Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    xforever82
    Guest

    I am a newbie to overclocking and I need help

    I decided to buy a rampage v and i7 5960x
    With corsair ddr4 2666mhz
    I do not want to over clock my cpu I want to use it as normal
    Currently I set xmp for bios but when I check the task manger I still see its at 3.24ghz what should do?
    As I am in a total lost mode
    Please help me thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    If you want to check your CPU's frequency, use CPU-Z instead. Enabling XMP will not overclock your CPU.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array AdamC PC Specs
    AdamC PC Specs
    MotherboardR5E
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)8 x G.SKILL Ripjaws F4-3000C15Q-16GRBB
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI GTX980Ti
    Monitor3 x BenQ BL3201PH
    Storage #1SAMSUNG XP941 512G
    Storage #2Too many to list
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseRosewill THRONE-W
    Power SupplyEVGA 220-P2-1200-X1
    OS Windows 7 64 Ultimate

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    136

    XMP uses 125 strap so a 24 multiplier should give you 3000MHz. I believe that is the default 5960 speed. Probably you have 26 multiplier now, which will give you 3250 MHz.

  4. #4
    xforever82
    Guest
    Thanks a lot so is xmp good?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array AdamC PC Specs
    AdamC PC Specs
    MotherboardR5E
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)8 x G.SKILL Ripjaws F4-3000C15Q-16GRBB
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI GTX980Ti
    Monitor3 x BenQ BL3201PH
    Storage #1SAMSUNG XP941 512G
    Storage #2Too many to list
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseRosewill THRONE-W
    Power SupplyEVGA 220-P2-1200-X1
    OS Windows 7 64 Ultimate

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    136

    Good for beginners. You will always get a better result if you set it up manually. You can use strap 100 if you set the dram timing and voltage manually. Then your cpu will be at rounded number like 3000 3100 3200 3300 depending on the multiplier you set.

  6. #6
    xforever82
    Guest

    I am a newbie to overclocking and I need help

    Quote Originally Posted by AdamC View Post
    Good for beginners. You will always get a better result if you set it up manually. You can use strap 100 if you set the dram timing and voltage manually. Then your cpu will be at rounded number like 3000 3100 3200 3300 depending on the multiplier you set.
    Thanks Adamc do u have any link where I can set manually for the best result without over clocking
    I am using 5960x and corsair vengeance 16g 2666mhz cmk16gx4m4a2666c16
    I see from other forum that the bench mark is not good when we set cpu strap to others expect for 100
    Plz give me some guide thanks
    Last edited by xforever82; 02-27-2015 at 02:15 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    You'll find that it's easier to use the 125 Strap for memory above 2400MHz. Depending on the quality of your RAM and your patience to tweak it, running 2666MHz on the 100 Strap is possible.

  8. #8
    xforever82
    Guest

    So I just set like this?

  9. #9
    xforever82
    Guest


    Is my pc ok? Or is there any problem ?

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array zcrucifix PC Specs
    zcrucifix PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    ProcessorCore i7 5960x
    Memory (part number)F4-2800C15Q2-64GRK
    Graphics Card #1POSEIDON GTX980
    Storage #1Intel 730 240GB - x3 Raid 5
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB - x2 Raid 1
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 P2
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic
    Headset Astra A50
    OS Windows 8.1

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Your volts are reasonable and memory is set at factory XMP, so if you are planning to run 24/7, it looks good. If you decide you want to tweak things down the road, you have plenty of room to do it.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •