Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Phoebus 7.1 or 5.1 headphone output

    Hi,
    Is there a way to make the operating system determine headphone output as a 7.1 or 5.1 instead of 2.0? All games define my sound card headphone output as 2.0.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Nope, with the newest Version of the Audio driver this is not possible. If you use an older Version of the Driver, the Headphone Surround mode on the Phoebus UI actually sets the Windows output to 7.1. Using this Surround Simulation you won´t be able to use Dolby HT4. I hope Asus gives us this option to put Windows into 7.1 mode in Driver releases in the future.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Such a good sound card with such a huge disadvantage.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Aslong as there is a surround sound option Ingame the Phoebus is able to use that Stream for Surround Simulation. But many games just look at the Windows Sound Setting and then only use Stereo Sound.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Yeah, Asus basically killed the Phoebus with the latest drivers.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    272

    Yep, i can confirm. The new surround works great in games that let you select the output, but games with autodetect (who the heck came up with the idea?) default to stereo...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •