Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array <!> PC Specs
    <!> PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Sabertooth X79
    Processor3930K @ 4.5GHZ
    Memory (part number)8x4GB Corsair DDR3-1600MHZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce GTX 680 2GB
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Geforce GTX 680 2GB
    Graphics Card #3Geforce GTX 550 Ti 1GB (Physx)
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 512GB x 2 RAID0
    Storage #221TB NAS
    CPU CoolerCustom WC loop
    CaseAntec 1100 (modded)
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    OS Main PC: Windows 7 x64; NAS, router: FreeBSD
    Network RouterpfSense

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    3930K overclocked to 4.5GHZ only reaches 4.2GHZ in games

    I have a 3930K OC'd to 4.5GHZ (45x100) and it is fully stable, which has been verified by running Prime95, AIDA64 and LinX for several hours. I use an offset CPU voltage and a fixed VCCSA voltage and have EIST and C1E enabled, while C3, C6 and C7 are disabled.

    The problem is that the CPU clock goes only up to 4.2GHZ in games and other application that don't fully utilize the CPU, while I have a ratio set to 45 in BIOS. The CPU is not throttling, the temps are OK, but the CPU will reach 4.5GHZ when it is 100% loaded.

    I don't want to have the CPU running at 4.5GHZ all the time, which is the reason I'm using an offset voltage and have power saving features enabled.

    My system specs:
    3930K C2
    Sabertooth X79 (BIOS v 4701)
    Corsair 8x4GB DDR3-1600MHZ
    EVGA GTX680 2GB x 2 (SLI)
    Corsair HX1000i PSU

    So, the question is obvious: how do I make the CPU run at 4.5GHZ in games and applications that don't utilize 100% of CPU resources?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hello <!>

    Try disabling the c1e state, disable speedstep and set the windows power plan to high performance when you play games.

    This should run your cpu at 4.5GHz constantly.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array <!> PC Specs
    <!> PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Sabertooth X79
    Processor3930K @ 4.5GHZ
    Memory (part number)8x4GB Corsair DDR3-1600MHZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce GTX 680 2GB
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Geforce GTX 680 2GB
    Graphics Card #3Geforce GTX 550 Ti 1GB (Physx)
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 512GB x 2 RAID0
    Storage #221TB NAS
    CPU CoolerCustom WC loop
    CaseAntec 1100 (modded)
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    OS Main PC: Windows 7 x64; NAS, router: FreeBSD
    Network RouterpfSense

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hello <!>

    Try disabling the c1e state, disable speedstep and set the windows power plan to high performance when you play games.

    This should run your cpu at 4.5GHz constantly.
    Setting the power plan to high performance defeats my purpose of having the CPU use less power when idle.

    Disabling C1E has no effect, the CPU still reaches 4.2GHZ in everyday tasks during load.

    All C state settings are disabled, the issue is that the CPU reaches full ratio when the CPU usage is 100%, which isn't happening in games.
    Last edited by <!>; 03-12-2015 at 11:32 PM. Reason: C1E update

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array Rockford PC Specs
    Rockford PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX B450-I GAMING
    ProcessorRYZEN 2700X
    Memory (part number)CRUCIAL BALLISTIX TACTICAL 2X4GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GEFORCE GTX 970 DC2OC BLACK
    MonitorDELL U SERIES
    Storage #1KINGSTON A400 120GB SATA III
    Storage #2KINGSTON A400 480GB SATA III
    CPU CoolerRYZEN WRAITH PRISM
    CaseBENCH
    Power SupplyEVGA SUPERNOVA G2 650W
    Keyboard DUCKY TKL MEKA
    Mouse CORSAIR HARPOON
    Headset ASTRO A50 WIRELESS
    Accessory #1 WIFE
    Rockford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    238
    Posts
    6,277

    games dont make the cpu work much, in fact CPU is mostly idling when a game is running..

    Its not so much data going through the PCI-E slot( data from the HDD/SSD ), the GPU is doing most of the hard work

    Why do you want the CPU to run at max when your gaming, when its not needed?? ehh

    Gaming = GPU

    But as you wish> Disable speedstep in bios, and dont touch the c states

    run flat voltage settings (no offset modes)

    If the cpu now is doing 4200mhz with a X45 multi. You need to look for faulty settings in bios
    Last edited by Rockford; 03-13-2015 at 01:41 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array <!> PC Specs
    <!> PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Sabertooth X79
    Processor3930K @ 4.5GHZ
    Memory (part number)8x4GB Corsair DDR3-1600MHZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce GTX 680 2GB
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Geforce GTX 680 2GB
    Graphics Card #3Geforce GTX 550 Ti 1GB (Physx)
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 512GB x 2 RAID0
    Storage #221TB NAS
    CPU CoolerCustom WC loop
    CaseAntec 1100 (modded)
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    OS Main PC: Windows 7 x64; NAS, router: FreeBSD
    Network RouterpfSense

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Ok, I managed to get the CPU to run at 4500mhz even during low CPU usage by disabling EIST and enabling C1E.
    Now the CPU idles at 1200mhz and ramps up to 4500mhz even during low loads. The CPU voltage changes accordingly as well.

    Exactly what I need.

    Having both EIST and C1E disabled makes the CPU run at 4.5GHZ all the time.
    When both EIST and C1E are enabled, the CPU frequency varies between 1200mhz-4200mhz depending on the CPU usage.
    The only way to make the CPU ratio reach 45x when EIST is enabled (regardless of whether C1E is on or off) is to increase the CPU usage to 100%.


    Quote Originally Posted by WhitePaw View Post
    Why do you want the CPU to run at max when your gaming, when its not needed?? ehh
    Cpu frequency affects 3dmark score.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array Rockford PC Specs
    Rockford PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX B450-I GAMING
    ProcessorRYZEN 2700X
    Memory (part number)CRUCIAL BALLISTIX TACTICAL 2X4GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GEFORCE GTX 970 DC2OC BLACK
    MonitorDELL U SERIES
    Storage #1KINGSTON A400 120GB SATA III
    Storage #2KINGSTON A400 480GB SATA III
    CPU CoolerRYZEN WRAITH PRISM
    CaseBENCH
    Power SupplyEVGA SUPERNOVA G2 650W
    Keyboard DUCKY TKL MEKA
    Mouse CORSAIR HARPOON
    Headset ASTRO A50 WIRELESS
    Accessory #1 WIFE
    Rockford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    238
    Posts
    6,277

    yes it sure does..

    Thread title>
    3930K overclocked to 4.5GHZ only reaches 4.2GHZ in games

    but you meant for 3d mark?

    >>verified by running Prime95, AIDA64 and LinX for several hours

    The only thing those apps verified is that you passed them today, not that your system are stable tomorrow.....

    Its funny.. ^^
    Last edited by Rockford; 03-13-2015 at 03:37 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array <!> PC Specs
    <!> PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Sabertooth X79
    Processor3930K @ 4.5GHZ
    Memory (part number)8x4GB Corsair DDR3-1600MHZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce GTX 680 2GB
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Geforce GTX 680 2GB
    Graphics Card #3Geforce GTX 550 Ti 1GB (Physx)
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 512GB x 2 RAID0
    Storage #221TB NAS
    CPU CoolerCustom WC loop
    CaseAntec 1100 (modded)
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    OS Main PC: Windows 7 x64; NAS, router: FreeBSD
    Network RouterpfSense

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    The "game" term was used just as an example of any application I want to fully benefit from the frequency my CPU is capable of running at.

    Since the issue is not an issue anymore, I'm gonna ask the mods to lock the thread to prevent those (^^^) contributing nothing from posting useless messages in this thread.

    Thank you.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    What I told you is one way to do it, sorry if it was not the way you wanted it.

    Useless messages huh? Well here let me show you something <!>.

    Here is my cpu running at 5 FULL GHz all day long everyday start to finish. 5 FULL GHz web browsing gaming you name it and it's running exactly how I told you to do it, guess I need to change my sig.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5.0GHz.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	174.2 KB 
ID:	47446


    I'll be sure to avoid your threads in the future.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array Rockford PC Specs
    Rockford PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX B450-I GAMING
    ProcessorRYZEN 2700X
    Memory (part number)CRUCIAL BALLISTIX TACTICAL 2X4GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GEFORCE GTX 970 DC2OC BLACK
    MonitorDELL U SERIES
    Storage #1KINGSTON A400 120GB SATA III
    Storage #2KINGSTON A400 480GB SATA III
    CPU CoolerRYZEN WRAITH PRISM
    CaseBENCH
    Power SupplyEVGA SUPERNOVA G2 650W
    Keyboard DUCKY TKL MEKA
    Mouse CORSAIR HARPOON
    Headset ASTRO A50 WIRELESS
    Accessory #1 WIFE
    Rockford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    238
    Posts
    6,277

    Running cpu stress tests for hours, thats useless

    Please appreciate my input instead as a gesture to strive for new knowledge

    Good luck

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •