cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ROG button for boot linux

Retired
Not applicable
Hi!!

I'll buy a G74SX-A1 notebook and I want to use the ROG button (that originally boot on ExpressGate Cloud) to boot a linux OS while the power on button keep login at Windows 7.

Could it be possible??

I'm not an expert on computer or linux, but I can try some stuff.

I need to install Linux on my computer because my job require it, but I'll keep Windows for playing.

Thanks!!

Obs: I don't have a G74SX yet, I'll get it in few weeks.
9 REPLIES 9

BrodyBoy
Level 10
I'm not an expert on this, but I don't think you can do it. The "extra" keyboard keys on Asus machines are locked by the ATK package to the functions Asus has assigned them. I know other Linux users have expressed frustration that they cannot get any of the keyboard features provided by the ATK driver.

I think you'll need to set up a dual-boot configuration the usual way, with an option screen at start-up.

JRd1st
Level 12
I don't think so either . . . . 😕
Read the User's Manual for more info. 😄

G74SX-A1 BIOS 203
Intel 6230 WiFi/BT
LG E2350 LED LCD Monitor
Intel Series 510 120 GB SSD

Drivers, Apps and How To's
Latest nVidia Drivers

JRd1st on DeviantArt.com

Blumberg:
As I understand your message, you want a hardware solution for a dual boot system (Windows, Linux). I doubt that is possible with the ROG button, without a bunch of internal rewiring, but why not just use lilo or grub? That is, after you install linux on the partition you want it, set up grub to bring up a menu right after the system posts to allow you to choose which OS to boot. Works great and has never let me down.
But make sure you install linux after you install windows. If you install Windows afterwards (or reinstall it later), it will overwrite the MBR and allow you only to boot windows thereafter. You'll have to boot linux with a bootdisk and reinstall grub.