Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Exclamation PC Won't boot with graphics card installed.

    Specs:
    ASUS Maximus VI formula BIOS Version: 1603 (American Megatrends Inc.)
    ASUS GTX 680 DirectCU II
    Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3
    Corsair Hydro Series H10
    Intel i7 4790k @ 4.0GHz
    Corsair RM650 PSU

    Info: I'm using HDMI for my video out and a Samsung 32" C450 LCD TV
    (LE32C450E1W)
    I get video output and it posts, boots goes into the OS using the Intel chipset but when I put the GPU in any of the PCI-E slots and
    the PCI-E power cables into the card and boot the system, I get error code: b6 and it doesn't post.
    I don't know if my card is faulty or what?, both of the green lights come on my card telling my I've plugged the power in correctly
    and both fans on GPU spin up, I've tried replacing the thermal paste on the GPU stripping it cleaning the dust out etc. since it has been sitting for a while. I will try the GPU on another system at my College on Monday, but I'd prefer not to. I've tried clearing the CMOS using the button on the back, disabling fast boot and pressing the directkey button. I've tried booting with 1 DIMM, I've tried booting with DIMM's in different channels etc. but still no boot with the GPU, any help would be appreciated, thanks.

    Please don't comment on the cable management at the moment, I'm just trying to get it to work and I have no idea about the PCI-E connections they look like they're for SLI but they're the only ones I have in the box and my card has 1 6pin PCIE port and 1 8pin PCIE port, I have also tried using molex adapters to power the GPU to no avail.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos PCI-E Connections.jpg  

    Motherboard.jpg  


  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=eFrqewvA
    If It's any good to you, here is the CPU-Z Report.

  3. #3
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hello ElectricCowboy and welcome

    Those are the correct cables and you want to connect both the 6 pin and 8 pin (6+2).

    Your psu is fully modular, make sure you have the pcie cables connected to the proper outlets on your psu.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array wa3pnt PC Specs
    wa3pnt PC Specs
    MotherboardFormulas VII
    Processori7-4790
    Graphics Card #1Poseidon
    MonitorPlanar 27" Touch & Sony 27"
    Storage #1Intel 500GB SSD
    Storage #2(3) Intel 250GB SSDs
    CPU CoolerWater
    CaseCL S8
    Power SupplyRM1000
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterNumerous Netgear
    wa3pnt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    It's hard to tell from the pictures, but it appears that there is no power being supplied to the EATX12V-1 and EATX12V-2 connectors at the top left of the Motherboard.

    These are item 3 in the manual on page 1-7.

    RodeoGeorge

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    I don't have enough cables to power both slots, one is a 4 pin and one is an 8 pin and i only have 2 4 pin connectors I currently have one of the 4pins in EATX12v_2 and it's working but only on the chipset.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    your psu should have 4 pci-e cables, look with your cables again.

    You should have two 2+6 pin PCI - E cables.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Nooooo, I'm talking about the connectors at the top of the board referencing, wa3pnt

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    If you are referring to the cpu power cables it seems you have the 8 pin cpu power connected. I don't think your psu comes with an extra 4 pin cpu power cable so you might want to remove what you have in there.

    The 4 pin is only needed for extreme overclocking.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Yeah it comes with 2 4 pin CPU power cables only but I only have one in, is that right?

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Yes, your 2+4 pin is your 8 pin cpu power cable.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •