Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    EATX 12_1 and EATX 12_2

    Hello. So, the question is: I see that there are two CPU power plugs, an 8pin and a 4pin.
    Question: Should I be plugging in both?

    I am asking this, because I get random shutdown/reboot problems. I was testing my 4.3ghz settings today, and 4h in -I get a shutdown/reboot with event log just saying sudden power loss.
    PSU was pulled from my working rig a few days ago, when I got my new parts.


    Also: before you will point to me that it is stupid to use 2 different ram kits, because they are not tested in tandem by the manufacturer etc -> I've tested with one kit, and got the same issue with shutdown/restart. Took the OC down, and tested all kits with memtest, and no issues on their own, or together in 2-kit pair. + I will run them at 2666 speeds, so I will take this horrible risk. Memkits should cause bsods at their worst or boot-refusal, not a sudden shutdown/reboot, at least not that I've ever seen before.

    System specs:
    i7 5930k
    RVE
    2 kits for 4x4gb Geil ddr4 3000
    4x r9 290x
    LEPA G1600 PSU
    1x intel 320 40gb ssd
    1x PNY 120gb ssd
    1x Caviarl Black HDD 1tb
    1x Samsung F3 1tb
    2x MCP 655 pumps
    bunch or fans
    2x 360 rads + 1x 1080 rad.


    P.S. thanks for your advices in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    1. Yes, please populate both the 8 pin and 4 pin power headers.

    2. Make sure your motherboard is running the latest 1001 BIOS. If not, download the BIOS file onto a fresh FAST32 formatted USB pendrive and update through the EZ Flash Utility in the BIOS.

    3. And yes. Combining memory kits can cause sudden shutdowns. Use one kit for now.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    1. Yes, please populate both the 8 pin and 4 pin power headers.

    2. Make sure your motherboard is running the latest 1001 BIOS. If not, download the BIOS file onto a fresh FAST32 formatted USB pendrive and update through the EZ Flash Utility in the BIOS.

    3. And yes. Combining memory kits can cause sudden shutdowns. Use one kit for now.
    1. Thanks. Done. Put it to the test right now.

    2. Already did. Thanks.

    3. Really ? Well, the systems is running OCCT right now, so, we'll see. If I get another shutdown (hopefully not), I'll retry with one kit.
    Is that more related to x99 chipset than to others? Because I've never seen or even heard of sudden shutdowns due to ram.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array MrLomax PC Specs
    MrLomax PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus x99 Rampage V Extreme - Sockel 2011-V
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-5930K - 3.5 GHz - Sockel 2011-V3
    Memory (part number)DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 8x4 2133 c15
    Graphics Card #1980 strix
    Monitorrog swift 27" 144Hz
    Storage #1samsung evo 8xx 1tb
    Storage #2samsung evo 8xx 1tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i Extreme Perferfomance
    CaseCarbide Series Air 540 High Airflow - Silver Edition
    Power SupplyHX1000i High Performance - 1000W
    Keyboard logitech g710
    Mouse logitech g600
    Headset Senheiser Game Zero
    Mouse Pad Gpliathus+Ironclad+vespulamemoryfoam
    OS Windows 10 Pro N

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    there´s a 3rd molex header close to supremefx zone

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by MrLomax View Post
    there´s a 3rd molex header close to supremefx zone
    That one I plugged in right away

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Second 4h OCCT run was successful. I'll try to play some demanding titles (Evolve n stuff) to see whether it will be stable there, and then run realbench for a few hours.
    Hopefully I just needed that 4pin plug to run properly. *fingers crossed*

    P.S. Just in case I've lowered LLC from 8 to 7 prior to running that OCCT test, so that might've helped as well.

  7. #7

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Just want to add a question to that about using both the 8pin and 4pin power header, is it required? Or is it mostly for high overclocking? Just wondering since my 850W PSU only have one 8pin power plug.


    Edit: Nvm had another 8/4 pin power plug, though am still curious if both are needed as the system has been running fine on one 8 pin, but haven't started overclocking yet, and i guess that's where the extra power comes in handy?
    Last edited by Nitrius; 02-10-2015 at 07:24 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    The 8 pin power connector should be populated at all times. The extra 4 pin connector is optional but it's recommended to populate it if your PSU has the extra cable. Now if you'll be overclocking, it's highly recommended to connect the 4 pin power cable to the header.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Cool.

    Keep us updated.
    I was looking at my PSU specs yesterday, and, well, 12v2 rail (CPU rail) is gimped to 20A, while rails 3-6 are 30A.....soooooo yeah, that might have been my issue. Now that the 4pin is in, and feeding from one of the 30A rails (which it shares with one of the GPUs), it should be better.
    Played some "Evolve" last night - no issues. I need to test BF4 or smthg, that will use all 4 gpus as well as CPU.

    I'll try that, and if it works, I'll go for 4.4ghz.

    Also considering supernova 1600 G2 as an alternative PSU, because of that massive 133A 12v rail

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •