Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array thompssp PC Specs
    thompssp PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme X99
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X 8 Core
    Memory (part number)16GB Corsair Vengeance
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 4GB GDDR5
    Storage #1Samsung 500GB 850 EVO SSD
    Storage #2WESTERN DIGITAL 2TB WD Black
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i Hydro CPU Liquid Cooling System
    CaseThermaltake Overseer RX-I
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Digital 1200w
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
    OS Windows 8.1

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    SSD and HDD Help

    Hello all. I'm new to this forum and this is my first post so please forgive me if I'm posting this in the wrong section. I've searched everywhere for help but can't seem to find any answers to my question. I just purchased a custom built PC with the following specs:

    ASUS Rampage V Extreme MOBO
    Windows 8.1 64bit
    i7 5960 8 core CPU
    EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 4GB GPU
    Corsair H80i CPU Liquid Cooling / Corsair 1200i Digital PSU / 16GB Corsair Vengeance Memory
    Samsung 850 EVO SSD 500GB (Primary OS Drive)
    WD Black 2TB

    My issue is with the hard drives mainly and I'm not sure if whether it may relate to something with the MOBO or not. For some reason whenever I try to install software onto my SSD (c:\) all of my other WD drives are accessed. I have 2 internal WD drives and an external WD. The external drive even wakes up. I can't figure this out and it's driving me nuts because it takes forever just to install something onto the SSD. I can actually hear all of the HDD's running like crazy and then Norton pops up and tells me that there is High Disk Usage by the MSIEXEC.EXE which is the installer. Sometimes a message pops up pertaining to my WD drives stating High Usage. It only does this during an install and takes almost 5 minutes like it's defraging or indexing or something. Makes absolutely no sense. This never happened in Windows 7 on my old system. Please let me know if I'm in the right area for posting this or if anyone might have an idea what's causing it. Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X11 Hero (Wi-Fi)
    Processori9 10900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X53

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    137

    Never mind, I though the EVO designation was for mSATA drives, but it looks like it is also for normal SATA SSDs.

    It is always best to remove other drives if possible when installing an OS.
    Last edited by Saltgrass; 02-26-2015 at 10:38 PM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array thompssp PC Specs
    thompssp PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme X99
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X 8 Core
    Memory (part number)16GB Corsair Vengeance
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 4GB GDDR5
    Storage #1Samsung 500GB 850 EVO SSD
    Storage #2WESTERN DIGITAL 2TB WD Black
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i Hydro CPU Liquid Cooling System
    CaseThermaltake Overseer RX-I
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Digital 1200w
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
    OS Windows 8.1

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Thanks for the quick reply. That's what Samsung support told me but the company that built my rig (AVA Direct) said that it shouldn't matter. I was wondering if it might be because one of the HDD drives I pulled out of a Windows 7 pc. It's just used for storage and nothing else. Wasn't sure if I should reformat it while it's in the new system. It's the loudest one basically because it's several years old. I'm thinking that it might be the issue but not sure.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Quote Originally Posted by thompssp View Post
    Thanks for the quick reply. That's what Samsung support told me but the company that built my rig (AVA Direct) said that it shouldn't matter. I was wondering if it might be because one of the HDD drives I pulled out of a Windows 7 pc. It's just used for storage and nothing else. Wasn't sure if I should reformat it while it's in the new system. It's the loudest one basically because it's several years old. I'm thinking that it might be the issue but not sure.
    It's a possibility. Disconnect it to see how it goes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •