Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 98
  1. #71
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Zka17 writes:
    > 3x graphics cards on a 1000W PSU.... hm, that could be the problem... - the amperage on the PSU rails...

    Indeed, but in the event I think it was also a messed up gfx driver that was making things worse, and
    possibly the presence of an older BIOS in the mix didn't help.

    (the PC is a setup I built for an AE artist back in Feb; he visited in person so I could sort out the system)

    Hence, I replaced the PSU with a 1475W, updated the BIOS, tested with a clone of my own system (same
    mbd, CPU, GPU, etc.), and it worked fine, so I redid the system layout to improve the cooling (this involved
    drilling the rivets to remove the lower drive cage, reversing the front 230mm fan direction, adding an extr
    side panel exhaust, etc.) and now it's working ok, though on advice elsewhere I did increase VCCSA by just
    one notch. The system still has a Quadro 4000 for the primary display (running on Quadro 310.90 drivers,
    dedicated to OGL) but now has three 783MHz Palit 3GB GTX 580s for CUDA (running desktop 310.90 drivers
    to match, hopefully thus preventing driver clashes - the previous config had a dual setup, but the versions
    were different). Here it is completed:

    http://www.sgidepot.co.uk/misc/gtx580s_upgrade04.jpg
    http://www.sgidepot.co.uk/misc/gtx580s_upgrade15.jpg
    http://www.sgidepot.co.uk/misc/gtx580s_upgrade17.jpg

    I also moved the PSU to the top of the case to allow the lowest PCIe slot to be used (my own system already
    had its PSU at the top). One thing I discovered: USB/fw cables and the front panel cables (power, reset, HDD
    LED, etc.) will clash with a 2-slot card like a 580 in the lowest slot (P9X79 WS), so I had to pull pins out of
    plugs, bend front panel pins over, etc., to make room, but it worked ok.


    > I would try with a single GTX580 to see if it causes the same 116 code, if not then the problem is
    > the PSU - it's not enough...

    All running ok now! 8)

    The next day, I changed my own system in the same way, except mine has four 3GB 580s (the top one is
    an 832MHz MSI Lightning Xtreme, the others are the same 783MHz 3GB Palit cards). I didn't fit the other
    system with a 4th 580 as it would need to be an MSI L.X. or equivalent due to heat issues (a 4th Palit gets
    too hot in the top slot). Next step is to switch the CPU to water cooling (H100i probably), which would
    indeed allow a 4th 580 to be fitted without it having to be an MSI L.X. (and switching to an H100i means
    two extra side panel intakes can be fitted).

    Here's my system completed: http://www.sgidepot.co.uk/misc/new_3...d580_setup.zip

    And the CPU-Z confirmation: http://valid.canardpc.com/zk69q8

    Note my CPU is only at 4.7 just now. I'm sure I can push it further, especially with per-core settings, but
    not had time to explore that yet (important for AE, as ancient plugins like Shatter are only single-threaded).


    Anyway, I love this board, it handles these loads sooo well. 8) A slight pity it's not the newer E version
    (the better PCIe bw might help for AE, given the tens of GB used in a typical render), but never mind.


    Btw, my GPU setup is faster than two Titans for the Arion CUDA benchmark (my score is 5317; they've
    not updated the page yet): http://www.randomcontrol.com/arionbench

    My old 3x580 result is at #26.

    Ian.
    Last edited by mapesdhs; 10-24-2013 at 09:01 PM.
    Maximus IV Extreme, 2700K @ 5.0, Corsair H80, 16GB DDR3/2133, GTX 460, 850 Pro, etc.

  2. #72
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Guys,

    I recently bought a RIVE + 4960X, works w/ H110 (Push/Pull), Temp is not my problem. (Intel Burn Test workload below 60 C w/ vcore 1,276v via CORE TEMP )

    But i cannot build a OC over 4.1 (I suspect that is my GSkill F3-17000CL11-4GB"X"L) Designed to 1150 platforms (Ripjaws X).

    How can i assure if i can move my DRAM or some tips for best adjust (i´ll keep this DRAMs a little bit)

    regards

  3. #73
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    You might need to lower the DRAM speed with these older modules.

  4. #74
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Has anyone tried Xeon E5-1650 v2 on RIVE, or it's not supported at all with current bioses?

  5. #75
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    First hi to everyone and happy new year! (Sorry for my english) I´ve joined four months ago this MB and i´m a beginner in OC. Now I have littlehollidays and wanna try the OC before is too late for this machine. First I want to try the profiles from asus and my questions are:

    1) My pc is preparated for the silence: i´ve 1000W Pro Gold Cooler Master & NH-D14 SE2011 Noctua, I7-3930K @3.2 rev. C-2, 32GB 1600MHZ Ballistix Crucial and a 680gtx 4GB Gigabyte. The box is a silencio cooler master 650 (http://www.coolermaster.es/product.php?product_id=6789). Then i don´t know if i can make OC with this noctua, maybe till game profile? Extreme will be dangerous don´t?

    2) My bios is 3404. Must to update the bios to OC?

    3) If I take some profile I don´t need to configure manually nothing more, right? And when I finnish the OC i must to return to uefi bios and select normal OC in profile right?

    4) I must to make some tests to know if the sistem is stable with OC, like sp2004, intel burn test...?

    Many thanks in advance, i take my time to read the posts and try to understand this great MB
    Last edited by Toni Bas; 01-01-2014 at 11:29 PM.

  6. #76
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Hi Mr. Raja,

    your guide is too awesome and thanks for contribution a good knowledge. I am a new beginner in OC and i am want to OC my system to 4.4 so please can u guide me which options i have to change and what i have to do? it will be very helpful please and i desperately want to do OC. I have read many guide and know a lot but not decided which options will be better or suitable for my system. I also want to know in turbo ratio option which one is better or mostly use for OC in multiplier" By all cores" or " Per Cores" . Below are my system specifications,
    Intel i7 3930k 3.8
    Asus rampage iv extreme
    kingston hyperx beast 32gb ram 2400 mhz
    Corsair GT Force 120 SSD
    AMD Radeon HD 7990
    Corsair Hydro series 100i
    Cooler Master HAF XM Case

    Regards,

  7. #77
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Use this guide: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

    Work on the DRAM after getting the CPU stable at your target frequency. DDR3-2400 can be tricky for some CPUs.

  8. #78
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Use this guide: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

    Work on the DRAM after getting the CPU stable at your target frequency. DDR3-2400 can be tricky for some CPUs.
    Thanks a lot and need to know the settings for Digi+ Power Control also, it will be very helpful.

    Regards,

  9. #79
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Can u guide me? waiting for your reply.

  10. #80
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Raja fully explains the various settings in the Digi+ Power Control section of the UEFI in post #3 of this thread.

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How to Overclock ASUS RAMPAGE III Extreme BIOS GUIDE
    By V2-V3 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-13-2011, 12:57 AM
  2. ASUS Rampage III Extreme Overclocking BIOS Guide
    By V2-V3 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-11-2011, 09:23 PM
  3. ASUS Rampage II Extreme Extreme Core i7 LN2 OverClocking
    By V2-V3 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-2011, 07:39 PM
  4. Overclocking Failed ASUS RAMPAGE III Extreme
    By zeeshan_mcse in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-09-2010, 10:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •