Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    G751JY - Replace M2 with 2.5" - Caddy?

    Long story short - I purchased the JY with the 256GB M2 SSD and 1TB regular HD... I've replaced the M2 with a 1TB standard SSD using the caddy from the 1TB regular HD.

    I'd like to put the regular HD back into the right slot, but need another regular caddy - is there any way I can get another one of these somehow, or is there a generic caddy I can get somewhere that would work? I can't seem to find anything.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by sHORTYWZ View Post
    Long story short - I purchased the JY with the 256GB M2 SSD and 1TB regular HD... I've replaced the M2 with a 1TB standard SSD using the caddy from the 1TB regular HD.

    I'd like to put the regular HD back into the right slot, but need another regular caddy - is there any way I can get another one of these somehow, or is there a generic caddy I can get somewhere that would work? I can't seem to find anything.

    Thanks.
    sHORTYWZ, you can plug in both the M.2 and the 2.5" SSD in the same Bay without the caddy/platform - install both bare, and use small strips of strong tape to hold them in place - don't use large tape coverage or you will hold in the heat generated by the SSD's. That will free up the caddy for use in the 2nd bay.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	G751 Bay1 with both M.2 and 2.5 inch SSD's installed resampled.jpg 
Views:	81 
Size:	498.2 KB 
ID:	46482

    Check out the original post here, and the follow up posts where he removed the high tape coverage with strips of tape - I wish he would have posted pictures of the reduced tape coverage - and reduced temps - maybe you can post some photo's of your taping?

    Asus G751 coming with Maxwell GTX 980M and GTX 970M
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/thre...8#post-9912464

    This way you can install 3 storage devices in the 2 Bays.

    Please come back and let us know how it works out
    Last edited by hmscott; 02-15-2015 at 09:55 PM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by hmscott View Post
    sHORTYWZ, you can plug in both the M.2 and the 2.5" SSD in the same Bay without the caddy/platform - install both bare, and use small strips of strong tape to hold them in place - don't use large tape coverage or you will hold in the heat generated by the SSD's. That will free up the caddy for use in the 2nd bay.

    Check out the original post here, and the follow up posts where he removed the high tape coverage with strips of tape - I wish he would have posted pictures of the reduced tape coverage - and reduced temps - maybe you can post some photo's of your taping?

    Asus G751 coming with Maxwell GTX 980M and GTX 970M
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/thre...8#post-9912464

    This way you can install 3 storage devices in the 2 Bays.

    Please come back and let us know how it works out
    Interesting idea... never even thought to keep both of them in there. Maybe I'll try some foam on the side of the 2.5" instead of tape. I'll experiment with a couple things this week and report back.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by sHORTYWZ View Post
    Interesting idea... never even thought to keep both of them in there. Maybe I'll try some foam on the side of the 2.5" instead of tape. I'll experiment with a couple things this week and report back.
    sHORTYWZ, there isn't much air circulation through those Bays, so keeping the surface areas of the heat generating chips on those SSD's as much as possible will keep the temps low. The image above generated 50c temps for both SSD's, when he pulled the tape off and only used strips of tape over the board areas - not covering the chips - the temps went down to 36c, which is about what I get with the M.2 SATA SSD's in my G750JH - that is about as cool as can be expected. Foam might hold in heat...

    The main advantage, is that Bay 1 has the PCIE port and the only SATA 3 port. The 2nd Bay has a SATA II, and the Optical Bay has a SATA 1.5/2 - slightly better than SATA 1.5, but less than SATA II speeds.

    There is a new 206 BIOS for the G751JY (not the JT, so far) - and the reason for the firmware upgrade is listed as "Add second PCIE SSD DID/VID." which makes no sense, but I thought it might be good to check to see if the 2nd Bay is now connecting at SATA III speed's - as the hardware should be able to support it. It has been a surprise since the original release of the G751 that the 2nd Bay was only running at SATA II speeds. If someone tests this, please post results

    Please let us know how it works for you, and please post some photo's
    Last edited by hmscott; 02-16-2015 at 04:47 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array ELZZZORRO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    2nd Bay is still Sata II (2) with bios 206.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by ELZZZORRO View Post
    2nd Bay is still Sata II (2) with bios 206.
    Ugg I know.... why can't they just allow us to disable the DVD drive or the un-used bay in BIOS to free up PCIe lanes... sheesh.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I've also been trying to find an extra 2.5" caddy, so I can have 2x 2.5" SATA drives installed. Such a hassle. The ASUS webstore doesn't seem to carry any for this model.

    Just poor customer service across the board.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    533

    Search the board there is a guy looking for the M.2 bracket, ya'll might be able to arrange a swap.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •