Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    heya folk,

    i fixed that overheating for my 4790k!

    Installed 1600mhz Ram that running with 1.35v instead of 2400 with 1.65v. Since that i can run Prime95(28.5) without hitting 80C(before 100C with throttle). The power consumption dont pass 6watt now, before i it was over 30w under load.

    And i dont think there is any reason to fear power drain, because its doesnt matter if you use memory with 7.5 nanoseconds or with 10ns latency.
    Typically industrial liars.

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array koroziv PC Specs
    koroziv PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus VII hero
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Memory (part number)2X4 gb ddr3 at 1866
    Graphics Card #1gigabyte g1 gtx970
    CPU CoolerCM 212 hyper evo
    OS win 8.1 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    89

    I'm surprised that lower voltage ram gives such a big difference in cpu temp.

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    442

    I was struggling to keep my 4970k below 80C under full 8-thread 100% load with an H100i. It was very stable, but the heat concerned me. I had the fans and pump speed pegged at those temps and it was annoying to hear it moan with any blip in load taking it to 65-68C

    I will need to go look at the settings this thread suggests, but in my case, it was simply a matter of setting the core and cache voltage to something other than auto.

    I set them both to 1.3 and then walked down to 1.290 to find the minimum to remain stable.

    4.8GHz Core @1.290v
    4.6GHz Cache @1.290v

    Peak temps are now 72-73C under 8 thread 100% load and ~65C for 4 thread 100% load. Real compute jobs doing actual work are typically more like 45-50C - it runs quite cool now - on par with my 5930.

    It seems auto is downright dangerous when you get up there in clock speeds. I am running linux on this machine, so I don't know how high it got.
    Last edited by cekim; 08-31-2015 at 08:56 PM.

  4. #24
    ROG Member Array skyler.jacobs PC Specs
    skyler.jacobs PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus VII Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7-4770k
    Memory (part number)HX321C11T3K2/16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX780 SC 6GB
    Storage #1Samsung 840 EVO 250 GB SSD
    Storage #2WD Caviar Black 1TB HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair 760T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth 2014
    Mouse Razer Naga 2012
    Headset Razer Pro 7.1
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterASUS AC68

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Very interesting find guys. Wondering if this would work for my 4770k??

  5. #25
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    The settings? idk^^

    To replace your current RAM or reducing your timings/voltage should work

  6. #26
    ROG Enthusiast Array LordofPressure PC Specs
    LordofPressure PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)normal PC
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core I7-4790K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX3M2A2133C9 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1GTX 770 Vendor=Gigabyte, name=Windforce3x
    MonitorDell U2410
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerEnermax Liqmax II 240
    CaseSharkoon Big Tower
    Power SupplyEnermax Platimax 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech
    Mouse LogiLink optical usb
    OS Windows 7 64bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    hello digmeahole1 and all other users,
    you have an vii formula mobo , i have vii hero (you can see in my specs).
    is this valid to set it on my mobo? i has never looked at this. my i7-4790K runs in default-mode with 4 ghz and turbo 4,4 Ghz. i changed from air-cooling to
    water-cooling (liqmax II 240). my Temps on cpu (main temp) are not so high i thing , at 69-70 degrees @ full.
    i can test it again, i not mind about the settings. maybe i should control the mobo-settings, but its not funny when you can't confide asus ,that they
    have made correct default settings

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Margus PC Specs
    Margus PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus hero VII
    Processor4790K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GXM2A2400C10
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4g
    Sound CardSB Recon 3D
    MonitorBENQ 2411Z
    Storage #1samsung 850 evo
    CPU CoolerLIQMAX 2 240
    Power SupplySeasonic X Platinum 1050w
    OS Windows 10 HOME

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    86

    to me its helped nice

  8. #28
    ROG Member Array gmariust PC Specs
    gmariust PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z97 GENE VII
    ProcessorIntel I7-4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB-Kit G.Skill Ares PC3-12800U CL9
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 970 OC Edition
    MonitorAsus PA328Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO 512GB
    Storage #2WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 120
    CaseSilverstone SG-09
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-850
    Keyboard Cherry MX 3.0
    Mouse Logitech Proteus G502
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus AC68U

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hello, after one year I stumbled also on this thread. I was curious about these settings and I've tried them and the results are a bit mixed for me.
    While indeed now the temps at 4.4 GHz do not go over 35-37 C, the pc now feels sluggish, and much slower . For example with all settings as till now on AUTO
    at login the rotating dots took one rotation and it was in desktop, now it takes at least 5 complete rotations to reach desktop. Any ideas?
    Best Regards
    M.

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    164

    You need to verify that your bios have this flaw. My first thought is that you've entered these values in a bios which doesn't have the multipliers and your cpu is constantly throttling. Which is exactly what will happen if you set the TDP numbers to low.
    Asus ROG G55VW:
    CPU: i7 3630QM
    GFX: Geforce GTX660M with 2GB ram
    RAM: 2x8Gb 2133MHz Kingston HyperX Impact (surprisingly the G55VW uses the 2133 X.M.P. profile)
    Storage: RAID0 with 2x 256Gb Crucial SSDs (both msata, one in a sata adapter)
    OS: Windows 10 x64

  10. #30
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I have finally found this and my pc can finally boot into windows.
    Finally after about 6 months thnx
    Last edited by Spy 1; 05-31-2017 at 03:18 AM.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •