Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array lxwrencus PC Specs
    lxwrencus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP Pavilion G6-1189SA
    MotherboardASUS Strix X299-E
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7820X
    Memory (part number)32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance RGB 3400MHz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 256GB
    Storage #2250GB 840/850 EVO SSD x4
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX 280mm
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000 PSU
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Madcatz R.A.T. 3 / Madcatz R.A.T. 9
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64Bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Maximus IV Extreme - QCODE "00" and Red CPU_LED

    Hello all, please be patient with me as this is my first post.

    After a two days of troubleshooting, I am stumped with fixing my Maximus IV Extreme, which has the Q-CODE "00" and the CPU_LED illuminated in red.

    Here is what I have tried:
    *Tried three CPUs (3770K, 2600K and Celeron G530) - the 2600K and G530 need BIOS revisions after the one that came factory installed (Version 2001).

    *Tried lots of memory, which is on the QVL - and tried without memory, all of which caused the 00 code.

    *Tried three power supplies - even the one from my main rig.

    *Tried system out of the case on the box - no luck.

    *A 780Ti (has been working in the rig for a while now) a 6770 and a GTS450

    *Tried both BIOS chips - both cause 00

    *Tried USB bios flashback, BIOS seems to update OK, but error 00 persists after cycling power and clearing CMOS several times.

    *I have inspected the CPU socket for bent pins and all seems OK - have shone a torch on the pins and cant see any bent pins.

    I presume the culprit is most likely to be the motherboard as I know all of the components I have tested with are known working items from other computers - I would process an RMA but I cant find my original purchase date - so I cant register it (besides, I have a feeling that it is out of warranty anyway.)

    Any suggestions are very welcome Cheers for your help.
    BTW - Sorry if I have posted in the wrong place...

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    Hello Ixwrencus

    With all the testing you've done it looks to be the motherboard.

    You're right a maximus iv extreme would be out of warranty even if it was registered, it looks like it's time to upgrade unless you can find a maximus iv extreme somewhere, but I personally don't trust buying used motherboards.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array lxwrencus PC Specs
    lxwrencus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP Pavilion G6-1189SA
    MotherboardASUS Strix X299-E
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7820X
    Memory (part number)32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance RGB 3400MHz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 256GB
    Storage #2250GB 840/850 EVO SSD x4
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX 280mm
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000 PSU
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Madcatz R.A.T. 3 / Madcatz R.A.T. 9
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64Bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Yeah - I've been searching for a used board and there are lots of Manufacturer refurbs going about - but they're going for about £200, which is way too much to spend on an outdated platform.

    Either will end up either getting one of the few lower tier boards that are still sold new on dabs.com like the P8Z77-V LX - or will sell the 3770K and put the money towards a new system with a 4790K and a Maximus VII Ranger...

    Aren't Computers Great!! - Cheers for your help

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    I have the p8z77 v pro, you can get your 3770k to 4.8GHz with an all in one liquid cpu cooler. 46 is the max multiplier it goes, but you can get 200MHz more with the BCLK.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array lxwrencus PC Specs
    lxwrencus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP Pavilion G6-1189SA
    MotherboardASUS Strix X299-E
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7820X
    Memory (part number)32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance RGB 3400MHz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 256GB
    Storage #2250GB 840/850 EVO SSD x4
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX 280mm
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000 PSU
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Madcatz R.A.T. 3 / Madcatz R.A.T. 9
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64Bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Oh thats great!! My 3770K was a relatively good overclocker - was cruising happily at 4.7GHz on the Maximus IV Extreme before it packed in. I know that overclocking CPUs after Nehalem is now less impacted by the motherboard - so it reassures me that you were able to get a good overclock on a mainstream Z77 board.

    I have purchased an H61M-A/USB3 for £40 to use temporarily and am happy to report that the rig is up and running again - of course with only one GTX 960

    Ive seen on Scan they have a MIVE-Z for £260 but consider that way too much to pay for an outdated platform - and its Z68 not Z77.

    Will be keeping my eyes peeled for a good offer on a Higher tier motherboard like the P8Z77-V Pro/Deluxe/Premium or hopefully another RoG board as I love the colour scheme!! - But at the end of the day I honestly don't mind as long as it has some sort of warranty.

    Thanks very much for your advice

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    162

    00 on the Q-code is a corrupt bios, just needs to be properly flashed it will still live. Thee CPU light could be a bent pin..
    Last edited by philly cheese steak; 03-17-2015 at 02:55 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I have this same issue Code 00 with CPU ERROR LED solid red.

    My problems began with a dead power supply. Replacing the PSU I started to have this problem.

    i5-2500
    Maximus Extreme iV
    8 GB ADATA

    Original PSU was 1000 watt OEM brand from Digital Storm

    New PSU is 1300 EVGA supernova G2

    I have tried:
    ---------------------------
    Clearing the CMOS
    re-seating the CPU and all components.
    Changing the ram

    I really hope someone can provide a solution. I do not have additional hardware to begin swapping items out. or the funds to replace the machine.

    **fingers crossed**

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    Hello Vocare and welcome

    Code 00 is not a good sign.

    Since you replaced your psu and still have code 00, the next two things to take a look at is the motherboard and the cpu. When your psu died it's possible it took the cpu or motherboard with it.

    Do you have the 8 pin cpu power cable connected?

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hello Nate.

    Thank you for the response. Yes all the cables are connected. 8 pin CPU. 24 atx. tried a configuration with EZ plug 1 and 1 without.

    I have tried:
    ---------------------------
    Clearing the CMOS
    re-seating the CPU and all components.
    Changing the ram

    At this point i have contacted a number of repair shops all have told me they do not carry the testing equipment any longer.
    I do not have a replacement CPU or MOBO to test. Tho i may break down and buy a new MOBO today.

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    That's a tough spot to be in when you can't have your board or cpu tested. Your motherboard and cpu are out of warranty so an rma is out of the question.

    I'd hate to see you spend money on an old platform but if you're limited on funds I suppose it's the only thing to do. It could be a dead cpu causing code 00 too and without being able to test either one it is more or less a guess as to which one it is.

    If you weren't overclocking your cpu I would lean towards the motherboard but I can't say with 100% certainty.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •