Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: BIOS Loop....

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    BIOS Loop....

    Hello. I have a ASUS Rampage V Extreme motherboard that worked fine!
    Recently, I replaced the harddisks and now Windows 8.1 won't boot anymore from the SSD !!!???
    The problem is the BIOS is ALWAYS loading when I reset....
    I tried to disable the harddisks, load setup default the BIOS etc BUT the BIOS keeps loading !!!

    Can anyone help please??

    Thanks in advance!!

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,631

    Hello Edwin452

    Have you set your ssd with the os on it as the first boot device?

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Yes, sorry that's not the problem!! And I forgot to say I just flashed the latest BIOS update too. But I got no error message or so. Just the BIOS keep always loading automatic..

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,631

    if it's booting to the bios that would indicate there is no os installed on your ssd.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Before we replaced the harddisks everything worked fine! And we never touched the SSD. Once again, the SSD is the first bootable device
    It's a very strange problem.... With other motherboards when no OS is installed you always get an error!! But there is NO error here! Just the BIOS keeps booting?

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,631

    All right try this:

    Remove your new hdd's from your system and only boot with the ssd that has the os on it. If it boots, shut it down and add one hdd then try booting.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Hmmm thanks again for your help!!!! :-) But we tried that already but no luck! Just the BIOS keeps BOOTING like you press DEL... That's the reason why we post a message here. Because we don't know anymore what to do...

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    List your complete system specifications as detailed as possible. Also specify the models of the previous hard disks you replaced and the models of the new ones.

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,631

    As Chino says listing what drives you have might help us help you better.

    When it boots to the bios what code is the motherboard showing?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •