Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Gphish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    16 or 32 Gb kit?

    I can do a 32 Gb kit but really is there any advantage to having 32 versus 16 kit? I only play games but not looking to upgrade my memory for at least 5 years. Really appreciate the feedback.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Franziska PC Specs
    Franziska PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair DP DDR4 2800 16GB (4x4)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980
    Sound CardFostex HP-A3 (USB)
    MonitorNEC PA272W
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Seagate Constellation ES.3 4TB (2x RAID0)
    CPU CoolerAquacomputer Kryus Cuplex (Custom WC Loop)
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplySeasonic Platinum 1000W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 3 TKL
    Mouse Mionix Avior 7000
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    66

    Go for the 16GB kit if all you do is gaming thats plenty. 32GB and more is only really needed if you do content creation or work with virtual machines. I would much rather invest the same money into a faster 16GB kit than in a slower 32GB kit.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array fanf74 PC Specs
    fanf74 PC Specs
    MotherboardAUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME
    Processor5960X @ 4.250GHZ
    Memory (part number)4*4Go GSKILL DRR4 3000CL15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980TI SC
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX980TI SC
    Monitor3 ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 840 PRO 512 OS
    Storage #2SAMSUNG EVO 840 1TB
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECK APOGEE GOLD
    CaseCOOLERMASTER COSMOS II
    Power SupplyANTEC HIGH CURRENT PRO 1200W
    Keyboard CORSAIR k95RGB
    Mouse RAZER OUROBOUROS
    Headset CORSAIR VENGENCE 2100
    OS WIN 10 64 BITS PRO

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Hi Gphish,

    32 Go of RAM can be necessary if you plan to make virtual machines on your system. I have 16 Go of RAM and it's a lot of RAM for an normal USER.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array AdamC PC Specs
    AdamC PC Specs
    MotherboardR5E
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)8 x G.SKILL Ripjaws F4-3000C15Q-16GRBB
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI GTX980Ti
    Monitor3 x BenQ BL3201PH
    Storage #1SAMSUNG XP941 512G
    Storage #2Too many to list
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseRosewill THRONE-W
    Power SupplyEVGA 220-P2-1200-X1
    OS Windows 7 64 Ultimate

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    136

    If you plan on gaming at 4k resolution or above, get 32g. Not all games need 32g of course. But some big games in open world at 4k, 32g is needed.

    I recently upgraded my monitor from 1600p to 2160p. Ran out of memory within a couple minutes of playing.

    DDR 4 is still expensive though.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Gphish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    I do plan on 4G gaming so I'll go 32. Thanks for the feed back.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by Gphish View Post
    I can do a 32 Gb kit but really is there any advantage to having 32 versus 16 kit? I only play games but not looking to upgrade my memory for at least 5 years. Really appreciate the feedback.
    When future proofing, more is always better. If I was looking for a nice 32GB kit, I'd grab the G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2400 (PC4-19200) Desktop Memory Model F4-2400C15Q-32GRR one.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Techotic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    167

    Quote Originally Posted by AdamC View Post
    If you plan on gaming at 4k resolution or above, get 32g. Not all games need 32g of course. But some big games in open world at 4k, 32g is needed. I recently upgraded my monitor from 1600p to 2160p. Ran out of memory within a couple minutes of playing.
    Don't you mean you ran out of vram? If I'm not mistaken, games tap into your video card memory to cache textures, and don't use much system memory.

    I think it would more advisable to use the extra cash to get 2 or 3 video cards to run in SLI / Crossfire. 16GB of memory is more than enough for gaming.
    Last edited by Techotic; 02-20-2015 at 04:59 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    31

    16 GB would not be enough for some games (in 4k), I reached 29GB of system memory in Call of Duty Advanced Warfare, I got close to 16GB in Watch Dogs.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array coyi1895 PC Specs
    coyi1895 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme BIOS 1502
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C16 (single kit)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence One/Asus Essence STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB Cherry MX Red Switch
    Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX300
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U
    Accessory #1 Storage #3: ST2000DM001
    coyi1895's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    300

    I've not been told that we need to increase a lot of RAM for some games at 4K. I'm aware about vRAM. I've seen rigs with 16GB of RAM which is normal today play comfortably at 4K for Call of Duty Advanced Warfare. The minimum requirement is 6GB RAM.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by coyi1895 View Post
    I've not been told that we need to increase a lot of RAM for some games at 4K. I'm aware about vRAM. I've seen rigs with 16GB of RAM which is normal today play comfortably at 4K for Call of Duty Advanced Warfare. The minimum requirement is 6GB RAM.
    In my case for Call of Duty Advanced Warfare it with details max out except AA, and I activated the options to do some pre-loading in cache (RAM) during cinematic.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •