Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Radeson PC Specs
    Radeson PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel I7 5960x
    Memory (part number)16 gb 4x4 Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800mhz (CMD16GX4M4A2800C16)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Radeon R9 290 (ref) X4
    MonitorToo many to list
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256gb X4 (RAID0)
    Storage #2Seagate 1tb 7200rpm HDD
    CPU CoolerKoolance 380i CPU Water-Block Custom Loop
    CaseRosewill Blackhawk Ultra
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Deathadder
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    Changed CSM Settings and now I CANT GET WINDOWS TO BOOT hElp!!!!!

    HELLO,

    I am kind of new at uefi booting (obviously) I hope I didnt just screw up my windows. I just installed uefi the other day. Well, I just tried to disable csm to get faster boot times. Now it just gets stuck at this black screen after post that says:

    >>checking media presence......
    >>Start PXE over IPv4


    there is Q code Ad displayed

    Please tell me i didnt just brick my windows???!!!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Radeson PC Specs
    Radeson PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel I7 5960x
    Memory (part number)16 gb 4x4 Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800mhz (CMD16GX4M4A2800C16)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Radeon R9 290 (ref) X4
    MonitorToo many to list
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256gb X4 (RAID0)
    Storage #2Seagate 1tb 7200rpm HDD
    CPU CoolerKoolance 380i CPU Water-Block Custom Loop
    CaseRosewill Blackhawk Ultra
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Deathadder
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    ps This happened when i tried changing it back..... I just want to boot into windows dang it.!!! no more problems!!!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X11 Hero (Wi-Fi)
    Processori9 10900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X53

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    125

    Since this is your first UEFI install, you might want to attach your Disk Management picture so we can check your configuration.

    But you should be able to disable the CSM since you are running Windows 8.1 x64, assuming any other PCIe devices have UEFI OpRoms, such as the Video card.

    If it won't boot, set the CSM back to enabled. From the message you got, I would guess the system is not seeing the Windows 8.1 UEFI Windows Boot Manager for some reason.

    The CSM setting on my X99 board can be problematic. Unless the last Bios update fixed it, some of those options may not work as designed for non Secure Boot capable OSes.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Radeson PC Specs
    Radeson PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel I7 5960x
    Memory (part number)16 gb 4x4 Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800mhz (CMD16GX4M4A2800C16)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Radeon R9 290 (ref) X4
    MonitorToo many to list
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256gb X4 (RAID0)
    Storage #2Seagate 1tb 7200rpm HDD
    CPU CoolerKoolance 380i CPU Water-Block Custom Loop
    CaseRosewill Blackhawk Ultra
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Deathadder
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    I did try setting it back to normal. this is what happened when i did. WHen i tried to disable it the whole post my screen didnt light up and the post was very long and then it said that it couldnt detect my video card. then it sent me back to BIOS. then I went to try to re enable csm and it was already enabled. AHHHHHHHH I could rip my hair out. I cant get it to boot no matter what i do. When i put in the windows istall disk with the uefi dvd rom option it wont let me in. it says press any key to boot from cd and the dots ...... keep ticking while i press every key on the da*n keyboard. then im back in biars. I tried selecting the regular dvd option and finally got in. but if i remember that took me acouple of tries also....

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Radeson PC Specs
    Radeson PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel I7 5960x
    Memory (part number)16 gb 4x4 Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800mhz (CMD16GX4M4A2800C16)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Radeon R9 290 (ref) X4
    MonitorToo many to list
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256gb X4 (RAID0)
    Storage #2Seagate 1tb 7200rpm HDD
    CPU CoolerKoolance 380i CPU Water-Block Custom Loop
    CaseRosewill Blackhawk Ultra
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Deathadder
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    now 79 hangs forever in post also. whats up with that... This is starting to scare me...this kind of stuff was happening when my last board bricked. Im seriously thinking about throwing this thing out the window

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Radeson PC Specs
    Radeson PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel I7 5960x
    Memory (part number)16 gb 4x4 Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800mhz (CMD16GX4M4A2800C16)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Radeon R9 290 (ref) X4
    MonitorToo many to list
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256gb X4 (RAID0)
    Storage #2Seagate 1tb 7200rpm HDD
    CPU CoolerKoolance 380i CPU Water-Block Custom Loop
    CaseRosewill Blackhawk Ultra
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Deathadder
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    OK

    WOW!!!!

    I just got it to finally boot to UEFI DVDROM windows boot disk and i tried the repair start-up problems option.

    IT WORKS.. I had to slap myself to see if i actually FIXED a problem with this set up. It seems i have had nothing but unfixable problems. I think this is a turn around. Sorry everybody, I think i had to figure that one out on my own. I cant believe it was that easy. If only the stupid thing wouldve let me boot to disk right away....

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array graphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    235

    hey Radeson, I'm sorry to hear the troubles you are having, I think windows 8.1 sucks bad in
    the sense that when it fails to boot it automatically goes into this auto repair crap and then just screws
    it. With overclocking and bios tweaking i find myself stuck in the endless re-boot cycle for a while, try different
    things like set bios back to default settings, tweak memory clocks and frequency etc... Don't give up that easy.
    If you successfully loaded the OS previously, your hard should be ok, I would think?
    goog luck

    small edit , you posted while I was posting, great work, congrats, enjoy

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 10980XE 4.6Ghz 1.12v WC
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3080 XC3 ULTRA EK WB/BP
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB x 3
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master V 1300W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,681

    Any changes made to the CSM values will request a reinstall of windows , Try loading defaults then set "boot UEFI devices 1st" then try booting into windows .

    If your BIOS is hanging on q-code 79 for a long amount of time your BIOS has had a bad flash you will need to recover the bad sector, try using the 2nd BIOS chip.
    Last edited by LiveOrDie; 02-20-2015 at 02:45 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Radeson PC Specs
    Radeson PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel I7 5960x
    Memory (part number)16 gb 4x4 Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800mhz (CMD16GX4M4A2800C16)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Radeon R9 290 (ref) X4
    MonitorToo many to list
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256gb X4 (RAID0)
    Storage #2Seagate 1tb 7200rpm HDD
    CPU CoolerKoolance 380i CPU Water-Block Custom Loop
    CaseRosewill Blackhawk Ultra
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Deathadder
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    Windows Boot Disk fixed the problem with startup repair. Cant belive it either..
    I'm officially in windows now.

    BUT.... Now one of the 3 disks in my RAID 0 array is kicked out of the array. I knew it was f'ed when windows didnt recognize it. So i said screw it and did a secure erase on all 3, and re-established the RAID. I only had it going for a few days anyways. I just have to set the steam and origin to download for like 24 hours again no biggie.... RIGHT... OK im a little pissed. That is the second time i lost my raid on the RVE. Im so glad i couldnt get windows to install initially on the 4 way raid and i just used one of my 4 samsung 850's as a boot disk. A LITTLE less risky apparently...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •