Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    ROG GR20-AJ - Can Someone Please Tell Me How Do I Access the Boot Menu On Start-UP ?

    Hi:-)

    Can someone please tell me how to access the boot menu on a G20AJ-B09?

    All I see on start-up is an option to enter the BIOS.

    I'm "old-school" and I am used to seeing "Press F12 to enter Boot Menu."

    I tried holding down ESC through a restart but that did not work for me.

    If I turn off the power and press ESC on start up will that show the Boot Menu.

    I do not use "fast start" with 8.1, so shutting down totally turns the power off. But fast start does not effect "Restart"

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Ah. Cmon, Someone has to know how to do this :-) If you have a GR20aj and don't know how to acces the boot menu you might have a useless PC one day.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Bodycount69 PC Specs
    Bodycount69 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX X99 GAMING LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6900K 20M Broadwell-E 8-Core 3.2 GHz LGA 2011-v3
    Memory (part number)CORSAIR Dominator Platinum 128GB (8 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2666 (PC4 21300) Desktop Memory
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8GB ROG STRIX OC Edition
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8GB ROG STRIX OC Edition
    MonitorAsus ROG PG348Q Black 34
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 850 EVO 2.5" 1TB SATA III
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 850 EVO 2.5" 1TB SATA III
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110i Extreme Performance Water / Liquid CPU Cooler
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series White Steel 780T Full Tower PC Case
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HXi Series HX1200i 1200W 80 PLUS PLATINUM Full Modular Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark USB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Logitech G502 Tunable FPS Optical Gaming Mouse
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia 840 wireless gaming headset
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Heavy Mousepad
    OS Windows 10 64Bit

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    86

    Quote Originally Posted by hawki View Post
    Ah. Cmon, Someone has to know how to do this :-) If you have a GR20aj and don't know how to acces the boot menu you might have a useless PC one day.

    F2 will open the menu

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Thanks. But I thought F2 opens the BIOS.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    you can also access it through asus command under tools/ai booting.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Sounds ok if your PC boots up. Im talking about how to boot from recovery drive if you can't boot. It used to be F12 on Windows 8.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    pretty sure its in the bios if you can get there..

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Thanks Slick :-) But I couldn't find anything in the BIOS that I thought could do that - not that familiar with BIOS Stuff...Really don't know enough and was always afraid to mess with the BIOS.

    But in another thread I just learned that by pressing F9 on start-up opens The Windows Trouble Shoot Menu, from which you can do a system restore,reset, refresh which basically is the equivalent of what I was looking for....What to do when your system won't boot into Wiindows.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array GoHack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    88

    With the computer powered off, turn it on and press the F8 Key. You may have to hit it a few times during the Boot. This will get you into the Boot Menu.
    - Asus ROG G20AJ, Intel i5-4460 CPU, Crucial Ballistix 16GB DDR3L, 2x Corsair 128GB SSD's (RAID 0), Nvidia Geforce GTX 670, 180W and 230W Power Supply Bricks, Acer GN246HL 24" Monitor, Windows 10 (x64)

    - Alienware Aurora R4, Intel i7-4820K, 20GB DDR3, 2 TB HD, Nvidia GeForce GTX 760, Windows 10 (x64)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •