Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Lance Rohwedder PC Specs
    Lance Rohwedder PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V
    Processori7-5930K
    Memory (part number)32gb Crucial Ballistic Sport
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 970 4gb DDR5
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 970 4gb DDR5
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 27"
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 240gb Pro
    Storage #2Seagate 7200 RPM 2tb
    CPU CoolerCorsiar H100I GTX Liquid Cooler
    CaseRosewill Throne (Windowed)
    Power SupplyRosewill 1000W Bronze Cert
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Mad Catz Rat 9
    Headset Astro A50
    OS Windows Ten Pro
    Network RouterAsus AC 2400

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Exclamation Help "overclock failed" but I am not overclocking. Ramage V, i7-5930k

    Hello I am new to the ROG world and just about a month ago built a computer with the following stats. Rampage V motherboard, i7-5930k proc, 16th ddr4 crucial ballistic 2400, nvidea gtx 770 2gb ddr5, 750 rosewill gold psu, cooler master gts v8, samsung pro 240gb ssd and 1 tb 7200 Seagate hd all in side a rosewill throne full atx tower. Ok so I have had problems pretty much since first built it. I got 90% of them figures out but I still get
    overclocking failed on boot sometimes when I have never touched the overclocking features or messed with it. But I do the the overclocking panel plugged in on normal mode to see my fan speed and cpu temp. Please help it is driving me nuts!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    855

    Hi Lance Rohwedder, and welcome

    BIOS says "Overclocking Failed" any time it has trouble booting, whether overclocking is done or not. When overclock is not done, it can mean that one or more of the defaults isn't sufficient for stock operation. That's common with Haswell-E, particularly with Vccsa. Try increasing Vccsa in BIOS by .02 to .05 volts.

    Jeff

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    1. What version BIOS are you running?

    2. Is your system overclocked?

    3. Have you overclocked your system?

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Lance Rohwedder PC Specs
    Lance Rohwedder PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V
    Processori7-5930K
    Memory (part number)32gb Crucial Ballistic Sport
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 970 4gb DDR5
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 970 4gb DDR5
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 27"
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 240gb Pro
    Storage #2Seagate 7200 RPM 2tb
    CPU CoolerCorsiar H100I GTX Liquid Cooler
    CaseRosewill Throne (Windowed)
    Power SupplyRosewill 1000W Bronze Cert
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Mad Catz Rat 9
    Headset Astro A50
    OS Windows Ten Pro
    Network RouterAsus AC 2400

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Ok so I am pretty noobie at overclocking terms. I couldn't find the Vcssa but I did not find it, I found simaliar titles but no match. As for the 2 reply I have never
    overclocked to my knowledge. Also I belive my bios is 706. I tried the new one but it just gave me error code fa and had to reset. I would tell ya for sure but I am at work sorry. Thanks for all th3 quick replys.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array 1sthurricane PC Specs
    1sthurricane PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus x99 Deluxe
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)Gskill Ripjaws DDR4 -F42800C16Q16G-16 gigs
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 Superclocked
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX980 Superclocked
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift
    Storage #1Samsung 850PRO 512 SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 850PRO 256 SSD
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X61 280mm
    CaseCorsair Airflow540 Artic White
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G-19
    Mouse Logitech Proteus
    Headset Logitech G430
    OS Windows 8.1 (W7 Classic shell)
    Network RouterNetgear AC1900 Nighthawk
    1sthurricane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Had the same error on my new x99 Deluxe/5930 build.Just got her booted up and running everything at stock levels, had a system crash,then the error.It has happened a couple of times.Will pay attention to this thread to see what develops.I wonder if it is a "Haswell' prob.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Lance Rohwedder PC Specs
    Lance Rohwedder PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V
    Processori7-5930K
    Memory (part number)32gb Crucial Ballistic Sport
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 970 4gb DDR5
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 970 4gb DDR5
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 27"
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 240gb Pro
    Storage #2Seagate 7200 RPM 2tb
    CPU CoolerCorsiar H100I GTX Liquid Cooler
    CaseRosewill Throne (Windowed)
    Power SupplyRosewill 1000W Bronze Cert
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Mad Catz Rat 9
    Headset Astro A50
    OS Windows Ten Pro
    Network RouterAsus AC 2400

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Ya from what I have found it is just "not ready" yet, I imagine as drivers progress and drivers everything will become better, but if anyone has any more ideas please tell us.
    Thanks Lance

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •