Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Asus G20 video card upgrade uptions

    I got a G20 at BB at the end of November and I wanted some extra GPU power. Would the new Asus gtx 960 fit in my G20? It has a GTX 750 in it now, and I have both power supplies so that will not be an issue. OR is their another Asus card that would fit and be a better value?

    http://www.amazon.com/Asus-STRIX-GTX...ywords=gtx+960

    Thanks for the help!

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...G-G20-Overhaul
    there is a guy that upgraded the 760 to a 980 not sure if you came across this post
    did you get both powersuplies along with the computer ? i only got the 1 with my 750

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Quote Originally Posted by Fatboy9 View Post
    I got a G20 at BB at the end of November and I wanted some extra GPU power. Would the new Asus gtx 960 fit in my G20? It has a GTX 750 in it now, and I have both power supplies so that will not be an issue. OR is their another Asus card that would fit and be a better value?

    http://www.amazon.com/Asus-STRIX-GTX...ywords=gtx+960

    Thanks for the help!
    In my opinion, using GPUs with not reference cooler would increase the temperature inside the G20 chassis. There are not really a lot of open space for cooling so I would recommend using reference GPUs, just to make sure that you don't damage other components due to overheating.

    This reference 960 would work
    http://www.amazon.com/MSI-GTX-960-2G...ywords=gtx+960

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by doeboydk View Post
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...G-G20-Overhaul
    there is a guy that upgraded the 760 to a 980 not sure if you came across this post
    did you get both powersuplies along with the computer ? i only got the 1 with my 750
    I only got one as well, but my buddy got the model with both power supplies so i took the model # off of it, and ordered a DELTA OEM one from Amazon. Thanks for tthe suggestion as well.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by zhangyifu View Post
    In my opinion, using GPUs with not reference cooler would increase the temperature inside the G20 chassis. There are not really a lot of open space for cooling so I would recommend using reference GPUs, just to make sure that you don't damage other components due to overheating.

    This reference 960 would work
    http://www.amazon.com/MSI-GTX-960-2G...ywords=gtx+960
    I will be sticking with a refrence model then, the MSI looks like it would be a good choice. Thank you for your assistance.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    No problem. Interested in doing a upgrade tutorial video on this?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Fry's was out of refrence model, tried smaller size Gigayte card - it did not sit right and had driver recognition problems. I did switch the jumper by the power inputs and that allowed the nvidia drivers to recognize- but would not function- windows kept reporting errors in device manager. Confirmed the 750 was stll working waiting on reference 960 from Amazon. Might pick up a refrence 760/770/970 from BB since buddy wants a new card and I can experiment with his permission. Will keep update and post findings. Any suggestions still appreciated.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    74
    Posts
    2,425


  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I follow that thread, it is quite excellent. Thanks for the link. I made this thread to try and get a suggestion or help on a gtx 960. FYI, 760 and 960 are possible upgrades to the one power supply g20 model as long as you switch a jumper setting and get the right Power Brick.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array newraze PC Specs
    newraze PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula-Z
    ProcessorAmd FX 9590
    Memory (part number)PV38G213C1K, 08G-D3-2133-MR, AX3U2400W4G11-DMV, & CMZ16GX3M2A1866C10
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1060 6GB Xtreme Edition
    Storage #1Toshiba P300 1TB 7.2K RPM Performance Drive
    CPU CoolerLepa Aquachanger 120 in push/pull
    CaseNZXT Phantom 530
    Power SupplyHigh Power 700W 80+, EVGA 500W 80+, EVGA Supernova 1000W P2
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 build 1709

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Has anyone tried replacing the gtx 760 that comes in the g20 with a reference or aftermarket amd radeon r9 290x? Cause I want to try putting in a amd radeon fury once it comes out and was wondering if that would work or not.
    Last edited by newraze; 06-18-2015 at 01:23 AM.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •