG laptops without Optimus. Or, you could get a nice used G750JW/JX/JH - those ROG laptops don't hve Optimus either.

    The new G750JY has Optimus.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    88

    Does this mean we can't play games with the dedicated gpu on external display?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by hmscott View Post
    Serzet, the little graphic is telling you that the output of the Intel GPU is feeding the Display - and it is correct. You can't change that. The same for the external displays.

    The only thing you can change is where the rendering occurs, sometimes it does it automatically, sometimes you need to use the 3D settings to fix the usage to the Nvidia GPU, sometimes you can't change the rendering to the Nvidia GPU and the rendering and video output handling is all done via the Intel GPU.

    Even though rendering can be done on the Nvidia GPU, all of the display handling - resolution / refresh / color balance / brightness / contrast / etc are all done through the Intel GPU and Intel GPU Control panel.

    It is a physical wiring thing, not a software thing. The output of the Intel GPU is directly connected to the internal / external display. In some other Optimus implementations you can switch using Nvidia or Intel/Optimus.

    If you can still return your G750JZ, you can get the G751JT/JY/JL - all new ROG laptops without Optimus. Or, you could get a nice used G750JW/JX/JH - those ROG laptops don't hve Optimus either.

    The new G750JY has Optimus.

    is it possible to change the physical wiring to make it so the display is connected to the Nvidia card?
    Last edited by Serzet; 01-20-2015 at 04:43 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Serzet View Post
    is it possible to change the physical wiring to make it so the display is connected to the Nvidia card?
    Serzet, no.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by beatc View Post
    Does this mean we can't play games with the dedicated gpu on external display?
    beatc, you can play games that support switching from the Intel GPU to the Nvidia GPU, on either internal or external displays.

    But, all the display controls are through the Intel GPU - as the video outputs are all through the Intel GPU.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by hmscott View Post

    Even though rendering can be done on the Nvidia GPU, all of the display handling - resolution / refresh / color balance / brightness / contrast / etc are all done through the Intel GPU and Intel GPU Control panel.
    What does this mean in the end? Does it mean that the gameplay is worst and that it could be better without Optimus? Why have they done that?

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array RAM-disk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    The patients running the asylum, in other words it's the clueless hipster crowd taking over.
    "Ram disk" is not an installation procedure !!!

  9. #9
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,472

    Quote Originally Posted by RAM-disk View Post
    The patients running the asylum, in other words it's the clueless hipster crowd taking over.
    Do you have anything constructive to add to the discussion? If not, don't thread crap. This is a customer forum where customers talk among themselves. If you don't like that you don't have to stay.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  10. #10
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,472

    Quote Originally Posted by merceg100 View Post
    What does this mean in the end? Does it mean that the gameplay is worst and that it could be better without Optimus? Why have they done that?
    Optimus should utilize the Nvidia GPU for games and it goes to sleep when not needed. It's a power optimization feature. There have been bugs where Optimus didn't work as intended so new driver releases have fixes. If you find a specific issue then keep looking for driver updates until a fix is released. For the most part you should see it working correctly and performance will be comparable to a dedicated GPU. Also remember that mobile GPUs are the performance equivalent of a low end desktop GPU so some games will not run on high settings on a laptop.
    Last edited by xeromist; 01-24-2015 at 12:43 AM.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •