Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    G751JY randomly opening Start Menu [solved]

    Ever since I got my G751JY, once every 1-2 hours, the start menu would randomly open. It is impossible that the start menu button would be pressed, because there is nothing near the keyboard when this happens. I have searched for this problem everywhere, but I can't find anything.

    I have not installed anything on it other than the normal drivers for the hardware. I also have Windows 8.1.

    If anyone has any suggestion or solution, it would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Same problem here on my G751JM. It'll happen during video play back, web browsing, and (most regrettably) during gameplay. No solution I have found yet. So far I just assumed it was an 8.1 quirk and made it a habit of becoming a ninja at pressing superkey and getting myself back to wherever I was.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    2,226

    Not sure if this will help, but if you're using the touchpad when it happens and it seems related, try disabling some of the touchpad 'edge sensitivity' features as mentioned in the first item "Subject: Win8 Games Randomly Minimizing while using Touchpad" of the sticky thread below from the G750 section.
    Hope it's okay to refer the 'collection' of threads.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...elated-Threads

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by cl-Albert View Post
    Not sure if this will help, but if you're using the touchpad when it happens and it seems related, try disabling some of the touchpad 'edge sensitivity' features as mentioned in the first item "Subject: Win8 Games Randomly Minimizing while using Touchpad" of the sticky thread below from the G750 section.
    Hope it's okay to refer the 'collection' of threads.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...elated-Threads
    Good tip sir, thank you! I had thought about this, but wasn't sure how to go about troubleshooting it. As I was responding to an earlier post I lifted my hands completely off the keyboard and touchpad to review my written message, within a matter of seconds I coincidently watched my G751 enter Start Menu as I was in IE browser. I don't believe it's a touchpad error now.

    Hahaha, perhaps we're controlling our computers via cranial synaptic Bluetooth! I wonder if MS has a driver for that...
    Last edited by Happyllama; 01-23-2015 at 10:10 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Locosanctus View Post
    Ever since I got my G751JY, once every 1-2 hours, the start menu would randomly open. It is impossible that the start menu button would be pressed, because there is nothing near the keyboard when this happens. I have searched for this problem everywhere, but I can't find anything.

    I have not installed anything on it other than the normal drivers for the hardware. I also have Windows 8.1.

    If anyone has any suggestion or solution, it would be appreciated.
    Hello ,

    The solution is delete the Asus Power saver.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I don't know about that. I had no such thing installed on my PC, nor did I find anything of the sort while searching online.

    I did however uninstall the Asus Screen Saver and it seems that that was the problem. It's working fine now.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    I wanted to say Asus Screen Saver . But you did find it. So ,the problem is fix.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Qosmio View Post
    I wanted to say Asus Screen Saver . But you did find it. So ,the problem is fix.
    Yeah, I had a feeling Thank you

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •