Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Dying 5960x or RVE?

    Hello All,

    I have a RVE + 5960x+3000MHz 64 GB dominator. The 5960x is running at 4.5 GHz. my Power supply is 1500W Silverstone Strider ST1500. I am running the latest Bios RAMPAGE-V-EXTREME-ASUS-3902. I use Intel Burn Test for OC testing.

    I think that my RVE is slowly killing my 5960x because the stable OC settings I used for 1 year has needed stepped increases in VCore, VCache , VCCSA and VIN in the last 12 months. I noticed the instability due to crashes while running normal programs.


    Unfortunately, the system is now unstable again and I am using it at stock settings where the RAM is running at 2400 MHz. Any ideas if the board or CPU needs changing. I did use a set of 64 GB Hyperx DDR4 3000(replacing the dominator) and still had the crashes. My bigger concern is how a once stable OC is now unstable. Any ideas or suggestions?

    These are the changes in values from 2 years ago and now . The values to the right of the '->' are the values which I have now


    CPU Core Voltage : Adaptive Mode, Offset [0.230] -> [0.244]

    Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage : [0.019] -> [0.030]


    CPU Cache Voltage : Offset Mode, [0.180] -> [0.220]



    System Agent : Offset Mode : Sign [+] [0.220] -> [0.240]


    CPU Input Voltage : 1.900 -> 1.910



    VCCIO CPU 1.05V Voltage : 1.05000 -> 1.06250


    VCCIO PCH 1.05V Voltage : 1.05000 -> 1.06250


    PCH Core Voltage : Auto


    PCH I/O Voltage : [Auto]



    Any help appreciated, I am inclined to think it is the board because last time round swapping the board out fixed the issue . see here:
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-Kits-on-5960x
    Last edited by KOGE19; 03-02-2019 at 11:53 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,384

    The offset values mean nothing...it's the actual voltage values that would make some sense

    But if that's all on the same BIOS then it seems there is significant degradation.

    By the way the RVE wont kill anything...unless you tell it to

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    The offset values mean nothing...it's the actual voltage values that would make some sense

    But if that's all on the same BIOS then it seems there is significant degradation.

    By the way the RVE wont kill anything...unless you tell it to

    Yes , all this happened on the same BIOS. I am currently on the new BIOS though.

    If it is degradation ,what option do I have? Can I send the chip back to INTEL for warranty claim. Also what should I mention the reason for failure as?

    Thanks,

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,384

    Intel warranty is for stock only...if it needed more voltage to run at stock you could send it back...assuming it's still in warranty period...you can check that at Intel site

    I'd try "aliens" first and then own up if that doesn't work...
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 03-03-2019 at 07:18 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Intel warranty is for stock only...if it needed more voltage to run at stock you could send it back...assuming it's still in warranty period...you can check that at Intel site

    I'd try "aliens" first and then own up if that doesn't work...

    Yes, its still in warranty. I am inclined to check another 5960x or RVE. This is the second RVE which has had this issue so far, so somehow I feel the board has something to do with this.

    Thanks Arne. I think I will just stick to stock for now and see if it gets worse. This is probably going to be the last time I do an overclocked build - the amount of time I have wasted doing this could have been put to better use.

    Thanks once again.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    1,456

    People usually push processors to their end from start and later become unstable.
    Ideal OC for Haswell-E is 4.2-4.3GHz maybe. Not 4.5-4.6GHz... that couldn't last long.
    Better to run processors on stock speed first, than after 1-2 years little OC and before you change platform when CPU is few years old to drain last MHz from him.

    People are too much occupied with benchmark results and Intel's sponsored reviews about improvement of every new generation.
    In real life you can't see difference between I7-5960X on 4.3GHz or 4.5GHz, and sometimes voltage need for that is huge.
    Find sweet spot for normal voltage 1200V-1250V and that's it. everything above is risky.

    People write in signature frequency capable to boot PC or finish Cinebench, and other think that's their 24/7 stable clock.
    Some new Intel processors are pushed so much and only Turbo Frequency is enough. Haswell-E need OC, serious, there is a lot of space but people go to far.

    Why not reflesh BIOS with some older version, clear cmos and run everything on default first 1-2 week, later OC CPU on 4.0GHz on default voltage.


  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Vlada011 View Post
    People usually push processors to their end from start and later become unstable.
    Ideal OC for Haswell-E is 4.2-4.3GHz maybe. Not 4.5-4.6GHz... that couldn't last long.
    Better to run processors on stock speed first, than after 1-2 years little OC and before you change platform when CPU is few years old to drain last MHz from him.

    People are too much occupied with benchmark results and Intel's sponsored reviews about improvement of every new generation.
    In real life you can't see difference between I7-5960X on 4.3GHz or 4.5GHz, and sometimes voltage need for that is huge.
    Find sweet spot for normal voltage 1200V-1250V and that's it. everything above is risky.

    People write in signature frequency capable to boot PC or finish Cinebench, and other think that's their 24/7 stable clock.
    Some new Intel processors are pushed so much and only Turbo Frequency is enough. Haswell-E need OC, serious, there is a lot of space but people go to far.

    Why not reflesh BIOS with some older version, clear cmos and run everything on default first 1-2 week, later OC CPU on 4.0GHz on default voltage.
    Hello Vlada011,

    I have now received a new 5960x from intel on warranty. The old CPU started having problems at stock settings and was unusable/unstable. Anyways, I do think that the main issue was running the base clock at 125 MHz to load up the 3000 MHz 64GB DDR4. I will check if the new CPU can start the RAM at 3000 Mhz with a base clock of 100 MHz. My second hand 7900 x can use the same 3000 MHz modules at a base clock rate of 100 MHz. The advice I got on this forum 2 years ago was to keep the 5960x/RVE base clock at 125 MHz and I followed it, all was good till obviously the IMC could not handle the default 2133 MHz itself.

    My 3930K overclocked was perfectly fine and ran 24/7 on a 100 MHz base clock. The lesson I have learnt is that, because the option of 125 MHz existed does not mean that the CPU can maintain that speed(even if it does Intel Burn test at full blast for a couple of months). I did note that the older 5960x OC settings were working fine and slowly degrading. Due to time constraints I did not investigate why that happened and anyways some quick voltage increases stabilized the CPU again, till no amount of voltage could stabilize it. The old 5960x lived 3 years all guns blazing, the warranty expires in May 2019 and I now I have a new 5960x.

    So yes OC is bad, but then the typical life of my systems are 3 years anyways with newer builds of the software packages I use making performance worse with each passing year. Also, NO ONE should be recommended to keep base clock at 125 MHz, its just not expected to be used.

    BTW, I will be using my RVE as a build machine and I will redoing ALL voltages as manual voltages from now on and try to check if the 3000 Mhz DDR4 works fine on a 100 MHz base clock - enough of adaptive & offset.

    Cheers,
    G.
    Last edited by KOGE19; 04-03-2019 at 02:44 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •