Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    G75vw won't boot 1TB hard drive - solved?

    My issue:
    My G75vw will not boot with 1TB hard drives. I have tried two different HDDs and neither one will boot (both boot on other systems). I am able to get it to boot using my 250gb HDD.

    My first thought was that there was something wrong with my BIOS so I downloaded v223 (I am currently on v210) and put it on a flash drive that I formatted to fat32. When I boot into the BIOS, go to the easy flash utility and hit enter it freezes there. It will not go into the flash utility and I am not able to do anything but do a hard reboot.

    I thought, "hey, maybe the CMOS battery is bad" and since the warranty is long expired I opened it up and tested the battery with a multimeter, it's still putting out 3V. So I unplugged it to reset the BIOS, all that worked as it should. But still having same issues.I am at a loss. I called asus, which was no help, they wanted me to buy the recovery disk. I talked to a guy at a local shop and he seems to think that the south bridge on my MB is bad. Anyone have any other ideas?

    Other than me running WIN7 ultimate it is completely stock.

    Edit: Forgot to add that when I had it open I reseated the RAM. And am running memtester86 over night tonight.
    Last edited by Thor89; 02-27-2015 at 06:09 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    So I ran memtester89 for about 11-11.5 hours. And attached is a picture of what I came back to.


  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,123

    Sounds to me like your having an issue with UEFI wont boot a MBR disk use disk part to convert the disk to GPT then they will boot.
    Your answer should be here in this stick thread https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-Upgrade-Notes
    Last edited by Clintlgm; 02-28-2015 at 09:27 PM.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    usually the bios is locked with the specific HDD of your laptop. to change that you must enter the bios and make some security modifications. I did that when I switched to SSD.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    It came with a 1TB drive and it has worked for 2.5ish years with that hdd, then one day it quit.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    ok sorry, I thought that the 1TB is a new drive.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Clintlgm View Post
    Sounds to me like your having an issue with UEFI wont boot a MBR disk use disk part to convert the disk to GPT then they will boot.
    Your answer should be here in this stick thread https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-Upgrade-Notes

    I went through the process of converting the drive to GPT, but when I attempted to do so it said that: "The disk you specified is not MBR formatted."

    So I don't think that is the problem. Any other ideas? Or should I start looking for a new MB? Also, any ideas where to purchase one? I have been looking and have some places that look reputable, but I am not sure.

    Thanks.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    hi @Thor89, can you share with us what exactly have you done to your 1tb hdd? what are the current bios settings? which mode is your current os running? bios or uefi? although i am guessing bios mode, but it's better for you to confirm.

    afaik, there is no win7 ultimate in g75vw as stock os. it's either w7 home premium or w8 core. what exactly is your stock os?

    by the way if you do a diskpart clean command prior to fresh install, there will not be anything that tells you about target disk not mbr formatted. the windows os installer will do the necessary disk configurations.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    ::SOLVED::

    Whether this will work every time someone has this issue or not I do not know, but what solved my issue was buying a new CMOS chip with the new BIOS flashed onto it and resolder the new chip onto the board. This has solved my issues.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,123

    Congratulations not many of us here would attempt something like this
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •