Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Fix for 144Hz flickering on ROG Swift PG278Q with R9 290X

    I noticed several people having the same problem with screen flickering on this monitor, as I had

    I have 3x R9 290X in crossfire and 144Hz flickered to the point where it was unusable, but I found a workaround.

    I used ToastyX's Custom Resolution Utility (CRU) to create a custom timing at 144Hz that eliminated the flickering for me. I dumped the timings from the EDID using Linux since the CRU doesn't recognize the extension block used in the Swift.

    The timings for 144 Hz are the following according to the EDID:


    Active: 2560
    Front Porch: 4
    Sync Width: 16
    Back Porch: 2



    Active: 1440
    Front Porch: 1
    Sync Width: 1
    Back Porch: 7
    Pixel Clock: 538.8 MHz

    I added these into the CRU for the EDID override just to make sure they were correct, and they were. The monitor was doing the same strange flickering.

    I then started to tweak the timings slightly and i noticed some improvement on the image when increasing the sync width and other things. For me, what eliminated all flickering was the following timings:

    Horizontal:
    Active: 2560
    Front Porch: 8
    Sync Width: 16
    Back Porch: 16

    Vertical:
    Active: 1440
    Front Porch: 1
    Sync Width: 1
    Back Porch: 7

    Pixel Clock: 542.58 MHz


    This has slightly more sync timings at the expensive of a higher Pixel Clock, but the monitor seems to handle it fine, and there is no more flicker @ 144Hz! I tested and there is no frame skip or any such thing, so the refresh rate appears correct.

    Those of you who are having this problem try this out and see if it fixes it for you.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Wow thanks very much. This has worked and no flickering.

    Going to test some games

    Thanks again.
    i7 3930k @ 4.5GHZ - 1.38v H2O
    G.Skill 2400Mhz CL10 16GB
    2x Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - Raid 0
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    3x R9 290X 4GB CFX H2O
    Corsair 900D Chassis
    Silverstone Strider 1500 Watt
    Asus Rog Swift PG278Q

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array eagle77 PC Specs
    eagle77 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair IV Extreme
    ProcessorI7-5930 @ 4.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)HyperX 32GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Asus Radeon R9 295x2
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus Solo
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNeptun 280L
    CaseCoolerMaster Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder
    OS Windows 8.1
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Won't work for me, maximum settings for me is 85hz, a real shame tbh. Annoys me that I didn't check this out before I spent a lot of money on this monitor.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by dougvj View Post

    Vertical:
    Active: 1440
    Front Porch: 1
    Sync Width: 1
    Back Porch: 7

    Pixel Clock: 542.58 MHz


    ! I tested and there is no frame skip or any such thing, so the refresh rate appears correct.
    This has slightly more sync timings at the expensive of a higher Pixel Clock, but the monitor seems to handle it fine, and there is no more flicker @ 144Hz
    Those of you who are having this problem try this out and see if it fixes it for you.

    Can you make an Override of your settings using this utility and link it here using the "Advanced Editor" or email to me. I can you PM you my email address.
    Last edited by Dirtydeedz; 03-20-2015 at 03:29 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array roadczar PC Specs
    roadczar PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z690-E Gaming WiFi 6E LGA 1700
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K - Core i9 12th Gen Alder Lake 16-Core
    Memory (part number)F5- 5600U3636C16GX2-TZ5K / F5-5600U3636C16GX2-TZ5S
    Graphics Card #1MSI Suprim GeForce RTX 3090 24GB GDDR6X PCI Express 4.0
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorAlienware 38 Curved Gaming Monitor AW3821DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 PRO SSD 2TB PCIe NVMe Gen 4 Gaming M.2 Internal Solid State Hard Drive
    Storage #2Samsung 980 PRO SSD 1TB PCIe NVMe Gen 4 Gaming M.2 Internal Solid State Hard Drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseCorsair 4000D Airflow Tempered Glass Mid-Tower ATX PC Case - Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i Digital ATX Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse G903 LIGHTSPEED WIRELESS GAMING MOUSE
    Mouse Pad Logitech G Powerplay Wireless Charging System
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    OS Windows 11

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    81

    Works! Great job!
    Please stickie.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Can you post both the horizontal and vertical timings please?

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    thank you it works for me THANK YOU

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array roadczar PC Specs
    roadczar PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z690-E Gaming WiFi 6E LGA 1700
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K - Core i9 12th Gen Alder Lake 16-Core
    Memory (part number)F5- 5600U3636C16GX2-TZ5K / F5-5600U3636C16GX2-TZ5S
    Graphics Card #1MSI Suprim GeForce RTX 3090 24GB GDDR6X PCI Express 4.0
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorAlienware 38 Curved Gaming Monitor AW3821DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 PRO SSD 2TB PCIe NVMe Gen 4 Gaming M.2 Internal Solid State Hard Drive
    Storage #2Samsung 980 PRO SSD 1TB PCIe NVMe Gen 4 Gaming M.2 Internal Solid State Hard Drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseCorsair 4000D Airflow Tempered Glass Mid-Tower ATX PC Case - Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i Digital ATX Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse G903 LIGHTSPEED WIRELESS GAMING MOUSE
    Mouse Pad Logitech G Powerplay Wireless Charging System
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    OS Windows 11

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    81

    Did any of you upgrade to Windows 10? I did and now 144hz is not selectable. Any idea how to fix it?

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array matrixleader PC Specs
    matrixleader PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)EUROCOM Sky X9
    MotherboardIntel Sunrise Point Z170
    ProcessorIntel Skylake i7-6700K @ 4.2 GHz
    Memory (part number)Samsung 64GB DDR4 RAM @ 2400 MHz
    Graphics Card #1GeForce GTX 980 8.0GB GDDR5 (Desktop Version)
    Sound CardSound Blaster 3D Audio
    MonitorLG LP173WF4-SPD1 17.3" 1920x1080 IPS FHD (16:9) LED Antiglare Matte Screen with G-SYNC Technology
    Storage #12 x Samsung 950 Pro 512GB M.2 NVMe PCIe x4 SSD (RAID 0)
    Storage #22x Samsung Spinpoint M9T ST2000LM003 5400 RPM 32MB Cache 2TB HDD (RAID 0)
    CPU CoolerIC Diamong Thermal Paste
    Power Supply660W AC Power Adapter
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC68U
    matrixleader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    Quote Originally Posted by roadczar View Post
    Did any of you upgrade to Windows 10? I did and now 144hz is not selectable. Any idea how to fix it?
    Nothing to fix, it is selectable by just going to the advanced graphics properties:


  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array roadczar PC Specs
    roadczar PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z690-E Gaming WiFi 6E LGA 1700
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K - Core i9 12th Gen Alder Lake 16-Core
    Memory (part number)F5- 5600U3636C16GX2-TZ5K / F5-5600U3636C16GX2-TZ5S
    Graphics Card #1MSI Suprim GeForce RTX 3090 24GB GDDR6X PCI Express 4.0
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorAlienware 38 Curved Gaming Monitor AW3821DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 PRO SSD 2TB PCIe NVMe Gen 4 Gaming M.2 Internal Solid State Hard Drive
    Storage #2Samsung 980 PRO SSD 1TB PCIe NVMe Gen 4 Gaming M.2 Internal Solid State Hard Drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseCorsair 4000D Airflow Tempered Glass Mid-Tower ATX PC Case - Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i Digital ATX Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse G903 LIGHTSPEED WIRELESS GAMING MOUSE
    Mouse Pad Logitech G Powerplay Wireless Charging System
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    OS Windows 11

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    81

    Thanks, but I know how to set resolutions. This thread and my question was only for Radeon R9 290 users. After upgrading to Win 10 144hz is not listed in the list of listed resolutions.

    Again, did others experience the same issue after upgrading to Win 10?


    Quote Originally Posted by matrixleader View Post
    Nothing to fix, it is selectable by just going to the advanced graphics properties:

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •