Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    Brian@ASUS
    Guest

    Tweak your OS guide

    Just thought id start a thread on OS tweaks to help your everyday life. If anyone would like to add to this thread, please chime in with your tweak.

    For those of you who don't use hibernation, you can disable it and free up storage, up to the amount of ram you have on your system! I have 8 gigs of memory, i freed up about 6 gigs.

    1. Go to this link and download "disable hibernation fix it": http://support.microsoft.com/kb/920730
    2. Once you run the installer, you need to restart your system in order to free up the space. When you disable hibernation it will free up the storage that is used to to store data during the hibernating stage. If you want to enable simple run the Enable fix it.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array JRd1st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    2,224

    Programs and Features Shortcut
    Right-Clk on desktop, New >> Shortcut >> Browse to C:\Windows\System32 for Location >> Type Programs and Features
    When shotrtcut is created, Right-Clk >> Properties >> Copy "C:\Windows\System32\rundll32.exe shell32.dll,Control_RunDLL appwiz.cpl" (without quotations) and paste into Target
    Type C:\Windows\System32 in "Start In"
    Press OK

    Device Manager Shortcut
    Navigate to C:\Windows\system32 >> Right click on devmgmt.msc and select Pin to Start Menu
    Read the User's Manual for more info.



    G74SX-A1 BIOS 203
    Intel 6230 WiFi/BT
    LG E2350 LED LCD Monitor
    Intel Series 510 120 GB SSD

    Drivers, Apps and How To's
    Latest nVidia Drivers

    JRd1st on DeviantArt.com

  3. #3
    Shut Up Stupid! Array DaemonCantor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    175
    Posts
    2,289

    I use XdN Tweaker it has the Hibernation Disable in it plus a bunch of others that are really good like opening up your internet connections from 4 to I use 10 Simultaneous connections, also has right click menu options like Take Ownership(a much needed and used tweak). It's well documented even for a Chimp to understand and covers just about all of the useful ones, plus it's easier that trying to remember 500 Registry Hacks...

  4. #4
    TeamROG GirlGamer Array Kaboom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    122

    I believe I already mentioned this, but I LOOOVE this latency fixer for games. It practically cut my ping in half on all my online games I play http://www.wowinterface.com/download...atencyFix.html

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    164

    I am my own tweak software lol Virtual memory was the first thing I fixed when I figured out that win 7 was eating more than half of my SSD. Microsoft really needs to fix that, even if for some reason they can't detect when an ssd is in use, it should see little drive and big drive only put page file on big drive.
    Crosshair V Formula 990FX 0506 Bios - Phenom II X6 1100T - Gskill Sniper 1600MHz (4x4GB) - Saphire Radeon 6770 - OCZ Agility 3 60GB - WD Black 1TB - Cooler Master V6GT - Antec Dark Fleet 85 - Antec CP-850 - Windows 7 Ultimate 64

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array glenn with 2 n's's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    change your windows log on screen background without some random program, ive seen this method in a few places but it works mint! this write up was snagged from a site with the link posted below
    __________________________________________________ ___________________

    This method will require you to modify the registry, and if that puts a knot in your stomach, you should move on to the next section.


    Step 1: Open the Windows Start menu and enter regedit into the search bar.


    Step 2: Right click on HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE and select Find.


    Step 3: Search for OEMBackground, which should be in Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Win dows\CurrentVersion\Authentication\LogonUI\Backgro und. If the key does not exist, add a new DWORD value with the name OEMBackground.


    Step 4: Double click on the entry OEMBackground, and change the value from 0 to 1


    Step 5: Open Windows Explorer and go to the following path: %windir%\system32\oobe.


    Step 6: Create a new folder named info, and open it.


    Step 7: Create a new folder within info named backgrounds.


    Step 8: Rename your desired wallpaper as backgroundDefault (has to be JPG file) and place it inside the folder backgrounds (images must be less than 245KB in size).

    That should do the trick, now just lock your PC, log off or reboot and enjoy.

    http://www.techspot.com/guides/224-c...reen-windows7/
    †he RoG Hell Spawn | GPU/ 2 x Matrix Platinum 580 GTX in SLI | MoBo/ Maximus IV Extreme-Z | CPU/ i7 2600k (Cooled by Corsair H60) | Case/ SilverStone FT-02 | Memory/ 16GB of Corsair Vengeance | PSU/ SilverStone 1200-G | OS/ Win7Ult | OS SSD's/ 2 x Corsair 60GB Force GT in RAID 0 | Game Storage/ 2 x WD 1TB 7200rpm HDD in RAID 0 | Media Storage/ 2TB WD HDD | Main Storage/ 256GB SSD | Sound Card/ Creative SB X-Fi Ti with Front Drive | Misc/ Sound Activated Lighting | ....well i'll be damned

  7. #7
    TeamROG GirlGamer Array Kaboom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    122

    Along the lines of what the fellow before me said. I have a program that I've been using for YEARS, and it also has a feature to change your Windows login screen. All you do is upload the photo, and click save and it changes everything for you! The program is called Tuneup Utilities, and I've used it for everything like deleting programs, changing startup programs, defragmenting the registry, you name it.

    Here's the link: EDIT. No no this will not do.
    Last edited by HiVizMan; 01-29-2012 at 09:05 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Go to Control Panel ---> Uninstall Programs ---> (ON the left pane) Turn Off/on Windows Features ---> Go through list and uncheck the items you don't need such as Tablet PC Components.

    Hope every little bit helps

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    What does hibernation do?
    MB: Asus Crosshair V Formula
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100t black Edition
    SSD: Corsair Force Series 3 120GB
    HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB
    PSU: Corsair HX1050
    Cooling: Corsair H100
    GPU: HD4550 (Waiting for GTX680 to come in that mail)
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    RAM: 4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance
    Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Quote Originally Posted by Jok3r View Post
    What does hibernation do?
    Hibernate mode -- when you "hibernate" the computer, it will make a copy of what's in its memory and save it to the hard drive. When you start it back up, it will quickly restore from this copy--all your files, emails, and windows will be open just as they were when it went into hibernation. This mode consumes about 1.5 watts.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. GPU Tweak (Beta)
    By Brian@ASUS in forum ASUS Software
    Replies: 224
    Last Post: 06-14-2012, 05:33 PM
  2. GPU Tweak Utility
    By jpongin in forum Nvidia Graphics Cards
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-27-2011, 11:33 PM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-27-2011, 05:02 PM
  4. I need info on Tweak RC on the Gene Z
    By Area 66 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-23-2011, 05:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •