Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 98
  1. #21
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by perry View Post
    I am also having problems with respect to voltage in the memories, sometimes after a blue screen, I can not boot, the boot screen of windows it hangs, I have to disconnect and reconnect into the bios and see that the voltages are different than they were placed. Example when I put 1.65 volts in bios this 1.49volts

    Sorry for the english google translator

    That means your memory is not stable and the board POSTed in safe mode. Change memory parameters,frequency, DRAM voltage or VCCSA until the memory is stable.

    -Raja

  2. #22
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    Hello. 3930k @ 4,9 GHz (1,45(6)V), Geil Evo Two GET316GB2400C10QC (2,4 GHz, 10-11-11-30-1T, 1,65V).

    This MB gives (Auto) to VTT 1,370 V and to VCCSA up to 1,4V. When I set voltages manually (VTT - 1,3V / VCCSA - 1,35V) I can't get stability in Prime95 Blend (after 1-6 hs it's lockup of something). But in Auto (1,370/1,387 in BIOS) it's OK more than 15 hs (so OK to me) in Prime95.

    Is that safe for 3930k 24/7? I'm not about VCore, but about VTT & VCCSA. CPU under water (but it's hot anyway, up to 80C in Prime95 Blend). I'm not a folder or coder, but using this OC without any power saving features 24/7 (idle temp ~45C).

    When you wrote Secondary VTT does not, however try to maintain at most a 300mv delta for stability. 1.40v is fine on these CPUs. 1.35v is sufficient most of the time., did you mean it's fine for high OC even for water or it's really fine, if I think that VCORE 1,45-1,46V it's fine for 3930k under water?
    In other words, VTT @ 1,4 it's rather normal or high, than extreme?

    Also i'm a little concerned about other setting in Auto. Are they fine and we must only change VCORE from Auto (every CPU is a little different). Right? It's 24/7 for sure.

    Thanks!

  3. #23
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    It's always best to tune the system based upon your parts. The Auto settings are just a starting point.

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array mrmojorisin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    121

    My specs:

    Rampage IV Formula
    3930K
    16GB Corsair RAM @ 1866

    I initially tried using the “normal” preset OC profile and choosing 2000 for my RAM speed. I thought the system was stable and used it that way for a couple of months before finding out that, in fact, it was not stable. So I went to “XMP” for AI Overclock and left everything else at default. I’m 99% certain I’m stable with those settings (Prime 95 for 8 hours and Intel Burn test x10 passes with all available RAM selected). I would like a CPU OC, though. I’m wondering if I can simply set a 43 multiplier and leave everything else as is. Would setting the multiple at 43 be all I need? Or should I go ahead with the CPU Load Line Calibration, CPU Power Phase Control and CPU Voltage Offset Mode settings that have been suggested in Raja’s tutorials?

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array mrmojorisin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    121

    Okay, setting the Turbo Ratio to all cores and the multiplier to 43 works and is stable under IBT. However the voltage does not drop when the CPU is idling at 12x100. What setting(s) do I need to check/modify to let the voltage come down at idle like it used to? The only two settings I modifed were the turbo ratio and multiplier. Everything else is as it was when the voltage did drop at idle.

  6. #26
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmojorisin View Post
    Okay, setting the Turbo Ratio to all cores and the multiplier to 43 works and is stable under IBT. However the voltage does not drop when the CPU is idling at 12x100. What setting(s) do I need to check/modify to let the voltage come down at idle like it used to? The only two settings I modifed were the turbo ratio and multiplier. Everything else is as it was when the voltage did drop at idle.
    I had this same problem and asked a similar question in another thread.
    I was informed that what you need to do is change the CPU voltage from Manual (Auto) to Offset and then assign a slight offset value (+/- 0.005 will do).
    Worked for me.

    Now I just need to figure out how to OC my memory and use the BCLK strap...

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array mrmojorisin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    121

    YOU DA MAN! It worked. I am so pleased. I never did like the Normal OC Profile. It set the BCLK to 125 and VCORE at a static 1.400. I wasn't stable with my RAM at 2000, and 1866 (its rating) wasn't an option with the 125 BCLK. Now I have the same 4.3GHz CPU OC but with only 1.336v at max and 0.872v or so at idle. And I have my RAM at 1866. I will do more stability testing overnight while asleep but I've gone 10 passes with IBT at the Very High setting so I'm feeling pretty good right now. This is my first real OC (not using a pre-defined setting). What a day! I used the -0.005 offset you suggested after setting Load Line Calibration to Medium and Power Phase Control to Standard.

    I hope you get your RAM figured out. All I had to do was to set Ai Overclock Tuner to XMP and load my RAM's profile. Beyond that I just set the Turbo Mode to All Cores (Can Adjust in OS); the Turbo Ratio to 43 and the previous settings I mentioned. It really couldn't have been easier. I was just a bit frightened to try it on my own vs. one of the pre-defined profiles. Again, thank you!!

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 900P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    1,341

    the "Mode 2" of Rampage Tweak, this is when memory is at manufacturer specification (not OC with frequency, etc...)?

    And also, I tested the kit Dominator GT CMT6GX3M3A2000C8 (8-9-8-24, PSC ICs) of a friend on a Rampage Extreme 4 (only 2x2GB)

    For my friend, is stable at 2400 9-11-10-28 1T at 1.65v (OCCT and LinX)
    But for me it is not stable with Hyper PI 32M with the same timings/sub-timings (HyperPi is more violent than LinX?)

    I do not use the airflow or fans, is what it is because of this?
    Or what is the controller of my CPU is bad compared to his

    Thanks
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 900P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  9. #29
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hello everybody)

    Few days ago I got my new PC based on Rampage 4 Extreme, previously I've got Rampage 2 Extreme so I'm newbie in Sandy Bridge (E) overclocking.

    I use 3930k CPU and reached 4.8GHz with only (seems that pretty low voltage for this frequency) 1.38v VCORE on H2O cooling.
    Successfully passed 2 runs of 4GB linpack stress.

    As everybody here (seems to be so) I want to reach 5GHz.
    For now I've got 10-12 degrees left to TjMax (hottest core peak).

    I also try to overclock my RipjawsZ 2133
    Now I have 2400 10-12-11-30 2T subtimings 6-128-12-6-28-8-6

    Looking for an advice for the next step, will be very thankful)
    (Sorry for bad language)
    Rampage IV Extreme, 3930k, G.Skill RipjawsZ 2133 4x4GB, x2 7970, OCZ RevoDrive 120 SSD, Hiper 880W PSU

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 900P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    1,341

    Quote Originally Posted by Dartmaulhunt View Post
    I also try to overclock my RipjawsZ 2133
    Now I have 2400 10-12-11-30 2T subtimings 6-128-12-6-28-8-6
    I have the same memory but 4x2Go at 10-12-11-28 1T (1.65v)

    But I am "217" (not 128)

    You are in Auto or you used a profile? Hynix?
    You're also at 1.65v?

    Thanks
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 900P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How to Overclock ASUS RAMPAGE III Extreme BIOS GUIDE
    By V2-V3 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-13-2011, 12:57 AM
  2. ASUS Rampage III Extreme Overclocking BIOS Guide
    By V2-V3 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-11-2011, 09:23 PM
  3. ASUS Rampage II Extreme Extreme Core i7 LN2 OverClocking
    By V2-V3 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-2011, 07:39 PM
  4. Overclocking Failed ASUS RAMPAGE III Extreme
    By zeeshan_mcse in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-09-2010, 10:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •