Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Boot from PCI-E SSD

    Just wanted to check if this worked here, I know it works on the VII but haven't found anything definitive for this board. Wish to boot OS from PCI-E SSD.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Surprised no answer. No-one with 2013 board has tried booting from pci-e ssd?

  3. #3
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,037

    Hello

    RevoDrive 3/350 drives work withut issue on the 6 series boards.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Great, and you can boot from it as well? Heard that can be an issue.

  5. #5
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,037

    Hello

    With the drives I listed yes I have used them as boot drives.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array SgtChow PC Specs
    SgtChow PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP DV7 i7win7 - 8gbddr3 240GBssd
    MotherboardAsus MAximus VI Impact
    Processor4770k
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident 2400mhz @stock
    Graphics Card #1R9-290X-DC2-4GD5
    Monitor32" Sony and x2 24" Asus
    Storage #1Kingston HyperX-3k-240G
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200.1
    CPU CoolerNoctua 120mm
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 450D
    Power SupplyCorsair 750M
    Keyboard Logitec G710
    Mouse Logitec G602 & Razer Naga
    Headset Turtle Beach XP400
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Pyle PCA2 - Campbridge 4 speaker
    OS Win7 64 Ult
    Accessory #1 Razer Orbweaver
    Accessory #2 Belkin N52TE

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    As you go through this can you please list the drive you are using and if it booted successfully or not? I am looking at doing this and can't seem to find a list of M.2 or PCIe drives that actually work with this board. Not sure why I would use the only available video slot on this board for an SSD but I am curious.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Ok I think I have found the answer for the card I was looking at, (NVMe) and it is no.

    http://www.pcper.com/news/General-Te...ibility-Tested

    Real pity. Hope ASUS update BIOS but not crossing fingers (there is a poll there though, so vote!).
    Last edited by Laminate; 06-25-2015 at 05:13 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •